We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Honeymoon Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merlin Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Merlin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Merlin Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Honeymoon Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here in April 2011 and I have to say it is one of the best resorts we have stayed at. We had a week in Singapore before coming here and we were so suprised at how wonderful the hotel staff were. We were greeted on arrival with cold towels and a fruit juice while our room was being prepared. We had a pool access room (these are amazing and I would pay the extra again to stay in one, many of the people we met had just the deluxe room and they were disappointed. Our travel agent had let the hotel know we were on our honeymoon so our room was prepared with rose petals and a beautiful embossed note from the staff. The resort is up on the hill over Patong Centre so the ride up to it is a big scary, and by the end of our trip we were sick of the "toot toots" every time the driver went past the Statue of Bhudda. This resort also has many tour agencies come in and help you book your tours at 9am in the morning they are all stationed in the lobby (highly recommend this as we saw alot of the cheap tours in you book along Patong while we were out and were we had high powered speed boats and great equipment - the others had old crappy boats which took ages to get out to where you wanted to go and limited the stops for snorkelling etc) The swim up pool bar is amazing, the bar staff dont speak alot of English but thats all the fun of it.. They were all amazingly helpful. Restaurants were all fantastic, we chose to eat in our hotel as the prices were great and there were many selections and cuisines to choose from. Also they give you a "frequent eater" card so by the end of our holiday our meals were half price etc. We wished we got married here as the view was the best in Patong.

We went to the Spa on the last day before leaving and had a full Thai Massage which was amazing and helped with the knowledge of an 8 hour cramped flight home. Massages were about 1500 baht.

Im really suprised about the negative reviews, cant recommend this place highly enough, great for kids too.

Room Tip: Pool Access Rooms are the only way to go, but ask for the one furtherest away from the waterfall as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    438
    180
    55
    32
See reviews for
469
580
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I am a travel agent and this was our honeymoon. We stayed at the Merlin for 8 nights. After much research and review reading, we opted for the Merlin, and we were definitely not disappointed! It was everything we had hoped for on this portion of the trip! The location is fantastic, a short tuk tuk/ taxi ride from the centre of Patong, and on it's own private beach, which looks stunning at sunset and first thing in the morning. The food was spectacular at every restaurant, we couldn't fault it. We ate at the resort nearly every lunch and dinner, did not get sick once, and the prices were ridiculously good. We loved our room, bed was a little hard, but we always came back to a little animal made out of hand towels and flowers on our bed, which was a lovely touch. The staff were amazing, in particular Niwat, who looked after us from the first afternoon at the pool bar, to our last meal in the main restaurant. I'm not sure if he understood every word we said, but he always had a big smile on his face, and greeted us with a massive welcome. The pool bar here rocks, much much better than some of the others we experienced there, and we made so many good friends that I'm sure we'll stay in touch with for many years. The only things that were lacking slightly were activities and entertainment, but with Patong a 5 minute drive away, there's no way you can complain. I have to admit it was nice to be able to escape the hustle and bustle at the Merlin, and we can't wait to go back! Thanks everyone :))

Room Tip: The Pool Access and the Beachfront Rooms are roughly the same price, so if you're tossing up bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

these people are the worst customer service I have ever come accross flys crawling all over there food I ate breakfast from there buffet 12 hrs later very ill I asked them to call a doctor they wanted to charge 4000 bht I had not eaten any where else I said check security cameras see if I left resort , all of a sudden the couldnt talk english they didnt understand the they where so rude i spent the rest of my holiday vomiting and on the toilet these people are a discrace to thai people that work in this resort I dont care about the money but some good customer service while I was sick would have been nice other families also had food poisoning I will be keeping my children right away from this resort all drinks over priced and food they over charge for internet
Koh samui was much better the resorts there are amazing and staff took care of us also even got a free mini bar free internet 5 star resort as well plenty of other resorts in phuket better than this place save your money people and if you do stay here make sure you dont eat there there are other great places to eat and very safe I will be back to phuket and next time I will stay in a resort the the GM is aussie like in koh samui my research found the food would have been contaminated with human waste that made me sick enjoy your stay at this lovely resort

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

If my wife and I had come to this resort first in our wedding/honeymoon trip, we prob would of enjoyed it a lot more, however, after coming from melati in Koh Samui - we were VERY disappointed!
The rooms were a lot smaller, staff not as friendly. Granted, the place was a lot bigger with bigger pools, but that probably contributes to its downfall. The place was clean and nice enough. You could not access the beach without hiking over rocks. As I said, we were spoilt at Melati and had expectations high. Yeh sure the staff say their usual 'hello' in Thai, but you havent experienced hospitality until you have stayed at Melati.

Room Tip: they are mostly all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and i stayed for 10 nights and it was way too long for this resort, the beds were uncomfortable, the buffet breakfast was average, the most annoying thing was how rude some people are, there are tongs provided for the food and some stupid people think its ok to take food with their hands, and have to say that most were Australian...maybe the resort should display signs on the use of utensils for taking food.
The other restaurants in the resort were mediocre, they say the coffee is the best in the world, we thought it was disgusting. Even though it has a private beach, it is useless because you cant swim in it as there are too many rocks and too dangerous. The only thing that saves this resort are SOME of the staff who were very kind and friendly. We even exchanged emails with one particular waitress, she was really sweet and helpful.
We would not stay in this resort again.

Room Tip: i would recommend staying closer to the restaurants and shops, so if you want to go for a walk,or if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Merlin Beach was great. We had some fantastic meals here. We stayed in a Deluxe Pool Access Room. It was awesome being able to jump straight from your balcony into the pool. The staff we beautiful and I LOVED the little towel animals they made each day for us. Only down side was that it was very family orientated. We were on our honeymoon and wanted to get away from kids and lay by the pool, this wasnt possible as there are kids everywhere. We should have stayed in Patong where we could walk home from the bars at 4am not have to woryy about tuk tuks. But I really cant fault this place as it is just a gorgeous gorgeous resort and set up so well. If you are after the nightlife of Phuket best avoid this resort but if you have young kids and love to lay by the pool this is the perfect place

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Just returned home after a totally great time at the merlin beach hotel,After 3 flights & nearly 24 hours travelling we arrived at the hotel in the middle of the afternoon, we were met at reception by the very polite staff who after greeting us in the usual thai way,sawasdee kha ( bowing with hands in the praying position) gave us ice cold flannels to cool our neck & face & a glass of fruit juice.We were taken to our room & shown all the amenities in the room by the porter, the rooms were furnished to a good comfortable standard & the bed had flower petals arranged on the bed in the shape of a heart, also the bath was half filled also with flowers in it, nice touch,whilst we were staying it was my 50th birthday & my wife & i celebrated our 26th wedding anniversarry, we arranged cards from our friends on the table & when we returned from sunbathing we were greeted by a home made chocolate selection on the table,the hotel was very clean & tidy & the staff were very hospitable & always responded well if you take the time to say a few words in thai like hello & thank you, not much but the y really appreciate it (believe me), the price of food & drink in the hotel were very reasonable, you can get a cocktail for about 190baht+ govt tax about a £5 good measures ,and at happy hour its half price,tuesday & saturday between 4-6pm around the pool bar its manic but great fun, also every night between6-8pm&10-11pm in the lobby lounge also half price, great value but only down side is the group who sing there every night CANT SING very well,another great reason to use the happy hour.on the beach you can get a very good massage for 250baht per hour just over £5-50 if you go to the good view massage shack ask for PIA who was very good & also treated my sunburnt back with fresh aloe vera plant & ice!!!!! very good, also if you care to walk up the steps to the LITTLE TIGER restaurant you will have a delightful meal, now on 1st appearance you might think its very basic & plain but you are in thailand & believe me the food is sensational + they give you 4 levels of spiceyness we had level 4 every time (thai spicey)brilliant every time drinks were good value a large bottle of singah was 150 baht £3-30,try it you wont regret it + great views, although outside of patong it only costs 250 baht £5-50 for ataxi in to town & same back in a tuk tuk, all in all a great hotel & we are going back next year,The only minus point & this may be because im an english lad who likes his full english, they have no HP BROWN SAUCE!!!!!!! so if anyone from the hotel management reads this it might be just a little thing but get some HP please, cheers

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Beach Resort

Address: 99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#14 Spa Hotel in Patong
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#17 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Merlin Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Beach Resort is a deluxe and luxurious hotel, situated on its own secluded Tri-Trang Beach (3 km. from Patong Beach). Low-rise buildings sitting along the private beach amongst 12 acres of swaying coconut palms and tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Merlin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Beach Hotel Patong
Merlin Beach Resort Phuket
Hotel Merlin Beach
Beach Merlin Resort
Beach Merlin Phuket Resort
Merlin Beach Phuket
Merlin Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.