We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merlin Beach Resort - Simply the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merlin Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Merlin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Merlin Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Merlin Beach Resort - Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We are again this year travelling to Phuket for a 12 night stay at the Merlin Beach Resort. This will be our 4th year in a row that we have gone to Thailand for our September school holidays and stayed at the Merlin Beach Resort, Phuket. We were initially recommended to the resort by other friends and family and are so thankfully for their referal. From the moment you enter the foyer you are made to feel welcome. You are greeted with cold face washers and a refreshing cold drink. A hostess is assigned to each family and all your check in details are done while relaxing in the lobby chairs, instead of standing at a stale old check in desk. The rooms are more than spacious, have cable t.v, the best air conditioning, dining table and we always request a room with a view of the ocean as there is nothing better than sitting on your balcony as the sun sets and enjoying that view. The pools are just so relaxing. We spend the days laying on the deck chairs sunning ourselves while our daughter plays endlessly in any and all of the 3 pools. No need to pack beach towels as they are provided to you, fresh each day. There are the massage ladies down on each side of the beach. They are fantastic for not only massages but they also do pedicures, manicures, hair braiding and washing. They are all so lovely. There is nothing better than going down in the late afternoon to have a massage by the beach as the cool air blows and the chimes in their tent ring. Every member our group has a 1 hour massage every single day we are there and it is heaven. The buffet breakfast is fantastic and there is something there for everyone to chose from. We mainly eat our lunches by the pool and the prices are extremely reasonable for a hotel. Our room service bill, for 3 of us, for 10 days last year was $380.00. That included eating lunch by the pool nearly every single day, some nights we had room service after a big day trip and we alway stop at the lobby bar on our way out each evening to take advantage of the half price cocktails that they do each night in the lobby. There is always a great band playing so we always have a little dance before heading into Patong for an evening meal and shopping. There are many saying that the resort is a little out of Patong but that is why we love it. Patong is fantastic and we visit there almost each day, get our shopping, get some surplies for the room and then we escape the madness back to our magnificent resort for peace and quite and total relaxation. Sure, we have taken the time on other trips to check out the many other resorts that Phuket has to offer but we just don't want to ruin a good thing - when you find something you love, stay with it. The other resorts have many other great things to offer but when you want to sit back, relax and swim then you can't beat the Merlin. The pools are massive and you can spend all day just bobbing around in there chatting and meeting other guests or just relaxing and reading a book. We are off next week again for yet another 16 days in Phuket and Bangkok and we are taking 2 other families with us. Thailand is an amazing holiday and certainly has alot to offer. We booked our day trips down in Patong,out the front of the main supermarket, and the costs was way cheaper than those quoted by our tour guides who bring you in. It will pay to shop around a little on the tours because there is some serious money that can be saved. I hope that you get to enjoy the Merlin as much as we always have.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    415
    162
    52
    31
See reviews for
441
548
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

This hotel is great the rooms are very good size and the pools are fantastic you have trouble deciding which one to sit at. The location is away from the noise and crowds, but you can still get to town without to much trouble. The beach is lovely, but a little hard to swim at because of the coral. You have to try the Italian restaurant the food is great

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I am from Stanmore and I just got back from this wonderfull place and I had a great time at this hotel. My best friend Satty who was upset his partner prem could not be there had totally forgotten about his sadness. this was becasue the hotel had so much to do crazy things. food was great and the rooms were big enough to move about in. The pool was clean and large for a group game of volleyball. This is a good place to meet lots of travellers. we came across two cyclone built brothers from harrow with trimmed beards and moustaches who worked out and they partied with us over the 6 days.

Great times

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

There is soooo much to do in this hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. With their own private beach and free transport, swimming pools, there is nothing more you could ever ask for. We loved it soo much that we are going back again next year. You are away from all the hustle and bustle but it is easily reached by free transport which only takes approx 15 minutes. The best of both worlds. Highly recommended. I have been in many hotels in Thailand, but this has to be the best yet!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

The service at the Merlin was fantastic. Everyone we encountered on the island was lovely and eager to help.

The hotel has four restaurants, Thai, Italian etc. All very good and reasonably priced.

August was a bit quiet, so if you like having the place to yourselves, this is certainly the time of year to go. If you want a bit more atmosphere I’d go earlier in the year when it’s high season.

The location was perfect for us. A 10 minute ride to Patong, so far enough from the noise to have the best of both worlds. The hotel has a free shuttle bus service to the Patong Beach and to the town. A taxi is about 200-250 baht each way. Make sure you fix the price before you get in!!!

Whilst the hotel has it’s own beach, I would highly recommend the beach across the road. It’s called Tri Trang beach and is a few yards from the main reception. A fantastic long quiet beach with a bar at one end and a good restaurant at the other. No hawkers or hassle. The water is calm, very warm and you can walk out for several hundred yards as it’s very shallow.

My only gripe with the hotel is that there’s renovation work going on in the third block (where we were originally allocated). We asked to be moved and were offered a special rate to upgrade. Well worth it! Make sure you’ve got a room in either the first or second blocks and you’ll be fine.

A great complex!!!!! You'll love it

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Merlin Beach Resort Phuket.

I believe that the whole experience needs explanation for a worthy review, and that includes everything from arrival at Phuket airport to the return trip.

Having arranged a short 10 night trip to Merlin Beach Resort and Khao Lak Merlin (5 nights at each), my wife and I embarked on our late June 2009 trip arriving at Phuket airport at approximately 11.00am (from memory).

The airport is small with nothing particularly memorable aside from a mad rush around the exit, where with open eyes it was easy enough spotting the Transfer driving group for Merlin and other resorts arranged via Flight Centre and Destination Asia.

The weather being warm and with us dressed in ‘Melbourne’ clothes, we desperately needed to find a cool place and the transfer van was exactly that. An hour later during which the vehicle had to stop to allow a child to throw up outside due to motion sickness caused by the many turns encountered over the 15-20 clicks coming into Patong.

On arrival we were greeted by a couple of lovely young ladies who shuffled us to a meeting area where details were exchanged, an almost frozen face towel handed over (very refreshing) and drinks were provided. A lovely beginning.

Mmm, the beginning… What about encountered problems? Actually there were a few and I suggest you consider the following (in no particular order):

• When first entered our room was hot and musty
• On the lengthy trip to the room there were some not so nice smells top contend with
• An entire wing was under renovation meaning we had to go further to get around the work, the smell and the noise
• For a quality resort, the lack of English speaking actually became a little annoying
• The price of meals, drinks and so forth was quite high when compared to Patong bars and restaurants
• Merlin Beach Patong’s location although lovely, is a reasonable distance from town.
• Patong (and Khao Lak) and all that we saw in between had some very dirty areas, notably with massive amounts of rubbish strewn around at the front of many buildings
• Lack of maintenance around the beach area itself.

HOWEVER, essentially all of these were minor concerns that effectively had only a minute effect on the trip. I merely felt it best that you be aware of what you may come your way. Bottom line; I do not think badly of Merlin, rather it’s more a culture thing.

We booked and highly, highly recommend one considers the Pool Access Rooms. No need to pay much more for them, unless in high season. Sizeable enough with all one needs (aside from a DVD if you are that way inclined), with plentiful towels and so forth (but no toothpaste, comb, iron, ironing board, and there was no fresh milk), the weather, the position and the ability to simply open a door onto a small balcony and straight into a brilliant pool is simply fantastic.

Other trinkets pertaining to the resort include some wonderful pools, grounds, restaurants, meeting areas, and well appointed fitness room. Indeed, I would have to say that Merlin Beach Resort is holding its age extremely well and is a lovely place to stay.

Breakfast wise, it was good if not exceptional with the usual options (quite a lot actually), generally speaking the staff were happy to assist and very nice, cleanliness of the pools and grounds was great. So in a nutshell, we would highly recommend the resort if distance from the swarming hub of Patong isn’t a problem for you. To further explain, the facility is located some 3-4 clicks out of town on a winding hilly road. Getting to town can be achieved by either a free inter Merlin Resort bus (that is available way too infrequently) or by Taxi which usually coasts around 200 bart.

Highlights of our time in Patong included a night at Muay Tai where the words Big Fight, Tonight, Biggest Fight of Month – is heard with monotonous regularity (actually you hear this in Patong all day every day). Anyway, we found it fabulous (if this is your thing) but take it from us, there are 2 prices – one for the better seats and one for the cheaper seats. Take it from us, go for the cheaper seats!

We also did the real touristy thing of attending Fantasea. Frankly, it was over-rated, nice but expensive and seriously, I wouldn’t recommend it. That said, if you do decide to go, make sure you get there with at least an hour or 2 to spare so that you can take in all of the sights. This would make it much more worthwhile.

The markets. Maybe it was the time of year, but with so FEW tourists in Patong it meant that every stall owner would pounce on you. Apparently, even when busy they do the same but have more marks! Anyway, don’t be put off, just be polite and say not interested – particularly to the Tailors as they seem to be everywhere.

There are bargains to be had, but be wary and take your time to scout around. Barter wise – this is entirely acceptable and expected and in some case you can gain as much as 75% off, whereas 50-60% is the norm.

I could waffle on, however I think this covers most of the pertinent points. Oh, if you are on a tight budget, buy stocks of beer and so forth from the local Patong super\markets and stock your fridge at the resort.

Now enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Stayed at the merlin beach resort with my mother and sister, for 8 nights during june 2009. Cocktail on arrival, very welcoming. One of the best bathrooms i've ever seen. Rooms would have been very spacious if we didnt have the extra rollaway bed.
I took my laptop with me on the trip, the internet in the room worked 95% of the time, it would hope so as i was paying around $15au for 24hrs, or $8 for 1 hour.
Loved the breakfas!!t there was so much to choose from, pastry's were fantastic.
Didnt spend much time around the pools as we were usually on a tour or out in patong. But they looked great.
The shuttle bus into patong was good but really only for one way, as it would leave at 10:30am and come back at 12:00pm or 5:00pm.
We were paying around 200baht for a tuk tuk or taxi back to the hotel from patong.
Anyone who stays at this hotel MUST visit the little tiger restaurant at the beach end of the hotel, up the stairs it was the best food we had on our entire thailand trip!!
We highly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and will stay again on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Beach Resort

Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#13 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merlin Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Beach Resort is a deluxe and luxurious hotel, situated on its own secluded Tri-Trang Beach (3 km. from Patong Beach). Low-rise buildings sitting along the private beach amongst 12 acres of swaying coconut palms and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Merlin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Merlin Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.