We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Patong Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Patong Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Taweewongse Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 260 hotels in Patong
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly Located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My first stay at Patong Beach Hotel. We were six ladies. The renovations can be disturbing if your room is above or very close to the area. Do not allow that to put you off.
The rooms are clean, the staff at all times friendly and helpful.
The location is excellent. You're walking distance from the markets, the shopping centre, the beach and the famous Bangla road.
I've been to diff Hotels in Patong and find that Patong Beach Hotel is really worth the visit. I will definetily book there again.
Go to different beaches in Phuket. Kata beach for swimming and water fun!
Surin beach for a sunset drink and dinner.
The Natural Restaurant in Phuket town - excellent food and such an amazing place.
The Orchid restaurant in Patong, close to the Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    245
    105
    30
    31
See reviews for
106
218
52
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

8 ladies traveling together asked for rooms interconnecting and side by side instead only 2 rooms were side by side the other was a different level and across the yard! They had builders extending the balcony right outside our balcony on the level below all day..Breakfast was great.. But service around the pool wasn't. Took a good while to get service and we were tipping! Plan tours because you can only shop so much that the saying "same same but different" where's off. Wish I had investigated what to do in Phuket and wish I stayed in Bangkok longer than 2 nights. The hotel is in a great position and everyone was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Back again from a quite 12 days in Patong (01/09/2013) as usual The Patong Beach Hotel was up to , if not better standards and the staff superb. Quite a lot of maintenance ( some long overdue but probably prioritised) behind the scenes and finishing off general refurbishments. Greated and treated the same - exceptional. Don't forget it was the low season - wouldn't have thought some times. A few traders closed but nowhere near as many as earlier low seasons.
For those with children who find Thai Food a difference there are now a lot of Western style eateries on a price compared with and in a lot of instances cheaper than home and standard of hygiene great - imagine in Australia a Kentucky Fried Chicken Store with someone opening the door for you. Found the new Sizzlers in Banana Walk Complex over rated and expensive - unless u are flush not cheap for a family but much the same as in Aussie using the old popular cheaper qualty food to go upmarket. An old saying, when in Rome do as the Romans do. Realise not all families like Thai Food or too spicey or something, especially the little ones when sick of Burgers,Subway Chicken treat them to a Food cart - Crepes, Corn on the cob , drinks etc really cheap and the 7 11s have now started stocking light foods. Plenty of Restaurants and u can get a brochure from the Patong Development office near Jaycelon with menus ,locations and approx prices. Don't be fooled from the outside appearances (now improving a lot) great food ,good price inside and vice versa with the bigger Restaurants smalller helpings bigger price - pay for name. Staff in smaller eateries more friendlier.
Back to Banana Walk very attractive (owned br Patong Beach Hotel Group but leased out) so u can't charge anything to your room. Still one of our favourites,Banana Bar. Part of the Patong Beach Hotel, great food. tremendous staff ,great band, bit old for upstairs disco but young ones reports are great. Straight out the front of Hotel opposite new complex. This can be charged.
Yeh, Bangla Road still the name tied to Patong Beach but after a few visits,like anything else, seen once or twice becomes a been there and done that. But to get further back from beach for shopping eating etc we always seem to end up going Bangla Rd even though there are plenty of other ways. For the young and young at heart plenty of nite life.
Word of warning, check yout Travel Insurance especially for travel, motor cycle use,para sailing and jet ski's etc. Seen some poor unsuspcting visitors from Europe and Australia also thinking the Insurance they have is suffice (especially from some Travel Agency packages).
Anyhow go and enjoy - and as we always say - We are guest in their country treat them the way u want to be treated as you'll be overwhelmed.
RickH - Bunbaberg

Room Tip: Just ask and play a little dumb - like "I thought that was not the room we were shown" esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visited Phuket again for the second time. Stayed at Patong Beach Hotel. Lovely comfortable hotel with a great pool. Try the onsite Royal Spa, facial and massage. Absolutely devine. This was our second time at Patong Beach Hotel. We found it just as nice as the first time. I paid around $100 Aus to have a full body massage and facial. Came out feeling beautifully refreshed. Try the Papaya Thai Village restaurant. You walk up steps into a gazebo that overlooks the resort. In the evenings with the lights on the pool it looks fabulous.

Room Tip: Stay in the Sunrise Wing in one of the rooms overlooking the pool. The first visit to Phuket was ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and have always enjoyed my time there. My parents came with me this time. The rooms were great and they were exactly what we requested. However the smell around them is disgusting..like raw sewerage. At one of the entrances to our room...there was a pool filter left laying around. ( A spare perhaps? but not in use) My Mother actually tripped over the wheel sticking out and had a bad fall including breaking her collar bone. The staff were absolutely brilliant in helping her and I have nothing but praise for them. I spoke to the manager and showed her where the filter was and how it was a hazard etc...I also spoke to her about the disgusting smell. She wrote things down...but nothing changed for the rest of our stay. This manger is new to the hotel and to me is very inexperienced and not very people friendly. The food was beautiful. The breakfasts were amazing however not once were my parents able to get a good hot cup of tea...they were always just luke warm....each time they asked for hot...they were told that it was broken nothing could be done...very trivial I know..but we paid good money for these rooms.The weather was atrocious...not the hotels fault I know..but having a bad experience in bad weather made it all seem worse. The sewerage out the front was overflowing which made the smell worse. I wrote them an email to express my concerns when I got back...all they said was next time you come we will give you a free upgrade? I dont think so...wont be staying there again. If im going to pay good money for a hotel ...I want...a good hotel which has more professional and people friendly management.Must be the only tourist hotel that doesnt offer free wifi..very expensive to buy and not very reliable.

Room Tip: if you do choose to stay here.Go for one in the tower so you dont have to put up with the disgusting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 7 night in this hotel last November.
It is very well located with an average service and average food.
We received an old room in a wing which has not been refurbished recently. As the room was on the 2nd floor, the view over the beach was blocked by lots of trees.
The cleanliness is not their strongest side, but it was just okay for us.
The unbrella placed in room was a nice touch on rainy nights.
All in all, it was a good holiday - due to the excursions we made - but we would not stay here again next time travelling to Phuket/Patong.

Room Tip: Request rooms in the wing recently refurbished - with possible view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in this hotel in August.
The pros:
- Very good location - just opposite to the beach, 3 mins walk to Bangla Road, Jungceylon
- Good room view in Sunset Wing - High floors
- Very good pool
- Average Service

The cons:
- To top the list is the bathroom design! The washbasin sucks as there is no space between the basin and the tap! The bathtub does not have a hand shower and the bathroom is overall very small
- The room is small too.. Guess 38 sqm is including the balcony!
- Though the Sunset wing view has ocean view, it is partial as there are many trees that block the view. We were on 7th floor. the hotel has 10 floors
- Breakfast was average.. Same dishes everyday with a bit of variation
- Bell boys are more friendly than the reception staff

Holiday Inn or other similar hotel would be a smart choice with same amount you'd spend!

Room Tip: If you are going for Sea view room, choose Sunset wing but the 9th or 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Patong Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Patong
Nh Hotel Patong
Patong Beach
Patong Beach Phuket
Patong Beach Hotel Phuket
Address: 124 Taweewongse Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#23 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#50 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Beach Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Patong Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.