We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merlin Beach Resort - Sensational for couples & families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merlin Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Merlin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Merlin Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 284 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geelong, Australia
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Merlin Beach Resort - Sensational for couples & families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Merlin Beach Resort was awesome! We stayed there with our 2 year old and other family members. Staff were very polite and friendly, and the buffet breaky great. The pool bar and pools were fantastic,and kids pool area great too.

I have noticed some people comment that the resorts beach was a little rocky. Evidently these people were not aware that Tri Trang Beach, across the road from the front of the resort (only a 5 minute walk). Tri Trang Beach beach was magnificent, fairly secluded (unlike Patong Beach) and like something out of a movie, beautiful soft sand and crystal clear blue water. There is also a great little restaurant to the left of the beach, `Wind Surf' or something similar it is called. The meals were great and the small, casual open restaurant was lovely.

We would visit the resorts beach also (within the resort compound), especially for the one hour massages for the equivalent of $8 AUS. And the resorts own beach has a fantastic privately owned little restaurant on the cliff to the left called `Little Tiger', which by far had the best food we had eaten and the cheapest. It also has magnificent sea views and is beautiful lit up at night.

Although Merlin Beach Resort is a 5 min Tuk Tuk ride to Patong, we definately preferred staying at Merlin Beach resort over others right in town. Whilst we also spent (for something different) half our time at Holiday Inn in Patong (which was lovely and close to everything), it did not have the same super resort style feel of Merlin Beach Resort. My husband and I have also spent time (our honeymoon) in Koh Samui, and again, Merlin Beach Resort and Tri Trang Beach across the Rd are second to none in comparison.

We will definately return to Merlin Beach Resort in 2012, which is perfect for couples and families. If you want to do shopping for the day, you can catch a free ride on the resorts shuttle bus. Although they don't run as often as most people like (ie. don't run hourly), we could still easily work around the times they were available. And it was not expensive to pay for a tuk Tuk every now and then when we chose to.

I cannot speak highly enough of this resort. It is awesome!!!

The only thing I would say is not to book your tours at the Resort (or before traveling) as you will pay anywhere up to 3 times the amount. They will offer to get someone from a tour company to come and speak to you (as all resorts do), and must get something from referring people. However, the best place to book all your tours is through `Mr Marks tours' across the road from Hard Rock Cafe in Patong. We did a Phi Phi Island tour for a quarter of the price of other tour agencies. While you are in Thailand, don't miss Phi Phi Island tour, Fantasea (fantastic show), Simon Cabaret (entertaining night, lady man show, but appropriate for all the family), and an elephant tour. Mr Marks will give you a great price, when you are buying a few tours/shows - ie. a great package deal.

Since going to Thailand and staying at Merlin Beach Resort, we will never waste our money going to Queensland or elsewhere in Australia. Overall, cost-wise Thailand comes out better and Phuket and Merlin Beach resort are Sooooooo nice! The Thai people are lovely too. We also felt very safe at Merlin beach Resort at all times.

You will love it!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    435
    179
    55
    32
See reviews for
464
579
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MERIMBULA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Thanks to all the staff at the Merlin Beach Resort for making our stay from the 24th September 2011 to the 1st October 2011 so enjoyable.

Nothing is too much trouble - the buffet breakfast was yummy every day and all the meals we ate at the hotel were great. All the bar staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms were well appointed and housekeeping was good.

Would not hesitate to stay there again should we be lucky enough to visit in the future.

Margie Doyle, Merimbula, NSW, AUSTRALIA

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here in April 2011 and I have to say it is one of the best resorts we have stayed at. We had a week in Singapore before coming here and we were so suprised at how wonderful the hotel staff were. We were greeted on arrival with cold towels and a fruit juice while our room was being prepared. We had a pool access room (these are amazing and I would pay the extra again to stay in one, many of the people we met had just the deluxe room and they were disappointed. Our travel agent had let the hotel know we were on our honeymoon so our room was prepared with rose petals and a beautiful embossed note from the staff. The resort is up on the hill over Patong Centre so the ride up to it is a big scary, and by the end of our trip we were sick of the "toot toots" every time the driver went past the Statue of Bhudda. This resort also has many tour agencies come in and help you book your tours at 9am in the morning they are all stationed in the lobby (highly recommend this as we saw alot of the cheap tours in you book along Patong while we were out and were we had high powered speed boats and great equipment - the others had old crappy boats which took ages to get out to where you wanted to go and limited the stops for snorkelling etc) The swim up pool bar is amazing, the bar staff dont speak alot of English but thats all the fun of it.. They were all amazingly helpful. Restaurants were all fantastic, we chose to eat in our hotel as the prices were great and there were many selections and cuisines to choose from. Also they give you a "frequent eater" card so by the end of our holiday our meals were half price etc. We wished we got married here as the view was the best in Patong.

We went to the Spa on the last day before leaving and had a full Thai Massage which was amazing and helped with the knowledge of an 8 hour cramped flight home. Massages were about 1500 baht.

Im really suprised about the negative reviews, cant recommend this place highly enough, great for kids too.

Room Tip: Pool Access Rooms are the only way to go, but ask for the one furtherest away from the waterfall as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I am a travel agent and this was our honeymoon. We stayed at the Merlin for 8 nights. After much research and review reading, we opted for the Merlin, and we were definitely not disappointed! It was everything we had hoped for on this portion of the trip! The location is fantastic, a short tuk tuk/ taxi ride from the centre of Patong, and on it's own private beach, which looks stunning at sunset and first thing in the morning. The food was spectacular at every restaurant, we couldn't fault it. We ate at the resort nearly every lunch and dinner, did not get sick once, and the prices were ridiculously good. We loved our room, bed was a little hard, but we always came back to a little animal made out of hand towels and flowers on our bed, which was a lovely touch. The staff were amazing, in particular Niwat, who looked after us from the first afternoon at the pool bar, to our last meal in the main restaurant. I'm not sure if he understood every word we said, but he always had a big smile on his face, and greeted us with a massive welcome. The pool bar here rocks, much much better than some of the others we experienced there, and we made so many good friends that I'm sure we'll stay in touch with for many years. The only things that were lacking slightly were activities and entertainment, but with Patong a 5 minute drive away, there's no way you can complain. I have to admit it was nice to be able to escape the hustle and bustle at the Merlin, and we can't wait to go back! Thanks everyone :))

Room Tip: The Pool Access and the Beachfront Rooms are roughly the same price, so if you're tossing up bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

these people are the worst customer service I have ever come accross flys crawling all over there food I ate breakfast from there buffet 12 hrs later very ill I asked them to call a doctor they wanted to charge 4000 bht I had not eaten any where else I said check security cameras see if I left resort , all of a sudden the couldnt talk english they didnt understand the they where so rude i spent the rest of my holiday vomiting and on the toilet these people are a discrace to thai people that work in this resort I dont care about the money but some good customer service while I was sick would have been nice other families also had food poisoning I will be keeping my children right away from this resort all drinks over priced and food they over charge for internet
Koh samui was much better the resorts there are amazing and staff took care of us also even got a free mini bar free internet 5 star resort as well plenty of other resorts in phuket better than this place save your money people and if you do stay here make sure you dont eat there there are other great places to eat and very safe I will be back to phuket and next time I will stay in a resort the the GM is aussie like in koh samui my research found the food would have been contaminated with human waste that made me sick enjoy your stay at this lovely resort

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

If my wife and I had come to this resort first in our wedding/honeymoon trip, we prob would of enjoyed it a lot more, however, after coming from melati in Koh Samui - we were VERY disappointed!
The rooms were a lot smaller, staff not as friendly. Granted, the place was a lot bigger with bigger pools, but that probably contributes to its downfall. The place was clean and nice enough. You could not access the beach without hiking over rocks. As I said, we were spoilt at Melati and had expectations high. Yeh sure the staff say their usual 'hello' in Thai, but you havent experienced hospitality until you have stayed at Melati.

Room Tip: they are mostly all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and i stayed for 10 nights and it was way too long for this resort, the beds were uncomfortable, the buffet breakfast was average, the most annoying thing was how rude some people are, there are tongs provided for the food and some stupid people think its ok to take food with their hands, and have to say that most were Australian...maybe the resort should display signs on the use of utensils for taking food.
The other restaurants in the resort were mediocre, they say the coffee is the best in the world, we thought it was disgusting. Even though it has a private beach, it is useless because you cant swim in it as there are too many rocks and too dangerous. The only thing that saves this resort are SOME of the staff who were very kind and friendly. We even exchanged emails with one particular waitress, she was really sweet and helpful.
We would not stay in this resort again.

Room Tip: i would recommend staying closer to the restaurants and shops, so if you want to go for a walk,or if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Beach Resort

Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Patong
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#17 Family Hotel in Patong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Merlin Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Beach Resort is a deluxe and luxurious hotel, situated on its own secluded Tri-Trang Beach (3 km. from Patong Beach). Low-rise buildings sitting along the private beach amongst 12 acres of swaying coconut palms and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Merlin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Merlin Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.