We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Paradise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merlin Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Merlin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Merlin Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quiet Paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here with my partner and 2 other couples. The resort was fantastic, clean and very friendly staff. Pools very clean. Food average. Beer wasn't very cold so you need to ask for them to put it in a ice bucket. About 3km away from the main hustle of Patong Beach and busy Bangla Rd. Costs around 300Baht one way trip. Buffett breakfast daily was full of variety. Great resort for families and or couples.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    415
    162
    52
    31
See reviews for
441
548
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 10 nights and were pleased we chose to stay here. The location is perfect if you don't want to stay in Patong itself and there is a hotel shuttle to transport guests into town which is nearby (but not walking distance). The rooms were spacious and well appointed, the beds comfortable and bathroom was spotless. With 3 pools, you can choose whether you want to be around families, couples or the quiet zone. The restaurants and day spa were also very good. We found the staff to be most polite and accommodating. The kids club is really geared towards under 7s. We shall definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our experience at this hotel was fantastic. The staff throughout were friendly, polite, attentive and always happy to help. Breakfast was great if you looked past the bacon and eggs. Fresh omelets, traditional noodles and chilli if your game. Evening meals were reasonable at the resort but if you don't want to go into town, a walk up the hill to the Tiger Restaurant or turn left out of the resort for a short walk to the Windsurf Restaurant will give you a good cheap Thai meal. The multiple pools are and swim up bar are clean and well presented. We opted for a pool access room. I recommend it. The beach isn't good for swimming. It is very rocky but makes for interesting tidal pools at low tide.The resort is a couple of km out of town, a tuk tuk or taxi into Patong will cost around 250B. It is actually nice to be removed form the madness and just added to the experience..

Room Tip: Pool Access Room. Semi private pool. Good value and removed from most of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent housekeeping. Well done to housekeeping manager and staff. I am a very fussy traveler and every corner of the room was clean. Every self dusted. It was a pleasure having such a clean room.

Beds - Terrible. There were two hollows in the mattress. It was completely worn out. We requested that the mattress be changed and was told that they had no spares and that the only thing they could offer was to place a hard board on the top. Six nights of backache for us! Still suffering with the pains and discomfort. Now I realize what a BIG difference a mattress makes.

Seafood restaurant - Was revoltingly ill after eating there. I was eating prawns and saw that they were not cleaned and still had the vein in them. My discovery was after I consumes two already. The waiter said that this was their standard and wont clean before cooking. The next day I paid 4000 baht to a doctor to treat us.

Room Tip: Kindly specify that you need a good mattress and pillows, not old very worn out ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just returned from 12 days at this Resort and we had a fabulous time.We went all out and booked a pool access room which could not be faulted (the shower is the best I've had in a hotel, water pressure etc). From the moment we arrived until the day we departed all the staff were extremely helpful and nothing was a bother. We dined at most of the restaurants, the food we chose was excellent. A special mention to Kevalee at the Lobby Bar for her attentive service and beautiful smile. Location is fantastic if you are happy to stay 5-10mins out of Patong. The shuttle service worked well for us. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My friends and I just stayed at Merlin for 10 days and we were quite disappointed at the staff service at this Resort. We walked through the whole resort day in and out and were never greeted a "Hello" or "Saswadee" unless we said it first. The staff are disinterested and could use a crash course in customer service. Never have I stayed in a resort where this has been the case.
The rooms are quite nice and cleaned well, however I would not stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband & I stayed here for our honeymoon. The staff were lovely and the resort had a great layout. They set up honeymoon decorations for us in our room with a fresh fruit basket! The swimming pools were great, especially during happy hour for the pool bar and the restaurant food was very nice. The shuttle to Patong was very handy but if you want something very close to town to avoid regular taxis this may be a bit far out. I was surprised to find out that the delicious cocktails at the resort bars were cheaper than some in the Patong restaurants but by far much better than anywhere else. I highly recommend the Andaman Breeze cocktail. Massages at the spa were heaven and because the June specials were what we wanted to get it was half price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the balcony room overlooking the pools which was close to the restaurants/lobby and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Beach Resort

Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#13 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merlin Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Beach Resort is a deluxe and luxurious hotel, situated on its own secluded Tri-Trang Beach (3 km. from Patong Beach). Low-rise buildings sitting along the private beach amongst 12 acres of swaying coconut palms and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Merlin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Merlin Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.