We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on south end of strip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 283 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location on south end of strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Reading prior reviews, I felt that I was going to need to take a taxi or tuk-tuk to get into town from this resort - not hardly. It remains along the main drag and steps to the crazy nightlife and commercialism that is Patong.

The hotel lobby of the "adult" focused section of the hotel is very warm and inviting. Beautiful courtyard/pool area, very relaxing. Our room was spacious and overlooked the pool. Staff was very pleasant. Everything was within easy walking distance. Overall, great relaxing stay and I do recommend this property.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,631
    683
    171
    50
    26
See reviews for
915
913
89
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Really good hotel or resort. Amazing breakfast (although pricey, but worth it). Clean pool. Friendly staff. The only complains I have are;
1. The two lifts were very slow and really needed a clean
2. The staff did not tell us about the fitness centre during the checkin process
3. The wifi kept disconnecting and we had to re-authenticate all the time
The good
1. Location
2. Clean
3. Excellent sleep quality
4. Good value for money

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Came back here again had such a wonderful time here last year and can't fault it it's is brilliant. The staff are so friendly and so are the management they can't do enough for you. It is 1st class all the way. It is like paradise you won't be disappointed if you came here.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear "Steve E"

Thank you for your very kind review and it is wonderful to note that you have so enjoyed your stay in the resort, as well as our restaurants! I am very pleased that you have received such good service in every area and we hope you will have the opportunity to travel and stay with us again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan.layberry@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I recently stayed here with family (15 in total) for 3 nights. This is the perfect resort for those with children. Check in was LONG and the staff seemed a little confused as we had 5 rooms booked (3 with same last names). Not sure why confusing, but after an hour drive from airport I would have expected more efficiency.
My husband and I stayed in the Busakorn wing. Nice, well appointed room with small balcony overlooking the swimming pools and swim up bar. If it was just the 2 of us in honesty would never have chosen the holiday inn but we went because of the family. The kids had the crazy kid suites which were fabulous! Turtle beds, pirates...you name it, they had it. Wifi, xbox, toys...even a peep hole halfway down the door. DIY laundry, health clinic...this hotel was made for families.
Kids pool and club was amazing. Beach is across the street. The breakfast was really good. Service at pool was really lacking as very few people actually working out there.
Bar had great service as did the italian.
Overall...great for families...for a quiet couple break..not so much.

Room Tip: Busakorn wing for couples.. Family suites for those with young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear "Thehiprocks"

Thank you for sharing your review and it is good to note that, overall, you and your party have enjoyed your stay. I am very sorry that there was some confusion at check-in (especially after such a long journey) and I have already brought this to the attention of our Front Office Manager to see where further improvements may be made. It is great to note that your family has really appreciated the excellent kids facilities and your further feedback with regards the great breakfast, the Bar and our Italian restaurant Terrazzo is very well received, thank you. Please do stay in touch when you are planning your next visit and let us know how we can assist!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan.layberry@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights with two kids we loved the pools main pool and kids pool. Kids liked going to activities at kids club. Breakfast buffet was very tasty and so many choices. Would like to thank one staff member Aunwat always smiling and making our stay very comfortable my kids loved being greeted by him at breakfast. Only one negative double beds to small.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear "Louise C"

Thank you for sharing your review and I am very happy to read that you and your family have so enjoyed your stay. Your feedback with regards the excellent kid's facilities and the breakfast buffet experience is very greatly appreciated, thank you, and I will be sure to share your praise with my colleague Aunwat on the excellent service he has delivered. We do hope to see you all back again soon for another memorable stay!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan.layberry@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent 1week in the Holiday inn Resort during March 2015. let me give you the goods and bads:
GOOD's
1- Excellent location, 1 minute from the beach, and 7 minutes walk to Patong walking street
2- Rooms: clean, tidy, ok looking, well maintained, good shower, clean towels, very good house keeping
3- Swimming pools: 3 pools with different needs, so perfect if you with kids, couple, ect..
4- Beach: the beach in front of the hotel is very nice, and busy. the main highlight of this beach is the Beach boy ( ask for DJ, thats his name. an amazing little guy who is there all day serving you with drinks and making sure you are always under the shade with umbrella adjustments) please pay him a tip, its small but really makes him happy :)

BAD's:
Nothing really major if I'm honest, but here is what i think
1- Food: I found food in the hotel really below average and pricy. I tried the main resturant Breeze, the 24 hours resturant, and the Thai resturant, even the lounge ,, all those nothing special... I heard good reviews about the steak house but I was not in Thailand to eat Steak so please exclude that
2- WIFI: don't take a room that is in the corner, the wifi doesn't work there, we had to change my friend room because of that.

Summary:
I surely recommend the hotel, very nice place with excellent staff, all happy and smiling all the time... just don't eat there :)
Good luck

Room Tip: Not a corner room, read my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear "Hussain G"

Thank you for sharing your very detailed review and I am pleased that, overall, you have enjoyed your stay. Your comments with regards the convenient location, the cleanliness of the guest rooms and the great pool facilities are very much appreciated, thank you. I am sorry that you have not enjoyed dining in any of our 4 restaurants, and I would be very grateful to receive some additional feedback and details if you have time - my email address is morgan.layberry@ihg.com

In the meantime, I do hope you have the opportunity to travel and stay with us again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan.layberry@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronderslev, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We just came back from a 3 week stay,at this AMAZING hotel,and we have already send a letter to general manager Wolfgang Meusburger,so he knows what we think ot this hotel.
We would like to send our thanks,for the letter and champagne,you send us after the letter.
First of all,this is BY FARE the best hotel in the Patong area,regarding food and service,and trust us we stayed at a lot off the fine ones,and no one even come close.
We stayed here first time 3 years ago,and to be honest we have read alot about how the service had dropped,after Mr Meusburger left.
never the less we booked for another 3 weeks,and was VERY surprissed,when we heard Mr Meusburger was back in charged.
All the staff,we talked to was happy to have him back,and let us say,if the service have been dropped before,it BACK now,he and the staff ALL OF THEM know how to make peopel smile and have a good time.
The maid.is doing a amazing job,and they are not use to peopel staying there for 3 weeks,so we became almost like family.
Because one of us was pretty sick ALL the staff was trying to help every day,now thats service,and the also send a get well soon card abd flowers THANK YOU ALL.
We could go on and on,but all we can say is TRY THIS HOTEL and you will never going elsewhere,if you have to stay in Patong, TRUST US.
We stayed in the busakorn wing,and we know the rooms are in a need of a upgrade,however they are clean and the wing have an amazing poolarea,so thats ok.
Now why only 4 and not 5 stars.
2 BIG problems according to us.
First of all,and dont get us wrong were NOT racist,but there are a lot of chinese peopel staying her,and my good THEY ARE LOUD.
At the pool they have all the things you can by for kids,floting arund,they dont talk they scream to eachother,and when tehy come back at night,they wake everybody at the hotel.
Somebody should tell them to relax,and respekt other guest.
Second problem,is at the pool,when you stat at busakorn wing,the pool area are JUST for busarkorn wings guest,however,peopel from the middeleast,and chinese fro the main wing,came EVERY day read or looked at the sign saying the couldent stay here,but dident give a s....they just lay at the sunbeds like it was normal.
How do we know that.
Well the towels are blue in main wing and brown or green in busakorn wing.and the ALL have the blue towels.and we ask the poolboys why they didnt say no to them,and the answer was.....we dont dare to,,,,,, come on thats not ok.so if we want to go in area that belong to the villas,was that ok too.......NO COME ON DO SOMETHING ABOUT THAT.
However all in all a perfekt stay again.
ALL THE BEST
Yours sincerly
Peter and Lone
Denmark.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear "Lone K"

Thank you for taking the time to share your very detailed review and I am very pleased to note that, overall, you have enjoyed another relaxing stay with us in our beautiful Busakorn Wing. I am delighted to read that you have found the service to be of such a high standard throughout the resort and that you have been more than satisfied with the dining options within the resort.

Your feedback on the behaviors of different nationalities is well received, thank you, and as the mix of business in Patong becomes ever more varied, we must learn, but we must also educate all of our guests to better understand, respect and accept each other to allow everyone to have the best holiday experience possible.

We are aware that certain guests do not always follow the rules with regards use of the different swimming pools in the resort and you will be pleased to know that we have recently implemented some changes to our poolside supervision to better manage this concern, with some immediately positive results.

We are looking forward to seeing you back again at the resort soon - please do stay in touch and let us know how we can assist!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan.layberry@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Address: 52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 Spa Hotel in Patong
#3 Family Hotel in Patong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Patong’s best choice for Everyday Travelers”Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, perfectly located in the heart of Patong, Phuket’s most famous beach. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is an oasis in the middle of Patong and is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life and just steps away from the beach. 10 minutes away from Jungeceylon shopping center, Soi Bangla Nightlife, and Patong beach is just across the road.High speed internet is provided FREE of charge for hotels guests.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is part of the world’s most recognized upper mid-scale brands, and it offers a fantastic choice with seven different room categories, separated in two distinctive wings. The contemporary-designed main wing is popular for its kids and family-friendly rooms and facilities. The resort is honored as a top 10 Family Resort in Asia by Tripadvisor. The Luxury Busakorn wing with Thai design offers spacious rooms with pool view or pool access in a tranquil pool and tropical garden environment appreciated by couples seeking a more intimate resort experience.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is well-known for its excellent breakfast buffet and great value cuisine in the resort’s 4 restaurants. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket provides daily guest activities and dedicated kids facilities. A refreshing spa and several pools in tropical gardens give choices to relax or be active.At the heart of Patong, Holiday Inn Resort Phuket offers guests a warm Thai welcome, friendly service and total ease, simply Patong’s best Choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Holiday Inn Phuket
Holiday Inn Patong
Patong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.