We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location BUT damn expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Patong Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Patong Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Taweewongse Road | Patong Beach, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location BUT damn expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel is located central to everything. walkable distance to Night life, Shopping, Beach, Restaurants, Bars, etc.Very Friendly and polite staff during day time.

Night time reception guy need to be more customer service oriented and learn to be more polite and friendly towards hotel patrons.

Breakfast was great. lots of varieties. Best to book it with included while you book the room or else it costs you the same price as another room elsewhere :)

Don't touch Mini bar.

A guest visiting you even during day time is not allowed unless you pay extra 1500 bhat (cost of another room) which is ridiculous.

Make sure to ask for a higher floor room while booking as the views are great (ocean and city)

Overall - centrally located, clean, comfortable and safe hotel to stay. Staff are very friendly minus the night reception guy.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have excellent view of city and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    304
    113
    32
    32
See reviews for
134
281
63
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nites and booked via the internet at a price we thought was great. However , once we arrived, we were charged for Bht 1,500/nite for an additional foldable bed, almost the same price I paid for a room !.....ridiculously expensive. Better to have it all paid when making reservation than to do it at the hotel.The front desk persons were very rude and no tact at all...."you take it or go somewhere" attitude. The room is small but clean. Have a funny , separate toilet from the bath...Aircon take awhile to work and mosquitos everywhere and most of the staff not friendly....poor sound insulation, nosiy. You just dont feel comfortable. Everything cost money there.
Location is good, nearby to eating places,entertainment and shopping. Besides that, nothing good....will not return.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have good view of the sea and possibly less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed during July for 9 nights. Great location - short walk to wherever you want to go, beach just across the street. Neat and clean. Upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi on the balcony - worth the money. Staff friendly. Nice buffet breakfast. Service around the pool area can be better. Mini bar in room, food and drink and spa prices a bit pricey. Charging for wifi! Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If possible, upgrade tot room with jacuzzi!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here and liked that I was right across the street from the beach and so close to all the action.
Everything is expensive though. Wifi is extra and the food and drinks are overpriced.
Service is good but not exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed with other two friend here in June for seventeen nights ( was our third time) in the sunset wing which is in the main building on the top floor. This was great as there was a good view of the pool and also of the beach. I thought it is a great hotel in the perfect location. Very close from Bangla Road and close to the nightlife. The rooms were newly renovated and looked lovely.
Great diverse breakfast, clean room and sheets changed daily, very good night security night staff, nice spa, good service from staff.
The only downside is they Charging for WiFi.
But definitely we will stay here if I traveled to Patong again next year.
Juan Carlos
Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: Ask for the sun set rooms fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 9 nights in the sunset wing which is in the main building on the top floor. This was great as there was a good view of the pool and also of the beach. The pool was really big and they even had pool toys for everyone to use when they were in there. The breakfast was good with lots of choices from curries to corn flakes.

There was one problem we did find which was the first two nights we stayed we found that when the cleaners had been in the room the safe was unlocked every time. We looked at the safe closely and found that they could put a card in to overthrow the code put into the safe and open it that way. We had seen that some people had their money and belongings stolen while staying at the hotel so we put all our belongings in our suitcases and locked them whenever we went out which worked better than a safe, i did have a feeling that if there had been money or belongings in the safe they may have been taken. The other alarming thing was in all the booklets and signs in the room it said that it wasn't the hotels responsibility if anything went missing. We really didn't feel it was worth taking our chances.

Overall the hotel was really great, the staff were very friendly and helpful, room service was also good and quite prompt.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room as they have a great sea view - sunset wings are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel has a pleasing exterior, with lovely pool areas and restaurant with sea views.
Rooms were clean and comfortable and bottled water was provided each day. The mini-bar is pricey, especially when the 7-11 is just down the road.
Location is at the end of the beach, so you do need to walk a bit into town or sun loungers on the beach.
We preferred to use the pool at the hotel, as the beach was quite dirty and the water seemed a bit polluted sadly. There are a lot of jet-skis and speedboats located here, so there is constant activity on the sea. It can get a little chaotic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view - worth the bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Patong Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Beach Hotel

Address: 124 Taweewongse Road | Patong Beach, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#27 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the heart of charming Patong Beach, West Coast of Phuket Island, Thailand The first hotel on the fabulous 3 km. Long sparkling powdery Patong Beach, bordered by the emerald Andaman Sea, Patong Beach Hotel is proud to present excellent service, intimate privacy and charming decor, a distinct land of east and west. Perfectly in its natural setting you will be delighted with the unique elegance of this place ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Patong Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Patong
Nh Hotel Patong
Patong Beach Phuket
Patong Beach Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.