We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed Breakfast & Transfer
Ranked #43 of 261 hotels in Patong
Hoi An, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

In one word, this place is paradise. From the beginning we stepped in , we felt like we were in a place not often found. Can't say enough about the well trained staff who always greets you and gives a friendly smile. Our room was fabulous. During our 5 day visit, we never felt the desire to leave the hotel and we'll be back! Just can't say enough about this hotel wish every hotel i stayed at was as good as this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    181
    69
    33
    13
See reviews for
105
282
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Upon our arrival a week ago, we were greeted by a teenage female lobby person popping gum & telling us we would be "upgraded" due to the Ocean Suites (our original room booking) fully booked. Fantastic, we thought. So, we followed the young lady to our room (climbing many steep stairs). To our dismay, the room was in fact a DOWNGRADE of out original Ocean Suite booking to a admittedly generous sized yet musky smelling, moulded tiresome Diamond suite room. The bathroom was evident of mould, the weight scales in the bathroom had a crack in the glass panel & the view, well there was not much of one, unless you consider shrubs and a palm tree enticing viewing pleasure. My partner & I sat down, exhausted, bewildered & confused of this "upgrade" and decided to question the senior female hotel assistant. With limited English, she insisted the room was an upgrade however this was clearly not the case. It took my persistent yet fair partner to explain to the woman that it was not our problem the Ocean Suite views were booked & insisted she rectify the problem. After a 5 min phone call, she plainly told us an Ocean Front view Room would become available within the hour. No apologies, no explanation. i was disappointed by this careless customer service. When we finally reached the room, exhausted & grumpy to an inconvenient start to our holiday, we were mildly relieved. The room wasn't bad but being on the 3rd floor, it was not much of an ocean view , with palm trees and some of the hotel blocking a decent view.

In terms of the hotel declaring itself as the quiet corner in Patong, this is laughable. Fellow travellers, be prepared for loud, thumping footsteps from neighbouring rooms all hours of the night, be aware of strange sounding roosters in need of a cull, people in adjoining rooms slamming doors & making conversation (honeymooners & young lovers, your throes of passion will be audible), construction workers banging away & using their chainsaws (forget about any siestas) & random phone calls in the middle of the night. We experienced the phone in the room ringing twice (once at 1am & again at 3.30am) & a bellboy knocking at 6am to realise he got the wrong room.

The so called 4.5 star rating is a joke. At best, it's a 3 star.

The only highlight was the shuttle bus service men, who were friendly, considerate &'genuinely concerned when my partner and I fell victim to a bout of nasty food poisoning. These guys were champions. Would I return to Diamond Cliff? Not if you bloody paid me.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth West Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Following several earlier holidays in Thailand we chose Pantong as our destination having never actually stayed there before. Chose Diamond Cliff out of the newspaper travel pages. We found the resort well placed with nice views over the bay and a moderate walk to the main part of town or for the less energetic, a 200 bhat tuk tuk ride. The room was fine (Ocean Suite) although there was a shower drainage issue, but nothing we couldn't handle. The staff were typically Thai, very friendly and very polite, giving generally good service. Great tropical style swimming pools we found added to the tropical ambience. But for us the main point for improvement for this hotel was the room service food and to a lesser extent the various restaurant food which we found average to inedible. Breakfasts were very good but evening ordering up, for instance, what was billed as fish and chips, was poor to awfull! We also had some very ordinary food (and only this once, poor service) at the resident Thai restaurant which you would have thought would be simple for a Thai Resort. Nevertheless, despite some reservations we enjoyed our stay and would be happy to go back to the Diamond Cliff especially if they could lift the standard of their catering and freshen up the look of the place.

Room Tip: Bay views facing west with a balcony are good for spectacular sun downs. eg. Ocean Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This resort is heavily geared towards Japanese tourists, especially honeymooners. The service is mixed, at best, with a few standout individuals who genuinely cared to make our experience a really good one, and everyone, well, pretty nonchalant, really.
eg. Pool bar: can I have a Singa beer please. No sorry, we've run out of Singa at this bar. Full stop. (OK, so hop foot it to another bar or even to the nearest grog shop to get some more!!!!).
eg. Pool bar again: not one of the three cocktails we ordered from the cocktails menu could be made thatday because the pool bar apparently had NO VODKA! Seriously!? In the end they couldonly produce about two of the cocktails on their list. Dreadful.
English-speaking skills amongst the staff were very limited and we often were passed across four or five people before being understood for simple things like, 'Can we please have some ice delivered to our room', or 'Can we have a bottle opener please?' (not all rooms were equipped with bottle openers!).
Some staff actually asked various members of our group at various times for tips!!
Rooms are lovely generally, and well laid-out, but very tired & in need of updates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stay there twice in July 2012 and June 2013 and its the place for us we want to return !
Helpful staff, hotel interior, environment did make our stay enjoyable !

Room cleanliness: Could be better in some points but we are not too fussy.
Mould - yes, unfortunately by being in quiet humid climate its hard to keep it absolutely under control. If you not happy, exchange the room !

Food: Both times we stay there we didn't have breakfast included and we refused paying almost $20pp every day, its way too much for Thailand. We've been eating out in town for $20 both

We had food ordered to our room sometimes and next to the pool - fast, yummy, reasonably priced.

Location: Its not that far from Bangla Rd about 2-3 on tuk-tuk or taxi or 10-15min walk. Far enough from noise and close enough to all attractions.
If you are new to hotel, go to the lest and have a walk along the beach or take a taxi and ask for Bangla Rd (200baht)

Reason for Choice: 3 big pools with the trees around. Wooden floor in large hotel rooms, Location.

Room Tip: They offer a discount for spa if you book it within first 24hrs after your arrival, accept it, its p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLERMONT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I loved the room overlooking the ocean. Everything about it was just plain perfect. The pool was just outside the front door and I couldn't have asked for any better. The room service menu was a bit limited, however, with the number of restaurants they have onsite. I thought that the steep walk would have been an issue, but the shuttle was frequent enough that I didn't even notice. I should have read the fine print on my contract, though. I met some friends in town and when I tried to come back to my room, I was told that outside guests were not allowed. For that reason alone, I would never stay there again. Skip the breakfast buffet. It was mediocre and overpriced for the area.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had 12 nights at Diamond Cliff. The whole experience was fantastic, I could not fault the resort. I do not understand any of the negative reviews, everything was great. We were able to check in at 9.30 in the morning and had no problems during our stay. The staff were always smiling and helpful and the shuttle was the best after a long tour out and about. The drivers always remembered what room you were staying at. The pools were wonderful with the waterfall pool our favorite, basketball rings and the water slide keeping everybody entertained, young and old. The swim up bar was a big hit with Neung the best barman, always smiling and making our drinks stronger!! Diamond Hut across the road was fantastic for dinner yummy food and a view out of this world. We had a great stay, making Diamond Cliff the a big highlight of our Phuket experience. We would definetely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#15 Spa Hotel in Patong
#17 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#30 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.