We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“patong merlin, patong, phuket” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Merlin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Patong Merlin Hotel to your Saves list
Patong Merlin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“patong merlin, patong, phuket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

travelled June 2012, had 10 nights, excellent mid range resort, great rooms, great pools, spacious grounds, awesome breakfast. ideally located in patong, close to O-Top market, shopping centre and bangla-road. great for families. Rooms ok, not 5 star, but your not there to spend time in room. has all that you need. we are travelling again in august 2013 and staying here again. defiantly recommend this resort. if your looking for 5 star luxury this is not for you, would suggest looking elsewhere, but again for a mid priced resort its great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    383
    158
    53
    26
See reviews for
267
319
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

3rd time stay at this hotel. First of all you notice the hotels grounds, lovely pools and palm trees which gives you that cool feel. The pitfall of the pool area is people getting towels and placing them on the pool-side lounges well before they even use them, so pity the hotels doesn`t stop this. The rooms are in need of attention as they are ageing but the hotel is slowly renovating each wing over the coming years. At the moment it is probably a 3 and 1/2 star hotel and reasonably priced hotel for what you get. In the hotel they have their own bars and restaurants and the food is ok with many choices. Just remember your not eating at a 5 star restaurant. Breakfast buffett is good and varied but don`t sleep in after a big night or you will miss it, 10am finish, try the omelette. Happy hour is a good time to have a drink at the bars especially the Sunset Bar. The staff mostly are friendly, especially room cleaning staff but some other areas in hotel don`t go out of their way to make you feel you are on holiday. Position is great as hotel is across the road from the beach and 10 minute walk to Jungceylon complex and the many bars of famous Bangla Road. Tuk-Tuks are everywhere if you need to get around or get tired of walking but everything is within 10 minutes of hotel. Stalls are everywhere and you will get sick of hearing the sales pitch. Need a massage? then you have come to the right place, every 100 metres you will hear the call, MASSAGE!. Outside the hotel you have restaurants, bars, food and drink, how much do you want?. The hotel can cover your dental needs and nurse available during the day. The gym is small and lacking. It is family, group or solo friendly hotel, i would suggest their are many other resorts for the honeymooners. It has music in the lobby bar everynight and dinner shows in the outside restaurant a couple of times a week. Phi Phi island is a good trip but i suggest don`t take the speed boat tour as it is crowded and you are inside so their is no view. Take the slower tour on a larger vessel. Phuket Fantasea is a great evening show, a must for everyone. Recommended restaurant is Two Chefs at Kata Beach, about 15 minutes away by Tuk Tuk, sensational food or Baan Rim Pa restaurant, Kalim Beach about 5 minute Tuk Tuk drive and restaurant is on a cliff edge with sensational food and views. If you need a holiday where everything is near then the Patong Merlin Hotel is a good hotel for the price you pay. Enjoy!
PS. If you like to know whats going on in Phuket before you go their or want to know about the up-coming events then go to the www.phuketgazette.net

Room Tip: Superior Pool View Room are comfortable and have your own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was my second stay at the Patong Merlin, albeit the first was seven years ago. It's a decent hotel, does what it says on the tin and serves all basic needs. However if you are a couple and looking for something a little more intimate and relaxing I would suggest looking at some more smaller, boutique hotels.
Positives for this hotel are that it has a choice of three pools, and you never have to reserve a sunbed in the morning. The rooms are cleaned daily, staff friendly and it is only 3min stroll to the beach.
The negative is (in my view) that this is a BIG hotel and so you can find a lot of kids around the pools, lots of groups (of all ages) and so it can get a little noisy. The rooms are okay, modern, but I wouldn't class as 4 star as it is rated. For families and groups this hotel is ideal but for couples may not offer the more cosy feel if that's what you are after.

Room Tip: I chose a superior room, but if you are not on a budget you could go for a Deluxe room as you get bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldcoast QLD
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have just got back from our 3rd visit to the patong Merlin. We went for 6 day's had a lovely time as alway's. The hotel has gone under some renovations for the better, the showers are much better rooms look a lot nicer, but still outdated furniture in the rooms. The rooms are very clean the staff do a very good job and if you need any thing you just have to ask and its done for you. The 4 pools are great as usual , we like the 3rd pool near the beach end, its got plenty of shade and tropical, plenty of sun lounges to sit at and not over crowed. On a morning you get a buffett breakfast, i must say this time around wasn't as good though, the breakfast variety only changed by 2 things, it would have been nice to see baked beans more only had them once in 6 days, the food is very dry variety, i think they need to re look at this and change it every day. The egg station is very good you can have your eggs done as you like even a omelet cooked for you. At night for dinner you have a choice of restaurants to choose from, we like the cafe Del on the beach front, we had pizza one night then tried the burgers the following night very good and not expensive. They also have a buffett restaurant near the beach end, it does different theme dishes each night, we liked the seafood & barbecue night one, the others not too impressed with, but every one to there own .The buffett dinner cost 530 th-b that is cheap, drinks not too bad they are extra. The waitresses clean the dishes off the table as soon has you have finished with your plate very efficient and always a smile on there face. There is a good pool bar serves up good food cheap too have a happy hour at the pool bar. The room service was very good, we ordered a meal didn't take too long to arrive price were good and plenty of food. We have seen other hotels in patong, but i must say for the price and to have 4 pools even though furniture out dated in the rooms still think its one of the best to stay at, if we go again will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor with a pool view same side as the reception. Our room were 1212 central to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Patong Merlin Hotel is simply superb! Situated across the road from the beautiful Patong Beach, it is close enough to the action but not so close that you can't escape. After staying there for 10 nights across March and April, here is my opinion:

The grounds/location
Patong Merlin is situated on the quieter side of Patong Beach; about a 5-10 minute walk to busy Bangla Road. We enjoyed being on the quieter end, but were never far away from all necessary amenities - shops/restaurants/bars etc.

The grounds are immaculately well-kept, with beautiful palm trees everywhere and luscious green lawns. You feel as if you are nestled in the jungle at times, instead of in the middle of one of Phuket's busiest areas.

There are 4 swimming pools in this resort, all a very decent size. My only complaint is that three of the four pools were not kept cool enough to be refreshing on a hot day. Given that March is a very hot and humid month in Patong and all pools are not shaded, this can probably be overlooked. The fourth pool (in the new wing) is very refreshing because it is in the shade. All pools and pool areas are kept immaculately clean, and even though the resort was pretty busy while we were there, we were always able to find a sun lounger.

Room
My boyfriend and I stayed in a superior room in the older wing that overlooked the pool. For the price we paid this was a very good room; spacious clean and comfortable. The shower was better than our shower at home and the king size bed was very comfortable. The balcony that overlooked the pool was the perfect spot to relax in the afternoon. Unlike other Patong resorts we have stayed in, our room didn't come with a DVD player. The room was made up every day by a very friendly lady who went out of her way to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Service/atmosphere
Before booking this hotel I read a few reviews that complained about the attitudes of Patong Merlin staff and I hate to say it, but their comments were spot on. Aside from the friendly lady who cleaned our room, the staff at Patong Merlin are definitely not nearly as friendly as other resorts. Hardly any of them smile which is very unusual for Thailand, but they do manage an occasional greeting or thank you. Luckily, the lack of friendliness doesn't wreck your stay because the atmosphere in the resort still manages to be terrific.

The breakfast buffet was delicious every morning. The breakfast area is huge, so there's always a chance of a comfortable table. There are also plenty of staff on duty during breakfast, and although unfriendly, they do serve you well. There is great variety in the breakfast (fruit, bacon, eggs, pastries, Thai dishes, salads, French toast etc.) and everything is steaming hot or fresh.

My boyfriend and I found the quality of other meals at the resort to be mixed. While the poolside lunches are delicious, the room service meals are very average - weird considering they probably come from the same kitchen. The hotel also serves up a dinner buffet every night (extra charge) which was pretty disappointing. We wouldn't recommend it as the food was bland and we both felt a little crook the next day.

I would definitely recommend the Patong Merlin Hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, comfortable, high-quality resort in Patong. Whether you're travelling as a couple, family, or group of friends, the Patong Merlin will suit your expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I am traveling since 30 years in Thailand and can tell you this hotel is overprized. The pools are great but the water of our pool was constantly over 30 degrees because they do not put fresh water in the pool so if you want to cool down go to your room and have a shower. The light wires around the pools are laying on the earth instead of under the earth, this is dangerous, especially for children. I have booked a room for a guest for three days, unfortunately my guest had a heartattack one week before coming, the management was not ready to refund any money, i said why don't youngive me some vouchers for the buffet or a dvd in the room instead of a refund, this was refused by the management which was not even ready to talk to me directly but went always through the reception. Don't expect an extra mile in the service. Some of the staff are very helpfull but some other are lazy and do not even speak english. This hotel wants your cash and is not ready to give you a friendly and familiar service. As I said no extra mile.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My girlfriend and i ( 45 & 50 ) stayed here in Feb 2013 , the pools are great and the pool with the bar is away from the main pools so its good if you dont want lots of people and kids around while you are relaxing . The rooms are fine nothing to write home about but nothing to really complain about either . I think they should air the rooms out before you arrive . The main thing about this hotel is its location its great in the middle of everything so a couple of minutes walk to anything you want but once you are in the hotel it is quiet . We stayed at the Merlin Beach last year but would now pick the Patong Merlin just for pure convenience no having to barta for took tooks to get to and from your hotel i dont think we used a took took at all this time. If you are wanting a dentist the one in the hotel is great and has an excellent reputation . Also if looking for a jeweller just around the corner is P & C Jewellers , i can not recommend them highly enough bought several items off them and had things made and posted to us after we had left both rings arrived exactly when he said they would not that i had any doubt they would they were extremely nice helpful people .So dont hesitate to order something and have it sent if he doesnt have the time to make it while you are there ... Like us who went back and ordered more our last day ... Don't forget to take your old jewellery with you to have melted down .

Room Tip: Unless paying for a pool access room i wouldnt bother paying extra for the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Patong
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#31 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#37 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong Merlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.