We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merlin Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Merlin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Merlin Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mandurah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

On arrival we were met and taken to comfortable lounges in the reception area, we were then given a very refreshing (especially after the 1 hr drive from the airport) complimentary fruit drink, and cold towels, after we check in we were escorted to our room on the third floor. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed, the bathroom was large and had a bath with a hand held shower attachment, there was a shower, toilet and vanity. everything one would need. Our balcony over looked one of the beautiful expansive pools and gardens and waterfall (which is turned off at night)
The staff were wonderful, they couldn't be more pleasant, professional and helpful. There is a number of restaurants within the resort and the food is excellent and prices reasonable.
The resort is a shuttle bus (free) or taxi ride out of the hustle and noise of Patong it has it's own beach front, and is in a lovely quiet area. On the beach there are a couple of places to have a very good massage (300 Baht for 1 hr)
I would recommend the Merlin Beach Resort to anyone wanting a relaxing, comfortable place to stay. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    438
    180
    55
    32
See reviews for
469
581
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay here with our two kids as we enjoyed it so much last time.

The service and staff here are wonderful, some of the best i have ever experienced. They upgraded us on arrival as we were repeat customers which was nice, and made the effort to put us in neighbouring rooms to my parents who were also joining our holiday.

Unfortunately we had to move rooms a few days into our stay as a water pipe burst in the room above us and water began pouring in through our bathroom ceiling flooding our bathroom. Again, the staff were very helpful and accommodating in relocating us.

We had an appalling run of luck while we were there actually. We had some terrible weather for the first week which meant that we couldn't take advantage of private beach or laze by the pool - two of our favorite things to do last time.

The weather was so bad in fact that Patong completely flooded on our second night. Thigh high in some parts and many people were stranded as none of the tuk tuks or taxis could drive on the flooded roads. We spoke with a few people over breakfast who were forced to walk back the hotel which is quite a hike!

The other issue with the amount of rain was the breakout of food poisoning. The doctor we saw said that it was a result of water contamination. They told us they were treating 15-20 people a day compared to the usual 1 and that they had nicknamed themselves Dr Diahorea! It was impossible to avoid and we each had a bout. Again the staff were extremely helpful in guiding us to medical treatment.

The hotel breakfast is great with lots of variety. The pools are beautifully set out and they have added a new kids water playground to compliment the water slide which our youngest appreciated.

They are setting about renovating some areas of the resort which is great to see as it is starting to show some signs of age. Not horrible by any stretch, just due for lick of paint and a spruce up.

All in all this is a great hotel.

PS - I thoroughly recommend the massge hut on the right as you face the beach. 300 baht ($10) for an hour long massage. Ask for Naan :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the merlin beach resort for the first time, and as my first experience in Phuket, the choice of hotel and location was perfect. we loved our time there, service was great, pools was beautiful and just what you would want for a relaxing getaway! the prices were considered 'high' for Phuket ie cocktails and meals, but still came out a lot cheaper than back home! (Australia). Although the hotel is 5 or so mins from patong beach, they have a free shuttle bus that can take you in 4 times a day and pick you up from the main strip. (can become costly taking a taxi down everyday) There were 2 massage huts on the private beach, very dingy, I personally preferred to pay more for a better quality and experience of a massage from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel for aussies, very well known for that!

overall a great time, experience and already planning for our next trip back. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I (aged 55 and 60) had a week at the lovely Merlin Beach resort in May 2013 and could not have been happier. We arrived at 1 am to smiling desk staff with cool towels and drinks and were quickly escorted to our room. We had taken other peoples advice on trip advisor and booked a pool access room and boy we were so happy with it. Lovely sized and appointed rooms. Gorgeous bed and bathroom but the star of the show is rolling off your bed and walking a few steps straight down into the pool at your verandah door step. It was just a beautful spot to sit and have coffee or drinks and just slide into the pool when it got hot. Our room was a perfect aspect (room 4134 I think) because we got a bit of morning and midday sun on the deck but come afternoon when all the other rooms were bathed in hot afternoon sun, we were in the beautiful shade sipping our drinks and watching the birds in the trees above us.
The food in all the different restaurants were really lovely , Lots of variety and cuisines to choose from. The breakfast was by far the best i have seen in lots of resorts. The egg station was really popular and i noticed they really catered well for families with children. The many pools were really lovely to explore and even though there were lots of families there, it was a really nice quiet resort and after 8.30 at night , you couldn't hear a pin drop. I had some lovely beauty treatments at the spa which were very cheap and don't even get me started on the beach massages in the huts right on the private beach in front of the resort. I tried all three of them at different times and they are all good. My husband even had a pedicare and massage on the beach. Just bliss and so cheap - $10 for a full hour.
Merlin Beach is only 5 mins out of Patong and we usually got a taxi when we wanted to go into town *($8) I didn't bother with the hot ,windy tuk tuk's. Prefer the air-con car. So pleased we didn't stay in the busy hot town - it was nice to go in and shop and then escape back to our quiet oasis.
The staff were so lovely and obliging . I didn't find the language barrier a problem at all like some people complain about. Every afternoon I would ring room service to have a bucket of ice sent to our room to have afternoon drinkies on our verandah and there they would be in minutes. Our rooms were serviced every day with lovely fresh sheets and towels and also beach towels.
It is a resort that everyone would like I think. There were lots of young ones there and I think they were more than happy to go into town for the night clubs etc and then relax around the resort and private beach during the day. I was told this was a first class resort and I can't wait to go back again. It was really good value for money from the rooms to the food and drinks and atmosphere and I can't wait to go back there again. Definitely go for the pool access room if you go. !!

Room Tip: definitely have a pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from staying here in June 2013. Great resort with superb facilities and service. we tried all three beach massage places. Our group agreed that the Family Massage place to the right as you look out to the sea was the best. Cost 300 baht for an hour massage. They also do manicures and nail painting etc but the full body massage (you can specify soft, medium or hard) is superb. Perhaps try medium before you jump into hard. Need to have just underwear or bathers or shorts so ladies wear something easy to slip on and off. They cover parts of you while you are lying there.

Room Tip: Our group of 10 had pool rooms and some had rooms on level 3 of block 2 (eg Room 2317) and we were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a wedding there in which the wedding planner was excellent.she did not miss a thing and everything was superb.the hotel has some staffing problems in a couple of places which was the back beach bar and the Thai restaurant where the people here were going to stay the day and refresh themselves but the beer was warm and staff needed a lot more training in the speed of service which could take 10 minutes for a beer .consequently we went to patong and refreshed ourselves.overall the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This resort is lovely. It is on its own private beach. The pools are fantastic. Plenty of restaurants that are well priced. Some rooms are a little tired, but one wing was already being renovated. I would recommend this resort.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Beach Resort

Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#17 Family Hotel in Patong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Merlin Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Beach Resort is a deluxe and luxurious hotel, situated on its own secluded Tri-Trang Beach (3 km. from Patong Beach). Low-rise buildings sitting along the private beach amongst 12 acres of swaying coconut palms and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Merlin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Merlin Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.