We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merlin Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Merlin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Merlin Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Hobart
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Terrific Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a very nice resort, a little distance by taxi from Patong(approx 250 to 300 ) staff are very good. Only complaint was that drinks are very expensive. The resort has beautiful pools for all ages.

Room Tip: Pick a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    415
    162
    52
    31
See reviews for
441
548
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed here in April 2014 and the whole experience was fantastic. Definitely will be back as the resort is clean and well managed. Every area is run smoothly, food is good, pools are clean and service is brilliant. My best holiday ever.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Myself and 3 friends travelled to Phuket May/June 2014 nad stayed for 14 nights at Merlin Beach Resort, what a great place to relax. the hotel offered 3 great pool, 1 with a pool bar for happy hours drinks, we stayed in a pool access room it was great to be able to just walk out your door and have a dip.
Staff at the hotel were extremely friednly and accomodating to any request, I read some trip advisor comments before we travelled and must say that those people whi have posted negative comments about this property and the service level must be extremely hard to please we had no complaints regarding both propeorty and service level all high standards. Whilsdt I belive that some of the rooms may appear to be outdated I can say that both our pool access and standard room very very well furbish and up to date I can only asume that the hotel is woerking its wat through an upgrade.

We will certainly be back to enjoy what this resort has to offered and whilst it is a bot further away from patong than originally thought still only a 300 baht trip and its was nice to get back there away from all the yhpe, and noise.
Dale

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My hubby and i recently spent 11 glorious days at the Merlin Beach resort in Khao lak. We enjoyed every minute of our vacation there. Our room was superb, with views of the upper pools. The staff were attentive yet discreet and attention to detail wherever you go on the resort is clear. Food is delicious wherever you go in Thailand and this is no exception. The pools are clean and there are a few to choose from and if you want a beach experience a few meters from the pool is the beautiful andaman sea.. A little rough this time of year but still very swimmable... And elephants rides and cocktail bars and other restaurants are walking distant from hotel if you feel the need to eat out or get out. Our favorites were Black jack bar for cheap cocktails and Mali and Tom Yong Goong for Thai.. Loads of massage spas and laundry spots. Merlin beach was wonderful

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The worst part about our 1st floor room is that our A/C intake must be near a favorite smokers haunt. Seems people like to smoke at our bedtime as our room is pumped full of ciggy smoke at various times of the day but especially at night.

Housekeeping was slack with staff not even bothering to answer the phone after 9 p.m. in a call for ice.

The Hotel's mark up on ice, food and bevvies is very enthusiastic so I suggest keep this to a bare minimum. A couple traveling with us had several bogus additions to their tab. One of which was rescinded and another too difficult to argue the remainder not worthy of squabble.
The room fridge is tiny so a daily stop off at either the 7/11 or family mart (both en route) is a must.

Any rooms other than ground floor seem to have a convoluted access to the pool so I suggest go elsewhere if you like to swim often. The pools were clean and had good PH balance however I don't agree with kiddies being seated at the swim up bar and certainly not at the expense of paying adult patrons.

The free wi-fi worked well for my laptop however the wife had issues with her tablet.

The room service food was 2 star at best though there was plenty of it.

The hotel is out of Patong however this wasn't a major issue Taxis and tuk tuk are available from 250-300 Bht. There is a good restaurant (The Blue Mango) within easy walking distance which I recommend. The beach massage and laundry services are a rip off so I strongly suggest you use one of the many others in Patong.

I hope people find this review helpful.

Room Tip: Demand a ground floor room or stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had 7 nights at the Merlin towards the end of my tour in Thailand. This hotel was a wonderful way to relax and unwind after my adventures in the mountains and in Bangkok. My room was clean, comfortable and had a beautiful view of the pool and the beach beyond. Plenty of variety in the food offered, and an afternoon in the beach café is definitely not a wasted one.
And the service was really first rate. I always judge this on how hotel staff respond to the unexpected. So when I unfortunately passed out unwell at the bar, due to dehydration, the staff were not only prompt in getting me medical assistance (which is onsite), but also in checking up on me as I recovered.
The hotel has ample facilities to offer transport to both Patong town and even to Phuket town, though Patong is only a 2 mile walk. As well as excursions to see the rest of Phuket and to go diving and snorkelling on the east side of Phuket.

If there is a con to this place, then it's that it is a ways away from the rest of what's going on. But if like me you're looking for somewhere to enjoy the beach, pool-bar and relax and do nothing. Then I can highly recommend the Merlin Beach as that sort of escape.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms. The other side does face a pool, but also the road too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights for my hubby's 50th birthday. There were 4 rooms booked in total. 2 were pool access rooms which I would highly recommend, the beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept on and yes you do have free wifi access. The others were on the 2nd and 3rd floors. The room on the second floor wasn't as undated as the others which was a little disappointing but the room on the 3rd floor which over looked the kiddies pool was nice and updated. Housekeeping was a little slack with the cleaning and forgot to refill the tea n coffee. The location didn't bother us as we hired scooters during our stay and caught a tuk tuk into town at night. The rides home in the tuk tuk were a laugh and well worth the 300 bht. The hotel was lovely and peaceful during our stay and a must during your stay is to have a swim with the baby elephant Rai Rai which is just up the hill on the left hand side on the way bacK into town. An experience I certainly will not forget. Enjoyed our stay while here.

Room Tip: Pool access all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Beach Resort

Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#13 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merlin Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Beach Resort is a deluxe and luxurious hotel, situated on its own secluded Tri-Trang Beach (3 km. from Patong Beach). Low-rise buildings sitting along the private beach amongst 12 acres of swaying coconut palms and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Merlin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Merlin Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.