We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 278 Hotels in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,441 Reviews
Delhi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

The hotel is located on the Patong Beachfront in the middle of all the action. It is large enough for you to feel like you are in an "exclusive" resort inside the hotel and you are just a short walk away from all the Patong entertainment.

The breakfast buffet was nice, i could not fault the rooms, the swimming pool was a little busy with a lot of kids but all in all a reasonably priced option to stay in the middle of Patong.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,564
    646
    158
    49
    24
See reviews for
887
864
87
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I would definitely not say that this property is value for money.I paid USD 250 in this peak season of December during Christmas and the rooms in main wing are very basic - nothing special - rooms need major renovation.

No welcome drink - breakfast very standard - overall not value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

The Good:
The ambience, decor, service, staff, cleanliness were great. Location was not too bad, all we had to do was to dump our clothes on the deck chairs at the hotel swimming pool and cross the road to the beach, saving us the rental fees for the deck chairs at the beach itself. The main entertainment area, Bangla Road, is 15 mins walk away. There are many good restaurants nearby. If you are looking for good Thai Food, there's this restaurant named 'Banana Leaf' (if I'm not wrong) just around the corner that serves excellent green curry! The Hard Rock Cafe and Burasari Spa is also next door to the hotel, and just next to them is a decent supermarket and a pharmacy. Don't take up the Island tour packages from the hotel reception, they are obscenely expensive. Walk to Bangla Road area and book from those small stalls, they are half the price offered by the hotel.

The Bad:
My partner and I both suffered food poisoning on our 2nd last day, which we think was caused by the morning breakfast served at the hotel. The breakfast spread was rather impressive actually, but I think we just mixed too much at one go. [--] happens.

The Supernatural?:
Our first night spooked us out. The wooden furniture and bedding frame crackled often on its own after we turned out the lights (probably due to expansion and contraction).
The shower started trickling water on its own in the middle of the night (probably due to the low pressure caused by the suction vent in the bathroom sucking out residual water left in the shower head)
My partner claimed there was someone knocking on her bed frame at 3.30am in the morning (.....now that I can't explain!)
Our 2nd night onwards was ok.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapeeporn, Executive Assistant Manager i/c of Food & Beverage at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
Dear sirs/ madam,

thank you very much for your feedback. Food poisoning is common in Phuket and we are very sorry that you had to experience it. To re - assure you we take food hygiene very serious and we are working with a food safety company and have been certified for 3 years running with high standards. In addition we get checked weekly by the Patong Hospital to ensure the maximum level of hygiene. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Resort Phuket and looking forward to having you as our guest in the future.

With best regards
Matthias Jaeckel
Executive Assistant Manager i/c of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

The hotel has two wings, pick the new one! Its private and has better facilities. The room opened directly to the pool. Service was good. Food was reasonably ok. Loved the desserts though.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Patong area
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Holiday Inn Patong for one night. It has excellent location near the busy street for night life and the other end of the hotel leads to the Patong busy beach.
The hotel rooms, swimming pool, cafes, restaurants, beach, lobby, gardens, and the whole atmosphere are excellent. The rooms, sheets and towels are clean. The swimming pool is nice with area for children. The beach is just cross the street from the hotel. I saw many people swimming, others with jet skies, and other taking other water games. Check in and checkout are very smooth and fast. The breakfast is very good.
In summary, the hotel is a 4.5 star resort, I recommend it for families as well as couples who like to enjoy very busy Patong Beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Nothing much to say. Everything was almost perfect during our stay at the Holiday Inn. Attentive & friendly staff, clean room, efficient room service, ideal location, anything you could ask for.
I would highly recommend this hotel for family with young children. My daughter loved the Kid's Club so much. Activities for children are well-planned.
In a nutshell, look no further. Stay at Holiday Inn whenever you come to Phuket. You won't regret it. Guaranteed!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009 via mobile

I loved everything about this place. Not a bad word to say!!!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Address: 52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#3 Family Hotel in Patong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Patong’s best choice for Everyday Travelers”Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, perfectly located in the heart of Patong, Phuket’s most famous beach. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is an oasis in the middle of Patong and is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life and just steps away from the beach. 10 minutes away from Jungeceylon shopping center, Soi Bangla Nightlife, and Patong beach is just across the road.High speed internet is provided FREE of charge for hotels guests.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is part of the world’s most recognized upper mid-scale brands, and it offers a fantastic choice with seven different room categories, separated in two distinctive wings. The contemporary-designed main wing is popular for its kids and family-friendly rooms and facilities. The resort is honored as a top 10 Family Resort in Asia by Tripadvisor. The Luxury Busakorn wing with Thai design offers spacious rooms with pool view or pool access in a tranquil pool and tropical garden environment appreciated by couples seeking a more intimate resort experience.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is well-known for its excellent breakfast buffet and great value cuisine in the resort’s 4 restaurants. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket provides daily guest activities and dedicated kids facilities. A refreshing spa and several pools in tropical gardens give choices to relax or be active.At the heart of Patong, Holiday Inn Resort Phuket offers guests a warm Thai welcome, friendly service and total ease, simply Patong’s best Choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Holiday Inn Phuket
Holiday Inn Patong
Patong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.