We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for all the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Merlin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Patong Merlin Hotel to your Saves list
Patong Merlin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location for all the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This was the our family's 1st trip to Thailand, and we had a great time at the Patong Meelin, breakfast was always great and very little waiting for the hot grill, keeping in mind this is still at the very end of low season. The rooms was clean and fresh with only one problem the beds are the hardest I have found in years of travel, the house keeping staff are fantastic and well on top of there job and if you get to know them that make awesome baby sitters at a very good price 200bht for first 2 hours then 100 baht for each hour after that all night if you wish. Don't book any day trips from home with travel agent as you will save about 80% doing booking on the street, also the hotel has its own taxi drivers on retainer at front entry they are awesome for day trips, we got a driver called Jimmy and for 600bhat drove us in a very clean and new air con car to elephant trek to south of Patong then to the zoo all day, he also looks after your interests with street deals and watches over your day from the background to ensure you are not ripped off.

This is a great place to stay just needs better beds.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    384
    158
    53
    26
See reviews for
267
321
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice and twice I have had gastro. This time was the worst. Needed a doctor. Was traveling with a party of 12 and 10 of us where hit with the bug at different times. The cleaners had a blocked toilet on the bottom floor one day that stunk the whole bottom floor out. Upon closer inspection I realised that they where sweeping the poo into the garden!!! The rooms are clean and tidy. The air con is very noisy but works ok. The grounds are the selling point of the hotel. There are plenty of deck chairs and the pools are good. I think the whole resort needs a huge make over. It's too run down and I think the plumping is under a lot of stress and it needs to be fixed. We had friend that where on the ground floors and there room stunk and there toilets would get blocked easily. We where on the top floor and didn't have that problem.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

First time to Patong. We were greeted with ice cold facewashers and cold grape juice on arrival. We were recommended the Patong Merlin and have no regrets. We got the interconnecting rooms we requested for our familiy of 2 adults and two preteen girls. The staff were so friendly. Rooms were clean and tidy. The mattress on the king size bed was a little hard. Airconditioner coped with the humidity. The pool staff were amazing at all 4 pools. No complaints about the food. I got a tummy bug but no one can pin point where I picked it up from. The hotel is in a great location next door to Hard Rock Cafe (that suffered a firewhile we were in Patong) and right in the heart of the Patong shopping strips. I have no hesitations to return back to the Patong Merlin. Put it this way we stayed at a 5 star hotel in Bangkok and that place has nothing on the Patong Merlin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our first trip to Thailand and stayed here for 10 days. The resort had 4 big pools to choose from, 1 being a swim up bar but spent most of our time in the 3rd pool with kids pool joined to it so we could watch the kids while we swam. Situated across the road from the beach at one end and entrance of resort was on main strip of patong next door to Hard Rock hotel. Breakfasts are amazing with a great variety of Thai food, eggs and bacon, a variety of pastry or cereal and toast! We booked tours through the resort but you can book the tours much cheaper on the street (next time we would book tours on the street). We went to fantasea show,(amazing) phuket zoo,(each to their own), phi phi island, (fantastic).Shopping is great with lots of clothing, shoes, handbags, watches, DVDs, the list goes on! Tuk tuks (taxi) are heaps of fun, probably one of the kids highlights and are the best way to travel around patong.
Bangla road! What can I say.......a must see street full of people everywhere! Buzzing place at night!
Can't wait to go back to patong beach resort and would stay even longer next time.
If your looking for a resort to stay in phuket with or without kids then stay at patong beach resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Returning after 16 years was an amazing experience. The Patong Merlin is located in a very exciting part of Patong Beach.....easy access to shops, atm's, restaurants and bars. We had children with us (aged 12 & 7) and they loved it. Helpful and very friendly service, when ever we requested something, it was delivered within minutes. Buffet breakfast was exceptional. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

The dentist which is located on the beach side of the Patong Merlin is excellent.
PROMJAI (Dr. Joy) did an amazing job on my front tooth crown. Extremely clean, professional and gentle service. For someone who is terrified of dentists, Dr Joy and staff were brilliant. My 3 short visits did not interfere with my holiday stay & I'm extremely happy with the final results. Thank you to the lady who recommended Dr Joy, I read your comments 5 days before we left and was glad I checked out the clinic.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Bev and I reached this milestone and decided to celebrate at a place where we could relax and have fun at the same time. Bev had been before but I was a virgin Patong Merlin guest. We have spent the last 14 days in pure heaven.
The staff, and we mean ALL the staff work quietly and simply for your comfort. Our House Maid was so good we wanted to steal her and take her home with us. The same is true of the Service staff who tend to your needs around the bars, resturaunts and pools. For people who do not have English as a first language we have seen no problems communicating needs, nor did we have any trouble understanding these beautiful Thai people. If you didn't quite get it, just smile and ask again and they willingly take it slower to make it easier for you. We will be back many times. Bev and Dennis MacKinlay

Room Tip: We chose a room on the ground floor in building 4. The rooms look out over a beautiful pool (one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a great location and great pools....stay here. If you are looking for somewhere with friendly staff and a quiet room, quiet lay by the pool and a good breakfast then stay away!
Start with the staff - they are horrible. I don't think one person smiled the whole time, no one greets you and service by the pool is hard to come by.
Rooms - stayed in a superior pool view room which was reasonable. Nothing flash but very clean and super comfortable beds with great views and good size balcony. The showers are barely even warm let alone hot which was fine the majority of the time but some times a warmer shower would have been nice!
Pools - swam in only 2 of the four pools. The main large pool (closest to reception) was great. Really deep, plenty of sunbeds etc. There were loads of smilies staying at the resort (wasn't school holidays) which made laying by the pool noisy but didn't bother us at all. The swim up bar pool (outside the deluxe rooms) was nice but really cold! The bar was ok, not worth sitting there drinking in my opinion as it gets no sun and it pretty cold sitting there at the bar.
The location is awesome - far enough away from bangala road to avoid the nightclub noise but still plenty close enough to walk everywhere.
We ate out every dinner, on,y one lunch by the pool which was average....wouldn't rave about it but wasn't too expensive.
Breakfast is TERRIBLE.....massive line ups, mass produced food with no taste! We went to coffee club every morning for a decent coffee and ate tHere a couple of times for a decent meal!!
Wifi - non existent at the Patong Merlin. We walked each day to coffee club where it's free with a nice to coffee to relax and enjoy!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patong Merlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Merlin Hotel

Address: 44 Thaveewong Road, Patong Beach, 83150, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Patong
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#31 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Merlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patong Merlin Hotel is an international holiday resort in the heart of Phuket's exotic Patong Beach. Nestled amongst acres of swaying coconut palms and flowering gardens, the Merlin weaves its way around three beautiful aquamarine sculptured swimming pools in a labyrinth of curved walkways and meandering paths.There is easy access to the sparkling sandy beach and the quaint street markets.An enchanted ambiance and smiling attentive staff ensure your visit to Phuket's playground in the sun is as memorable as it is magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Patong Merlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Patong
Patong Merlin Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong Merlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.