We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merlin Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Merlin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Merlin Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Merlin Beach was great. Everything from front desk to house keeping, service was amazing.
Having 3 different pools was great, pictures definitely do the place justice as everything you see online is exactly what you get.
Swim-up bar is great, having a drink or food whenever you want and being able to charge back to the room is a great idea.
Happy hour at the bar inside the hotel lobby near reception is what I would say to anyone who asked for advice! There are 2 happy hours (from memory 5-7 and then 9-11) which make the drinks dirt cheap! And they are more than happy for you to order numerous so that you can have happy hour.
Recommend this place to anybody looking a great hotel in a great location away from the hustle and bustle of Patong Beach strip.
Will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    415
    162
    52
    31
See reviews for
441
548
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I have spent seven glorious days at this resort the relaxation of the pool the friendly staff the beautiful meals the standard of cleanliness and the pride that all of these people taking their uniforms fantastic highly recommend to stay here will be back for sure.

P.s
To Witoon thank you our friend see you when we get back here soon..

Mark & Heather Cooper

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights at the beginning of October. Large expansive resort with 3 swimming pools on the beach. Internet pictures are exactly what you get at the resort. Only thing that is not stated is you can’t really swim at the beach as there are too many rocks about. A few braved it and looked like they were snorkelling, not sure if you would see much. The outlook is still nice though. Our room overlooked pool 1. It appears that they put the families with kids over near pool 3 which is more the family pool with kids activities/slides etc. Staff were mostly attentive, except on the one occasion where we ordered an ice bucket. First two times the bucket arrived within 10 minutes. The third time we guessed they forgot about us after waiting an hour. Happy hour times at the pool bar were great. We had torrential rain the first 4/5 days which was a bit disappointing and the road out the front flooded. The rain ruined my plans on relaxing by the pool in the sun. Breakfast was buffet style with eastern and western foods to satisfy everyone. We ate at the Thai restaurant one night and it was rubbish. I have had better Thai food back home. There is a little restaurant on the hill called little tiger, go here – excellent food and prices. The pool boys could be more attentive around the pool area attending to guests. We had to wave them down for food and drink orders. The pool also closes at 6pm which is way too early. They seemed to be relaxed about this rule until about 7pm then they chase you out. Bit silly if the guests are being quiet and not bothering any other guests. This hotel is located about a 5 minute drive over the hill from Patong beach. It was nice to be out of the hustle and bustle of Patong and the resort offered a free shuttle several times a day. Lovely resort and would be a preference if returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Enjoyed the hotel just my wife and I, 11 days, nice and relaxing, pool great, some nice people, mainly couples like us. Just we had some aussie footballers few days they were a bit roudy but overall was good, kept bumping to same couple in bus to Patong and Little Tiger. Seems everyone was on same idea. Breakfast was good so was swim up bar. The massage places at beach are good. I wonder who was that nice lady with the man that looked like Danny Davito?

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor overlooking pool and beach. Really nice night and day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from our fourth visit to Merlin Beach Resort . Stayed for 2 weeks and our experience was as good as our first stay 5 years ago. The house keeping staff were all very friendly and eager to help with all our needs . The hotel has been renovated since our last visit and you can get free wi-fi in your rooms at long last. The facilities are second to none and the hotel is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. The free shuttle bus is very convenient if only a few times a day. This hotel is more a "family" resort than a romantic getaway for a couple although the swim up rooms are sort of tucked away from the noise of screaming kids. All of the food options in the resort are very good (for a hotel ) in particular the various buffet nights which can be handy when you have tired kids . The breakfast buffet was good , but could do with a change as it is the same as the first time we visited . All in all another memorable stay for my wife and children at Merlin Beach Resort . All things being well , will be back next year !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice. Most of the staff were very friendly, just a few that were abrupt.
We stayed in a Superior Room for seven nights which over looked one of the pools, it was very nice, clean and well spaced out. We then decided to upgrade to a Pool access Room for the last three which was also very nice especially having access to the pool straight off your patio. The interior was slightly better plus you were given robes and thongs to wear.(which I think should be available in all rooms)
The pools were excellent and there were plenty of sun loungers. They seam to stick to the policy of not allowing you to put your towel down and go off for the day. Which I think is excellent.
The beach wasn't very good, you could walk it in five minutes from one end to the other. We went up to the little restaurant on the beach hill, very small and run down, but the spring rolls were yummy. The ladies just up the hill did a great massage and nail treatments, also a great job of the washing. About $10 for massage, $6 for my nails to be filed and painted and about 70 cents a kilo for your washing.
Weather was pretty good, rained mostly at night. I don't think I'd go October again though a bit to much rain. It did rain all day on the day we were leaving.
Location was too far out to walk anywhere but the drive was only about 5 minutes costing 250 Baht to Patong shops 300 back. Only one shop outside the hotel.
First time in Phuket. Loved it. We would normally go to Bali which we love, but this was a bit better as in cleaner, better roads and driving and the paving was 90% better! also they didn't hassle you really. (Apart from the Time Share Brits).

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed as a solo traveler, better suited for couples or families but service was fine and rooms were comfortable although due to the size and layout of the resort it does take time to get anywhere. Pools were great and just across the rd from the beach and far enough from the action to be relaxed but close enough to be a short walk

Room Tip: dont go for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Beach Resort

Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#13 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 Family Hotel in Patong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merlin Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Beach Resort is a deluxe and luxurious hotel, situated on its own secluded Tri-Trang Beach (3 km. from Patong Beach). Low-rise buildings sitting along the private beach amongst 12 acres of swaying coconut palms and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Merlin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Merlin Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.