We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised! Great food. Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lair Lay Tong

Lair Lay Tong
Soi Dr Wattana, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 076-341140, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 368 Restaurants in Patong
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised! Great food. Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

You may feel unsure by its unassuming appearance and its quiet location tucked away at the end of the alley. Once you there however, Lek (?) the owner will make you feel very welcome. The food is great-tasting, traditional Thai and it's excellent value for money. Definitely recommend it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    49
    19
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Lair lay tong is by far the best place for fresh authentic Thai food, very reasonably priced (80-150 baht per dish) and extremely friendly staff. Menu has a huge range of meals, and drinks including my favourite freshly squeezed juice!

Me and my boyfriend ate here every day while in Patong! By far our favourite place, I recommend for anyone who travels to Patong to try a meal at Lair Lay Tong! :)

Will be coming back here for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Come here for genuine Thai food at very good prices. Something different from the usual tourist restaurants. Its right down at the bottom of the road past the Orchids and the Sea Hagg

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely service and quiet...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very nice food, traditional Thai and a hard to beat price. We had Tom Yum Goong and Tom Kha and they were fantastic. You can tell its a good one when locals are regularly in and out taking food away. Definitely visit again, it's quiet and very clean and comfortable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Incredible food at really reasonable prices. I imagine this is what proper Thai home cooking would taste like. It's run by a really sweet lady and it feels like your visiting a friend's house for dinner.

Language might be an issue, but they are very well organised and have an album with pictures of food in their menu. So it's really easy to order.

We went back twice in the same day and would have returned again if we had more time in Phuket.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lair Lay Tong also viewed

 

Been to Lair Lay Tong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lair Lay Tong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.