We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything, good pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Patong Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #50 of 274 Hotels in Patong
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Close to everything, good pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Positives are location, pool is clean and surprisingly cold; breakfast was good.
Negatives - aircon was erratic (why don't hotels have ceiling fans for those if us who font like aircons??) - but that's all. The first night I thought it was going to be too close to the noise as disco, fireworks etc can get loud, but didn't end up being an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    291
    112
    32
    31
See reviews for
125
260
58
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Qld
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed here for 11 nights from the 4th-15th and enjoyed it for the third time as much as we did the first! The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The pool area has been updated (as have a lot of the resort) and it looks great! Breakfast was amazing! Couldn't fault it! We had dinner at the outdoor restaurant 2 nights and it was fantastic! We were the only ones there one night which was a shame as the food was amazing! You could choose what meat you wanted (steak, pork chop, chicken) and they cook it up as u like it. I had the chicken and it was perfect! A really nice atmosphere!
We will be returning again next year for sure. I have only stayed in the Siam Wing- so we might try another room next time- although we love the Siam wing!! We were right up the end (closest to the main road) top level- and I was really worried that it would be too noisy- but it wasn't at all. Yes you do hear a bit of music and fireworks- but it doesn't last ALL night and after a big day sightseeing, you doze off without it bothering you!!
The only downside is they don't have free wifi. You can get 2 hrs for 200bt ($6 Aus) which is expensive. That's the only thing I would fault them on. Maybe if they had free wifi between 6-10pm or something?
It was a pleasure to stay in such a lovely hotel :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my boyfriend and had a great stay. We were on the ground floor of the Sunrise Wing which meant that our room opened directly out onto the pool which was great! The two pools were both beautiful and generally the hotel facilities were pretty great. The room itself was nice; comfortable bed and the bathroom, while nothing special, was certainly nothing to complain about. Good water pressure in the shower - the only problem we struck was that the shower drain was not at the lowest point in the shower floor, meaning a fair amount of standing water in the shower most of the time and quite a bit on the bathroom floor. The buffet breakfast was fantastic and the staff all very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is probably the best thing about it - it's close to Bangla Road and all the other shops and restaurants along the beachfront. Having said that, it's far enough back from the road that it's quiet - we had no noise problems at all. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor of the Sunrise Wing opens right onto the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in January for 8 nights in a basic, Siam wing room and also paid for a breakfast package. While the hotel wasn't disgusting, I would definitely recommend you do your research and look into other hotels and get more for your money. The hotel is in a good location, quite close to some fantastic restaurants, Bangla road, ATMS and all that you would need, however aspects of the hotel have clearly been overlooked.

The hotel might be "newly renovated", but its still poor quality. The long, dirty corridors of our wing led us to our room, where the electronic key only worked some of the time, we'd try a few times more and it would usually work. Nothing is included, thus slippers, gowns and things like that will be charged to the room. On several occasions we weren't given drinking water upon house keeping servicing our room. As we went to access the cupboard the fridge was hidden in, the hinge broke and the door fell off. The sink had the most peculiar drainage system, meaning you were left with murky water until after hours it had drained away. Our bedding arrangements stated couple in king bed, however this was two single beds placed together (which i wouldn't have a problem with if they were the same bedding) however, they were two separate sheet and quilt sets.

The noise was extremely annoying considering how far we were off the street, plus all the hotel foot traffic in the corridor outside while trying to sleep.

The final let down was that we had to pay to use wifi. 900B for 5 days seems ridiculous when MOST hotels, no matter what rating (or even backpacker type places) give guests access to free wifi (at least in some capacity) but no, not this hotel.

While there are good things to this hotel (such as nice pool, pleasant staff, nice breakfast, good location and decently clean and safe room), for my partner and I we didn't find the stay very enjoyable or worth what we paid. I would definitely recommend you think twice about staying here, as the picturess of the hotel can be quite deceiving.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Patong Beach Hotel in January, it was honestly the best holiday I have ever had. We are a young couple in our early 20s and couldn't have wished for a better stay. We stayed in the Sunset Spa Suite which has incredibe views with a balcony spa! the balcony was floored with fake grass, so comfy to step on after getting out of the spa. The room was colourful and immaculate on arrival with a massive bed and we had a cheerful/happy staff member take us up and show us the room. Both pools are beautiful, and the food at Breakfast has plenty of variety. We ordered meals from the bar near the big pool and they were also nice and worth the price. The staff really couldn't be more helpful and would always ask what our plans are for the day and invest a real interest in our holiday. The hotel is literally across the road from the beach, a couple of minutes from Bangla Road, and all the other shops across from the beach. I would also recommend the outdoor evening restaurant, their steaks and seafood are first class. Both pools are beautiful and we never had any trouble getting a sun lounge. I really have no idea why people are complaining about this hotel, it seriously is amazing, most of the negative feed back is very petty. I would definitely stay at this hotel again when I return to Patong.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This self proclaimed 4 star hotel is in a great spot very handy to shops restaurants and beach. Hotel had themed dinners at night but didn't bother to go as these were held outside. Our room decor was very poor and the room smelt like a pond . We had a problem with Mosquitos in our room at night . Management gave us mozzie coils. We hired a DVD player but it had no remote. We stayed in the sunrise wing which over looks the pool. Would come back to Phuket in a flash but would avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a package in Thailand with escapeworldwide who I might add certainly know how to arrange a reasonably priced holiday. Arrived at the hotel by private car and efficiently allocated a sunrise room overlooking the pool. The room was clean and well equipped, drinking water was provided on a daily basis and room facilities were very good.
Initially the staff were a little reserved but after smiles and hellos they became very friendly.
The hotel is ideally situated for the beach, shops and nightlife. When in the hotel you wouldn't believe there was all the hustle and bustle going on outside.
Bangala Road is two streets down and very busy. Lots going on and plenty of bars for people watching and opportunities for shopping.
We ate in the hotel a few times and the very generous portions are well worth the prices paid.
A few people have said it was expensive - I have to disagree, the quality of the food (all cooked to order) is very good.
The breakfasts were excellent - plenty of choice and the egg chefs accommodate most requests.
I would happily stay here again and recommend the hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: We were happy with the allocated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patong Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Beach Hotel

Address: 124 Taweewongse Road | Patong Beach, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#21 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patong Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the heart of charming Patong Beach, West Coast of Phuket Island, Thailand The first hotel on the fabulous 3 km. Long sparkling powdery Patong Beach, bordered by the emerald Andaman Sea, Patong Beach Hotel is proud to present excellent service, intimate privacy and charming decor, a distinct land of east and west. Perfectly in its natural setting you will be delighted with the unique elegance of this place ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Patong Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Patong
Nh Hotel Patong
Patong Beach Phuket
Patong Beach Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.