We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna to your Saves list
Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna
3.0 of 5 Specialty B&B   |   127/10-17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road | Paradise Complex (gay area), Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

From the moment I arrived at Phuket airport my trip went smoothly with a driver to take me straight to the guest house and greeted with warmth and treated like an old friend immediately.

The staff make the place, nothing was ever to much trouble and when there was a communication problem, Paul the owner was always near to lend a hand.
very comfortable room with Lounge, great breakfast, close to everything including the shows and bars in the next street. I found the property clean and at all times felt safe and secure at this well run guest house.

Room Tip: I recommend paying the extra for larger superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    28
    5
    9
    13
See reviews for
Families
0
22
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Pros:
The staff at the Aquarius was helpful and very friendly.
Rather quiet for a place in the city.

But many contras:
The room I had booked was labelled as "APARTMENT SUITE PENTHOUSE". What I got was a room with totally insufficient aircon (I was sweating the whole night). Equipment and furniture are used much and some replacement would be needed. I have no idea why this room with bathroom and kitchenet was labelled as penthouse and even suite.

I was quite disappointed and found the room overpriced in relation to the service offered.Not more than 1* or 2**-level. I did not try the sauna.... maybe this is the plus of the Aquarius.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear valued customer,
we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied about the room.
Although the air conditioner in your room is only one and a half years old, it was found out that it had an exterior leak and therefor didn't cool well. We were not aware of this before your stay, but this issue obviously has been solved since. If you would have mentioned it while your stay , we of course would have had it fixed immediately or would have given you another room with a good working air conditioner.
The Apartment Penthouse Suites are labelled this way because of their size (43m2), their kitchenettes and because they offer a high penthouse ceiling and a very large bathroom almost the size of a small room. They are very suitable and often requested for a long term stay.
As you stayed only one night you probably haven't noticed that we are currently under renovations of our sauna, our sundeck and are refurbishing some of the rooms and Suites.
To be discovered soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in an upstairs room across the road. The room was clean and quiet, but the cleaners made plenty on noise in the mornings.
Price was reasonable with free entry to the sauna,
Good location, close to bars and gay nightlife, Walking distance to the gay beach. Staff are friendly and helpful (apart from one guy who starts later in the afternoon who is Very Rude).
Swimming pool is good, sauna area is very small and not that busy.

Next time I’d probably stay at the Pacific Light hotel just across the road from the Paradise Complex (Nicer, cheaper & closer to the beach) and pay to enter the Aquarius sauna
.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear valued customer,
thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, except for the two issues you mention. Our apologizes for the noise, but this most probably came from the building next door which was under renovation at the time of your stay.
The concerned rude staff member has been given an official warning about his behavior and we will keep a close eye on him. He also presents his apologizes to you.
We also would like to comment on your remarks about the PL hotel. They might be about 100 meter closer to the beach, but we can't agree with you saying they are cheaper. On first sight their rates might seem similar to ours, but their cheapest rooms are much smaller (only 12m2) than ours. Also, their rates don't include the taxes, don't include the breakfast and of course don't include sauna and fitness because they haven't got these, neither do they have a pool.
If you take this in consideration, their rates are 50 to 100% higher than ours. We at Aquarius always have chosen to provide a full all included package for a competitive price and will continue to do so. However, current this October 2013 we will start with a new formula (only in our annex buildings) "room + WiFi only" starting from 500 Baht in low season. Hoping to see you soon again on your next trip to Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummen, Belgium
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It's the 3th time now I stay in the Aquarius Guesthouse ! Well located in the center off a sparkling area , close to everything you need . After a happy and super friendly welcome from the staff I had the feeling of comming home . And again it was a very nice and pleasant staying in the Oscar Wilde room . Like always the room was very clean and perfect . Even on a wet day in the rain season everything i needed was there . Good working airco, a new DVD player and flatscreen tv , a wel filled fridge and the big bathroom ........ all perfect !!
Down in the loby I had a good time chatting with the fantastic staff , checking the mail on the free wifi , drinking a nice smoothy or beer . I had again a great time . I would like to thank Paul , Chart and all the other members of the fantastic staff/family for the friendly and personal aproche . I will be back guys !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Aquarius is a good place to stay, with nice and clean rooms and the staff is friendly. The location is also good, near the bars and gay nightlife of Paradise Complex. I also noticed that a night of sleep in Aquarius is not irritatingly noisy than the other guesthouses in Paradise Complex. The sauna, which they're also famous for, is a little too dark for me and a little narrow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I visit AQUARIUS in June. When I arrived the friendly staff welcomed me. I had a " superior " room, verry clean, quit, swimming pool is well kept, sauna accomodies are claen !! Owner is also friendly. In short : excellent

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks for the second time. Why ? good value for money, location of the hotel, the family/friendly atmosphere. My rooms was perfectly clean and cleaned every day.
Although in the middle of the bars etc my room was free of any noise. Internet worked perfect everywhere in the hotel and in the room.
The cappuchino is great but just one staff member knows how to make it, so I Paul they owner should undertake some action for training :-)
Will be back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna

Address: 127/10-17 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road | Paradise Complex (gay area), Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquarius just received TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence 2012 and is very proud of that.Aquarius is the only "men only" Guesthouse in Phuket. We are located in a very quiet walking street right in the middle of the Royal Paradise complex, Patong's gay area.Just 5 minutes walk to the beach and to the main shopping centers,cinemas and bowling center. Only 30 meters away from Patong's gay nightlife.Aquarius offers an "all under one roof concept" including a guesthouse with 30 rooms and luxury suites for everybody's budget, a sauna, a fitness center, massage services for men by men and a quiet hassle-free bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Gay Guesthouse And Sauna Hotel Patong
Aquarius Gay Guesthouse And Sauna Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius Gay Guesthouse and Sauna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.