We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, affordable, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Merlin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Patong Merlin Hotel to your Saves list
Patong Merlin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, affordable, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

"Patong Merlin Hotel"
Well what can i say! The staff are very welcoming and polite. This was our second time to Patong but the first time we stayed at this resort. Will definatly be returning to Patong and staying at Patong Merlin Hotel again. We stayed in the delux pool view room. Our family consits of 2 adults and 3 children. Unfortunatly we couldnt stay in the pool access rooms as our youngest was under 12 years of age. We had interconecting rooms. There is seperate baths and showers which was great. You can relax in the bath and watch TV or a movie at the same time as the walls are glass! "Very classy"
Patong Merlin Hotel - New wing is a MUST. You will love it :-)
Great Resturants to eat at - Roma, Sabai Sabai and the Beach resturant. Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    416
    167
    57
    28
See reviews for
278
355
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Just returned after 8 nights. Stayed in a deluxe poolside roon in building 7 -this is in the newer wing & the ground floor poolside room means your patio is next to the pool so you just jump in or sunbath or drink beers direct from your own fridge -magnificent. Great for teenagers but dangerous for young ones who need supervision.
The location is excellent -front door opposite the markets & back entrance right on the beach at the southern end of Patong beach.
Previously stayed at the Patong Beach Hotel but this is a classier number with an equivelent great location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

I didnt pick this hotel my aunty did and she also is a travel agent, we were both very pleased with the location of this hotel, everything is at your door step shopping, restaurant the beach. i would go back. This is a large hotel with alot of rooms and 3 pools to fit everyone in. We had dinner down at the beach restaurant and it was fantastic. Service was great and they provided great breakfasts. WOULD RECOMMEND TO CLIENTS....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Were to start,
Arrival
Arrived around lunch time on a Sunday. The reception staff by all accounts, was not expecting to much going by past reviews but found them all quite pleasent & even managed a couple of laughs so off to a good start. Check in was quick & swift & our room was ready. Walking in to the new building through old part instantly felt like a different hotel, all nice & new. (the start gets better)

The Room 1705
Arrive at room (pool Access) Very nice indeed all modern conveniences, not large but enough for two. Large flat screen tv, Nice bathroom well equiped large deep bath & walk in shower, In room safe of course & plenty of wardrobe space. The bed, nice large King size & very very very comfortable & pillows to match. Personaly I could have taken one home they were that good.

The Pool
Great as you would expect large enough nice & clean, large swim up pool bar. If you like a bit of afternoon sun rooms 1704-1707 would suit as uninterupted beams. ( very nice) Nice round lounge with cushions on patio area very comfy. Don't count on the pool waiters coming to often, you'll need bar staff to call them as they hang at the other pools.

Breaky
Ok but a little boring after a few days as little change(juice,cereals,& a couple of hot dishes) all the normal stuff. Eggs any way you like bit a bit of a trek, I suppose its the gas cookers.

Hotel
In general quite ok nice & clean a litte dated in some area's but not to bad.

The Staff
Found all members of staff to be very pleasant, can honestly say not a bad experience with any of them, always happy & of course the smile. Probably should not do but I slipper the room maid 100Tbt on our first morning big happiness & any extras required no prob's.

Transport
The hotel taxi drivers are very good, we used a driver his name was Odt. You could expect hotel services to be more expensive but found them to be quite reasonable. One day hired about 4-5 hours 600Tbt another day about 6 hours 1000Tbt & no ++ included trip up to big Budda. For this cost didn't even contemplate looking out doors. Odt has nice new Toyota Altice leather seats & good aircon (what more would you won't) Very polite fellow & friendly nature with reasonably good english.

Hotel costs
As you would expect, hotel cost & prices for services is what you would expect. You will pay more than out on the street but not to bad a club sandwich around the pool about $9-10Aud & a beer about $3.50-4. Didn't eat at hotel at all much, more choice out side.

Overview
Would definetly stay here again the new building is quite good, you can almost see on the faces of other guests that they wished to have the access rooms. Would not count on geting these rooms as an upgrade as most if not all were always tenanted as there are only 15 rooms. So if you won't book before you come.

Laundry & bits
Out front of hotel across the road the 7 Eleven will have most day to day items required
& the Laundry to the left you can count on (same cost every were but every thing came back as it should) 50Tbt wash per Kg 100 if you include ironing, & don't forget to get your sim card (have your phone unlocked before coming) on arrival at the airport its free & you can top up at the 7 Eleven spent $20 over 9 days called home every 2nd day talked for about 20-30 minutes & still had credit left. (very cheap) don't use hotel phones. Oasis across the road have free internet & WiFi if required.

Eating out
Have to say,if your into seafood go out to beach road from hotel turn right go down & just before Patong Seafood there is a seafood restraurant think its Patong Hotel great Seafood platter fo 2 $42 would be at least 3 or 4 times this much at home but a bit expensive for drinks but a great meal Junycelon food court for a cheap eat.

Sorry its abit long but once started hard to stop,hope a few find it interesting.

For those heading over have a great holiday & for us how have just returned try not to thing about & get back to work. Ha Ha

Cheers Wayelle

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Stayed at the Patong Merlin for our first trip to Thailand and really enjoyed ourselves. We looked into a few different resorts to stay at but liked the idea of being within walking distance to everything. On arrival we were given a nice cool drink and cold washer. We were given or room key (4215) and showed to our room by the bellboy. The room looked over the first and second pool, and had everything that we needed. The next morning we asked for a second key for our room and were given one with no problems. Four beautiful pools, but only swam in the big deep pool and there were always lots of sun lounges available. Breakfast at the resort had plenty of choice and we did order a couple of room service dinners which tasted beautiful. All other meals we ate out. Love the closeness to OTOP markets as we found that we liked shopping in there and having drinks at Lilly’s Aussie Bar with the very funny and lovely girls. The 7 Eleven, chemist, laundry, money exchange booth, OTOP markets and market stalls out the front of the resort was used by us all the time and the easy access to the restaurants and beach out the back is wonderful. It was good to be able to just pop out quickly if you had too. Loved Patong and would recommend this resort.
Kaz

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Stayed here for 3nites, and the best thing I can say is that lucky it was only 3 nites. We have travelled throughout Thailand every year for the past 4 years and have stayed at many different hotels. This was our first time at this hotel and this hotel was defentily the WORST hotel/resort we have ever stayed at in Thailand. From the moment of check in - our room was not available (it was being renovated) - but they would not offer an upgrade or even an equelivant room but made us pay for an extra bed! When we asked to speak to the manager he came out and started yelling at us at the reception! Which is why I would say the rest of his staff are so rude. Our booking was non refunable so we stayed. The room was small, the bathroom old and the bed had bed bugs - we started scratching within 10 minuites of being and bed and got eatin alive all nite! Had to call house keeping (twice) to remove the layers of bug breeding blankets under the sheets. Which then gave us basically a board to lay on for our next 2 nites sleep. Breakfast was revolting, we chose to go down the road and pay for breakfast instead of suffering possible food poisioning. Kids club? most people wouldn't leave the neighbours dog in there! It had 3 beanbags (with no beans) and a small,old tv. I looked through the door but wouldn't take another step closer. The gym - had 1 set of free weights, a treadmill and bike.Not somewhere you can work out. The pools were clean. The pool surronds were very mouldly and you could see mosquitos breeding in the drains right near the pool area, yet they would have 4or5 staff standing around with nothing to do for hours. Overall a real miserable place to be. Lots of people on there first trip to Thailand would probably not know what to expect - but we would NEVER stay here again.
The Courtyard Marriot is right next door and is much cleaner and cheaper, with better bedding configuration,and much better staff. DONOT STAY AT THE PATONG MERLIN!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

this was our 4th year to patong and our last leg of trip. we travelled with friends who had not been to thailand before.we had just done koh sumi and krabi.patong merlin is a great resort across the road from beach central to everything.4 pools now.lots of aussies.staff friendly service great food lovely around pool and resturant.best kept secret do not buy anything in patong till you go to night markets at phuket town only on

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#28 Spa Hotel in Patong
#28 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#31 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong Merlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.