We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic property for family beachside holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 278 Hotels in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,443 Reviews
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Fantastic property for family beachside holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Taking kids to Phuket for the first time meant being close to whatever we needed whenever we needed it and not too close to that "other" side of Phuket.

The Holiday Inn was the perfect choice.

The property is on the main beachfront road making it simple to just walk across the road to the beach. 24 x 7 security at the gate made it so much more comfortable.

The property itself is lovely. Lots of open air and space for sitting by the pool, in the garden courtyard, in the bar (seafront of lobby area) and a great choice of restaurants.

Being beach people we didnt use the pool but saw lots of others doing so, being low season it certainly was not crowded.

The rooms are excellent. Good aircon is essential anywhere in Southeast Asia and the aircon in the rooms was perfect. Beds were so comfortable it was hard to get out of them in the morning for the obligatory beach walk, but we made the sacrifice. Bathroom is well equipped with plenty of hot water, amenities and towels. Each room has its own balcony but not recommended after dusk due to the crazy mosquitoes. Internet worked perfectly (and on the beach too!)

Perhaps the best feature though of this hotel is the staff. From the security guys at the gates to reception to the restaurant staff and housekeeping, they were all incredibly friendly and attentive to our needs. Cant speak highly enough of them.

Oh and the Holiday Inn has an onsite nurse, amazingly we had to use these services twice in our stay and on both occasions the advice and treatment given was excellent. Top marks for this.

We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel (not in the main building) are probably the quietest, I can see why...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear "Aegisint"

Thank you for your "fantastic" review and I am delighted that you and your family have enjoyed your first visit to Patong. Your feedback on the comfort of the guest rooms and the convenient location of the resort and is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share your very positive comments on the high standard of service you have experienced with the team. We hope you will have the chance to travel and stay with us again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,566
    646
    158
    49
    24
See reviews for
887
866
87
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A fantastic hotel and resort - and not just by Thai standards. The rooms were arguably the best part - spacious, modern and comfortable. The pool area was great, with enough room for kids to run around, while also plenty of room to tan. Breakfast was brilliant - plenty of variety.

Location was good, right on the beach, close enough to essential shops and markets, and probably about an 8 to 10 minute walk to Bangla rd. There are plenty of taxis waiting outside.

We did find it strange that the hotel kind of had two hotels in the one. There is a whole other side of the hotel with a different pool area - and I believe you need to upgrade to stay there. A little strange, and had we known, we probably would have upgraded!

Prices inside the hotel for massages and spa etc. are on par with what you'd expect in AU/USA etc. however just outside you can find massaged for under AU$10.

We'd definitely stay here again, it's worth the price for the professionalism of an international hotel brand.

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel area with the nicer pool (the one with the elephant statues!). The sun beds are mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear "MarcMenz"

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and I am really pleased that, overall, you have so enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments with regards the comfortable appointment of the guest rooms, the convenient location and the excellent breakfast are all gratefully received and I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Please stay in touch with us directly when you are planning your next trip and we will be very happy to advise on the best possible accommodation options for you.

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Busakorn wing, room 1313 for the third time and as usual it was excellent. A great hotel in a great location. Our daughter absolutely loves the kids club facilities and especially the staff who are truly wonderful. They found out it was her birthday and they organised a party which was really appreciated. Great hotel, facilities and staff. The only place to stay in Patong!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear "Gadabout08"

Thank you for sharing your review and it is great to note that you and your family have enjoyed another great stay with us! Your feedback with regards the high standard of the accommodation in the Busakorn Wing, the excellent Kid's Club and the service from the team throughout the resort is very much appreciated. I am especially pleased that your daughter's birthday has been well recognized and celebrated and we look forward to seeing you all back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a family suite (278), the kids loved their pirate themed bedroom and we loved the spaciousness and cleanliness of our adjoining room. (I have read previous reviews aboutnoise and thin walls ......have to say iI am baffled as this was not an issue at all). It was our first trip to Phuket and our first stay in a Holiday inn - the hotel was fantastic from check in to check out - the staff were very professional and obliging - the hotel and pools very clean and well maintained - the restaurants good value and range. The focus on kids, from the kids club to kids corner in the main restaurant was great........first time that our kids have wanted to attend a kids club!
The location is pretty good, about 45mins from airport, but central for other sites.
We met so many people around the pool that had been coming back for years - surely a testament to the quality and service that staff and hotel provide. We will also be back, but there is a big world that needs exploring.......
Keep doing what you are doing because you do it very well Holiday Inn

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear "TuckMe"

Thank you for sharing your "fantastic" review and for the great detail provided. Yes, we are definitely family focused, and it is great to note that you have really felt and appreciated this throughout the resort. All of your comments on the resort facilities, the excellent Kid's Suite rooms and the service from the team in every area of the resort are very well received and we look forward to welcoming you all back on your next trip to Phuket!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Holiday inn is a great place to stay single or family. The staff are friendly and rooms well kept and very clean. Food is very nice and served quite quick around the pool. Please be aware of the foreigners near the hotel trying to scam you into to an hour and a half hard sell on time share/ cheap holidays. they scratch a card and tell you that you have won a prize and take you to collect the prize. They are very rude when you decline their package. people conducting surveys are also trying to get you. by ringing your hotel the next day and telling you that you have won a trip or some other prize you just need to go a breakfast or lunch to collect it. Stay away from these people!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear "Mickm65"

Thank you for your review and your helpful feedback for other (future) guests. I am pleased that you have had a great stay overall and that you have been able to enjoy and make good use of all of the resort facilities. We do provide a cautionary note in all of our guest rooms advising our guests to steer clear of the time-share touts in and around Patong. There are not many, but you are correct in noting that they can be rude and overly determined and we continue to recommend to all of our guests that, unless they have a genuine interest in signing up for a time share scheme, they should avoid them and not give out personal information. I do hope that this experience has not been too stressful and we hope to see you back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Thank you again to all the staff that made our stay enjoyable as always.
We always stay at the Busakorn Wing in a ground floor Studio room with pool view and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. From the cleanliness of the rooms, excellent pool service and cocktail party, great staff, superb breakfast, dinner at Sam's Steakhouse and the list goes on, this hotel from our point of view can not be faulted. We will definitely be back as always.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear "Marco P"

Thank you for sharing your review and I am very happy to read that you and your family have enjoyed another memorable holiday. Your feedback of the very high standards you have experienced in every aspect of your stay is very much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you all back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We found the Holiday Inn Resort to be by far the best of a number of higher end hotels we stayed in during our holiday in Thailand. The kids loved the breakfast, the rooms were modern, staff friendly and best of all the free hotel wifi was accessible from the adjacent beach! The rooms are virtually soundproof, something we didn't appreciate until we stayed at other hotels later in the holiday. Only minor issue I could think of was the tiny gym, for such a large resort it was small and poorly set out however this won't matter to most people. Excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Patong Beach side, close to breakfast and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
layberry, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear "Pete L"

Thank you for sharing this very kind and positive review. It is great to note that you and your family have really enjoyed all of the resort facilities and have found the service from the staff to be of such a high standard throughout. Your feedback with regards the size of the gym is very well received and, in fact, is currently a topic of discussion for future improvement and development. We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon!

Morgan Layberry
Executive Assistant Manager
morgan@holidayinn-phuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phuket

Address: 52 Thaweewong Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Business Hotel in Patong
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#3 Family Hotel in Patong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Patong’s best choice for Everyday Travelers”Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, perfectly located in the heart of Patong, Phuket’s most famous beach. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is an oasis in the middle of Patong and is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and night life and just steps away from the beach. 10 minutes away from Jungeceylon shopping center, Soi Bangla Nightlife, and Patong beach is just across the road.High speed internet is provided FREE of charge for hotels guests.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is part of the world’s most recognized upper mid-scale brands, and it offers a fantastic choice with seven different room categories, separated in two distinctive wings. The contemporary-designed main wing is popular for its kids and family-friendly rooms and facilities. The resort is honored as a top 10 Family Resort in Asia by Tripadvisor. The Luxury Busakorn wing with Thai design offers spacious rooms with pool view or pool access in a tranquil pool and tropical garden environment appreciated by couples seeking a more intimate resort experience.Holiday Inn Resort Phuket is well-known for its excellent breakfast buffet and great value cuisine in the resort’s 4 restaurants. Holiday Inn Resort Phuket provides daily guest activities and dedicated kids facilities. A refreshing spa and several pools in tropical gardens give choices to relax or be active.At the heart of Patong, Holiday Inn Resort Phuket offers guests a warm Thai welcome, friendly service and total ease, simply Patong’s best Choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Hotel Patong
Holiday Inn Phuket
Holiday Inn Patong
Patong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.