We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed Breakfast & Transfer
Ranked #45 of 271 hotels in Patong
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

The Good.....
Pools,friendliness of the staff (but everywhere in Phuket) room size, and free classes.
The Average.....
Food, no friendly bar, location.

This is our third time in Phuket, we have stayed at different hotels each time. Whilst you could not complain about anything specifically this hotel seemed to us to lack something. It seemed a bit soulless. No real buzz to the place, the guests seemed to keep themselves to themselves. The food was average- example the breakfast never changed throughout our 7 day stay, unlike other hotels we have visited. The visit to their Italian restaurant was a huge disappointment- completely ordinary food. We stayed for the previous five days at the Karon Beach Resort which is lower starred and cheaper, but just seemed to have more pizazz about it. This place just seemed to be going through the motions. Unfortunately I cannot recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    179
    68
    32
    13
See reviews for
105
282
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This was my first trip overseas ever and our first together with my husband. The spacious Diamond suite (the lady said free upgrade but it was already told to us when we booked through Jetset) was a little dusty on the wooden floors but otherwise perfect, complimentary bottles of water each daily, free use of laptop (internet had it`s moments). Everyone was very friendly Sawadee ka :) and you could get a tuk tuk anytime at the front gate for 150B to say, the big air conditioned shopping centre, Jungceylon. This shopping complex also had only 300B 60 minute private full body massages on the bottom floor, about $16AUS compared to say $60 in good Australia.

Not much good English from the staff, but we managed. Loved the free buffet breakfasts at Diamond Hut every morning, the cheeseburgers at lunch there awesome too, our favourite of the 7 restaurants (the bar grill seemed to be closed without any warning though-Japanese tad too expensive) and cocktails at the bar pool. A little more privacy and less kids at the pool across the road, the cover guards love to guide you safely across. Some great good food in town too like MK Gold at Jungceylon.

The fruit shop is more stylish, love those miniature hands of bananas-but you`ll get better at the street markets and cheaper after your first complimentary kilogram. Forget the transfers, a 40 minute taxi to and from the airport is only about 250B, much cheaper than the hidden costs in your package deal and we found the guide not helpful unless you wanted to book to see shows they got a cut from like Fantasea. They had no idea about the Bangla stadium Muay Thai.

The hill up to your room is a right workout, thankfully they have the free transport when it just gets too much, but that and running on Patong beach each morning has sure helped my runs at home, haha. I love this place, better than what I got to see of Bangkok and will be back before the end of July 2010!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

I havent contributed before with a review but we loved this holiday so much we thought we must. The Diamond Cliff hotel was lovley. We had a room upgrade to the Diamond Wing which has its own recption and booking in area. The facilities at the hotel are lovely- 3 lovely swimming pools, one on the beach and two in the grounds. The hotel also offers free trips to a 'private beach' for hal days which was really good.

The hotel itself is set ina cliff so those with difficulties walkign may struggle a bit however there is a little bus which will take you up and down the hill to your rooms.

The restaurants within the hotel itself were a little pricey- we only dined at the buffet once, was nice, but there are lots of great restaurants wtihin Patong that are far cheaper. On your frst day you get a voucher for free 1kg of fruit from the fruit shop within the complex. After that we bought fruit every morning andf they have different things each day- beautful yellow mango!!

We also used the gy facilities which were small but very clean and quiet which was really nice. Again we didnt use the spa as it was procey but went to a few of the local spas for some amazing massages!

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, the rooms are lovely and the staff are so friendly and will do anything for you!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

My wife & I stayed at this resort & spa for 11 nights 20 June to 1 July 2009. We had stayed here before some 10 years prior but wanted to see how Phuket was going after the tsunami. The property has grown considerably and is an excellent facility.We were highly impressed with the hotel, the town, shops & restaurants are everywhere. We are fairly seasoned travellers and are able to compare against many other locations. Phuket is a close 2nd to Koh Samui in our reckoning.
We celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary & my wife's birthday while there. We had made this known to our travel agent. The hotel staff could not have made it any better for us. Our Diamond Suite was well above expectations. Our king size bed was festooned with rose petals, a miniature bride & groome in the centre and arose on each pillow.
Our maid was an absolute gem and excelled daily.
The resort is set on a steep slope and those who find walking up hill may find it hard but the constant shuttle vehicles make this aspect a non issue. We were warned that the Waterfall swimming pool would be out of action for our stay but were thrilled to find it was back in service after only 2 days. This was a bonus as it was very close to our room and the best pool in the hotel.
If you are happy to be friendly with the personnel throughout the hotel they will certainly go out of their way to assist and ensure all your needs are met. Front counter reception and other personnel do have limited english but if you remain smiling and courteous they will go out of their way to please you.
We used the Spa several times and were impressed by their service and abillity in a very comfortable setting.
The location of the hotel is perfect being just on the northern edge of the Patong commercial and entertainment area. No constant noise to worry about and an easy 10 minute casual stroll to the centre of it. Tuk Tuks are plentiful so catch one for the return journey if you are weighed down with shopping. Go to JungCeylon shopping centre, no bargaining, if you want fully airconditioned shopping and Robinsons Department store for quality clothing.
Diamong Cliff.....you are wonderful. Thank you for a great holiday.
Do not miss going to FantaSea, a stage show including a full buffet dinner. It is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

My husband and I recently spent a week at Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa, and we were very impressed. We took advantage of an upgrade offer and stayed in a Suite for the same price as a standard room, which was huge! The room was tastefully decorated, and well equipped. The air conditioning was excellent, and the beds were huge.
The gardens are a real treat, being long established and well tended. This resort meanders, so that it feels vast, yet still cosy.
We found the staff friendly and helpful, and the gentlemen who worked in the swim up bar we engaging and attentive.
There were two aspects that it's worth considering if you are interested in staying here. Neither of which pose a major drawback. The first is that Diamond Cliff is built on a steep hillside block, and it is quite a climb to the higher rooms. There is a shuttle that runs throughout the day, but not all night if you are planning a late night in Patong.
The second issue was the price of the food and beverage. At the time of our stay, breakfast in the hotel (incl taxes) cost approx. AUD$38 per person per day. We opted to head into Patong each morning and eat there for AUD$7 - 10 per person. The same could be said for lunch and dinner. We are not tight, this just seemed like good sense as the local food is excellent everwhere from street vendors to restaurants.
I would recommend this resort to any of my valued friends or relatives as it's of a ghigh standard and the accommodation was good value. It is located far enough from the madness of Patong to be relaxing, yet close enough to stroll down to the beach a couple of times a day if you wish. We will return to this resort as we were totally satisfied with our experience there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Travelled in June / July 2009. Stayed for 8 nights Ocean view room was very big and comfortable. Large bathroom with 2 showers (one over bath). Swimming pool large but only 26 lounges so would be a problem during busy time. Staff were excellent, breakfast very good. Shuttle bus provided to get from room to reception and vice versa (very steep walk) About 20 minutes walk to Bangla road, Ok but a problem when it is too hot. Found a good clean Massage / beauty parlour 5 minutes walk along beach front toward town called Beach spa & Beauty (Nem was excellent). Room also had PC supplied for Internet access (free)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Stayed here recently, 3 of us in 2 beautiful poolside rooms in the grand wing. Lovely room amenities and a very good size. Large patios overlooking the pool with our own loungers etc.
Staff were very courteous and helpful, I had no problems with communication with them and they were very cooperative and willing to help with any requests.
Didn't eat much there as I enjoy tootling into Patong to explore but snacks we had were good and drinks also good. they also sell haagen Dazs ice cream poolside. Yum
The walk into Patong is about 25 mins right down to Bangla which we did every night back virtually. Good exercise. Although the hoteldoes a great free shuttle service at night on the hour into Patong and to Phuket town in the day. Tuk tuks are kind of trying to keep a standard fee of 200 baht to go anywhere in Patong but in low quiet season can be bargained with.
Just as we were leaving the grand wing pool was closed for a bit of maintenance with a bit of tool noise in the morning, but there are other pools which are perfectly fine to use so no real problem. Think it was 2 weeks closed on the sign.
the only slight gripe I have is the price of the breakfast is too much. We walked down every day 10 mins or so for a cheaper option.
Aside from that I have no problems recommending this place

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#16 Spa Hotel in Patong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#30 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.