We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, not so great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Free Dinner on 31 Dec 14
Ranked #51 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Adelaide
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great resort, not so great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Diamond Cliff, it was our first trip to Phuket. We could not complain about the hotel or it's staff. The staff were very friendly and helpful when needed. Diamond Cliff is built on the side of a steep hill which is OK if you want a workout every time you return to your room from the lobby however, there is a small shuttle bus that runs you up the hill if needed. We personally would like to have been closer to Patong but it is walkable. Since our stay in Diamond Cliff we've stayed in the hotel next to it on the Patong side (not mentioning the name) and found Diamond Cliff much superior. If you don't mind being out of the way a little I would recommend Diamond Cliff but if you want to be closer to Patong, best look for something closer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    191
    73
    33
    15
See reviews for
113
299
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights from the 15th October. Read the reports of people being sick so stayed away from any Food venues on premises. Did not get sick. Rooms are a little dated, bathrooms really showing age, but a lot of places are now in Patong. Is a bit noisy with the shuttles running up and down and I also found it a little hard to get some sleep. Arrived at 3 and room wasnt ready but had it ready in about 10 minutes
On the plus side the staff were all lovely especially the shuttle guys.
Pools were nice as well.
Well out of the hustle and bustle of Patong but still a nice walk along the beach to get in to town

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Jinda, Front Office Manager at Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa Phuket. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences in this website. It is a tremendous help for us to know how our guests perceive our services and where we have to focus on improvement to remain an exclusive resort.

Your comments regarding sickness of our guest, after doctor diagnosed, we just would like to share with you that almost of the guest who sick were from Japan, some of them had meal from outside and some of them had gastroenteropathy, however we never ignore and all guest details have been log and shared with our management team to look at cleanliness of kitchen and all food product.

Your point about the room a little dated, we have planed to renovation this coming year for some room category. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

We are pleased to learn that generally you enjoyed the recent stay with us and you found that the staff were lovely. Please rest assured that we will pass on your comment to them accordingly.

We look forward to your next visit to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa Phuket.

Best regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My best mate and his family flew from Queensland and we flew from Perth to this hotel. It was our wedding anniversaries and a 50th birthday as well. Check in was disappointing as we were told we had a pool view room. I asked for a seaview room and we were told the hotel was full. No, its off season, hotel not even half full but we took the pool view room as it was pouring rain and did so for most of our stay. The room was quite clean and very large with good strong shower pressure and the standard Thai concrete massive bed, which we have now grown used to. The hotel had a nasty gastro bug going around and we noted the poor cleaning processes in our rooms and the cross contamination at Breakfast. eg One of the chefs, at least wearing plastic gloves, picks up some uncooked meat and puts it in a pot then packs away some cooked meat and covers with cling film. Also the little sparrow birds loved to sit and eat the fresh bread next to the toaster and spread their avian bird flu. Our friends daughter was so sick she was taken to hospital, my wife spent 3 days in bed with a good supply of imodium, boscopan and alker seltzer. The biggest problem with this hotel is that over a weeks stay you will spend around $2000 baht on tuk tuks and that includes walking to town one way. The Drivers who take you to your room are the only shining light of this sad, tired resort. Also, if management want to attract Australians to their hotel as I discovered there are 22000 of us visiting Phuket alone each month, perhaps they could tune in the Australia Network on hotel TV's. It does not cost anything to do this. Sorry but better hotels for the same price in better locations, won't be back.

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor for a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Jinda, Manager at Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Malay-Expat

Thank you for staying with us at the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa. We appreciate your comments and suggestions through the network media. It is a tremendous help for us to know how our guests perceive our services and where we have to focus on improvement to remain an exclusive resort.

We are very concerned that your experience in some area at our resort was not up to your expectations. Your candid and frank comments are of immense value in providing a focus for improvement of the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa product. Please accept my sincere apologies, and be assured that we have taken all the necessary steps to ensure our service returns to an excellent standard immediately.

Your comment about our room condition is noted and rest assured that we will review it in our next
Rooms Division Meeting. Your comment about the hygiene and cleanliness of buffet was passed on to our Executive Chef and Director of Food & Beverage for their review to ensure a corrective action is taken and an improvement is made. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

On a positive note, your nice words about our Driver will be shared with in our daily morning brief and amongst associates.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Your ideas and suggestions are invaluable, and we will endeavor to use them to ensure that the next time you stay with us you experience the very best holiday here. We value your patronage, and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in October for work and after arriving from a long flight the bed was so hard I couldn't sleep. Resort is very dated and I killed two bull ants in my room the first night. Location away from the nightlife which is good. Not really impressive resort

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Jinda, Manager at Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your valuable comment which we received on 22 October, 2013.

First of all, please accept our sincere apology for your uncomfortable experience during your recent stay at Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa.

We were very disturbed to receive your comments as the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa takes pride in offering our guests the very best in hotel facilities. It is therefore very disappointed to receive your comments outlining especially in-room facilities and resort appearance where we have fallen short of our promise.

Thank you for your candid and frank comments which are of immense value in providing a focus for improvement of the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa. It is only through shared experiences such as the ones you have described that help us to improve. Please be assured that all of the areas you have mentioned have been discussed amongst our associates and action plans will be implemented in an endeavor to rectify these shortcomings.

Beanca_D, once again thank you for your constructive comments, we value your patronage, and look forward to being of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Last week we stayed for 6 nights at The Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa. I must say it was terrible. We selected this resort because we had previously stayed there in 2011 and recommended it to our best friends as a great place to stay in Patong Beach. Well it has taken a major turn for the worse. This prompted me to look at comments on tripadvisor.com.au. I was stunned when I read "Disappointed & sleep deprived.”Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile. We experienced the identical problems except the early morning calls.

Worse still there was a vomiting and diarrhoea bug going through the resort as many guests had asked if we had caught it. Well the four of us got it on our last 2 days. We were so bad that we could not leave our rooms. Whilst one of the staff cleaned our room I happen to see how they washed the cups, glasses etc in the room. They used a small red/orange bucket, in the bucket was the oldest overused scotch soap pad I had ever seen. Needless to say this so called cleaning process would have been the most likely way the bug spread throughout the resort.

So glad to be out of that hell hole. Still have the diarrhoea 5 days on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Jinda, Manager at Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Ian B,

I am writing in response to the comment in Trip Advisor on 12 October, 2013.

First of all, please accept our sincere apologies for your unpleasant experience with unforeseen sickness during your recent stay with us.

We are very concerned that our cleaning process from the housekeeping was not reached the hotel standard. I have passed on this issue to our Executive Housekeeper for her immediate review and ensure that corrective action is taken.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for bringing your valued comments to our attention. Your candid and frank comments are of immense value in providing a focus for improvement of the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa. Please accept our sincere apologies, and be assured that we have taken all the necessary steps to ensure our service returns to an excellent standard immediately.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Your ideas and suggestions are invaluable, and we will endeavor to use them to ensure that the next time you stay with us you experience the very best holiday here at Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa. We value your patronage, and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Very best

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived at 3pm and were shown to our room by very friendly staff. I am just glad that she rang the door bell before she inserted the key card and opened the door to our Ocean Jacuzzi Deluxe Room -- because lo and behold, there were still guests in the room!!! (Imagine if we had all piled into the room expecting clean beds...)

They apparently had late check-out (until 6pm) and thus we were then "upgraded" to a junior suite. Climbed an infinite number of stairs only to end up in an extremely musty room that probably hadn't been opend for a while. We rejected it. More stairs and we get dumped in another room. Again, unacceptable and we rejected.

We gave up at this point and decided to head out and come back at 7pm instead (7pm check-in when we had arrived at 2pm...) so we at least have the original room.

Things from there were smoother. We got a small cake by way of apology and a nice written note from management. The hotel is sufficient, just not really good in any way due to it's dated rooms and furnishings (the painting on the wall was so faded, it was barely there). Breakfast was a joke with a wide selection of non-quality stuff. The only stations that were ok were the egg and porridge stations where at least food was fresh cooked.

Having said that, the staff are lovely and do try to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Jinda, Manager at Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Bubblezzz,

Thank you for taking time to share experience about your recent stay at the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa.

We are very concerned that our room condition and services from our associates were not up to your expectations and standard. I have passed on this issue to concerned departments for their immediate review and ensure that corrective action is taken.

We are extremely sorry about your very unpleasant experience upon arrival as the result of room condition, hotel appearance and quality of breakfast. I deeply apologize for the inconvenience that this must have caused you. Please rest assure that concerned departments were informed to improve their service.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for bringing your valued comments to our attention. Your candid and frank comments are of immense value in providing a focus for improvement of the Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa. Please accept our sincere apologies, and be assured that I have taken all the necessary steps to ensure our service returns to an excellent standard immediately.

Once again, thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Your ideas and suggestions are invaluable, and we will endeavor to use them to ensure that the next time you stay with us you experience the very best holiday here at Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa.
We value your patronage, and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked directly with the hotel online and at the time of booking there was a 50% off promo when you booked your room on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday. We read the previous reviews and have family who have stayed here before. We expected the maintenance and cleanliness (dust and dirt) to be average. We arrived at night so everything looks good at night. We were taken to our room by one of the girls and she explained the resort and how everything in the room worked. Very impressed with the personal service.

We booked a Diamond Suite. These rooms are 70sqm, really big and comfortable. There are some issues with marks on wallpaper and dust in the corner of the rooms, but overall it's all good. My wife had read a revue that said the beds were hard, The review was right, but this was easily fixed by asking for a mattress topper at reception, from then on it was all good.

What the Diamond cliff offers is value for money. Since we were there in the off season we didn't have to worry about too much hustle and bustle in any of the service areas.

Pro's - Great location a short walk (or taxi) to Patong Beach but away from the craziness.
- Staff are friendly and eager to help, All it takes is a smile and kindness and they will
repay it.
- Restaurants are inexpensive and generally quite good.
-There are pools everywhere as are little seating common areas. Our favourite is the
"By the Beach" pool, but the Waterfall pool is great for kids.
-The gardeners must love their jobs here because the foliage is dense and well
maintained
-The coffee shop (where breakfast is served) is open for orders till 11pm. Other than that
there is a 24 hour room service menu.

Con's- This is on a cliff so there are lot's of stairs. There is however 2 shuttle cars that will run
you up and down to reception in order for you to save your feet, they run from early in
the morning till late at night so I guess this is a Pro.
-The maintenance team needs either a kick up the bum or the resources to maintain
such a large complex. A bit of paint and the odd bit of carpentry would go a long way.
Someone needs to invest in a high pressure water cleaner for the pathways and pool
areas.
-The cleaners need the same as maintenance. Surely a clean in the corner and a quick
wipe over of marks on the wallpaper couldn't be too hard.
-The breakfast buffet is big but seems to offer very little. The bacon is ordinary but if
you order an omelet each morning all will be good. I like to give these breakfasts a
hiding but resorted to the Japanese breakfasts a few times to get some variety. It was
good, especially the fish.

While we were here we asked to look at the Villas. They are truly amazing, and If I ever come back, this is where I'm going to stay, if not live out the rest of my days. High end with your own private pool and grounds, pure luxury.

So would I stay here again? Yes, but I can't see myself wanting to be near Patong. Thank God it's away from the main part of Patong Beach. The thing that makes me want to come back are the people who went out of their way to make our holiday great. From Aon, who showed us the Villas to Nikom who drives the shuttle ( I can't recall the other drivers name but he likes chocolate ice cream). The security guard who walks you across the road and takes photos of you in front of the resorts sign. You are the ones that made our holiday worthwhile. Thank You.

Room Tip: Hang the expense and get a Villa. Book on a weekend and save 50% online. It's called Diamond &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#16 Spa Hotel in Patong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#22 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.