We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed Breakfast & Transfer
Ranked #44 of 261 hotels in Patong
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our honeymoon at the Diamond Cliff and would recommend it to other couples. The room was large and cleaned well every day. The hotel provides towels for your use around the pools and for the beaches also. The restaurants offered good food but were more expensive than the restaurants in town. The shuttle service to take you up the hill from the reception was excellent and we never had to wait. We were near the large pool which was gorgeous and clean. The trips were well worth it, we used the hotels shuttle bus to go to Paradise Beach and paid for trips to Phi Phi - great for snorkeling, and did the elephant trekking. We were lucky with the weather (the week before had had a lot of rain) - the air con in the room worked well and was certainly needed. We didn't use the spa but had a massage by the side of the beach which was cheaper, Down the hill from the hotel is a shop and a pharmacy which were useful. It's worth a walk down Bangla Road and there were some nice restaurants near there which were quite busy (the ones on site were very quiet).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    177
    69
    33
    13
See reviews for
104
280
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights. We had the most beautiful view from our room and the room it's self was very large- ocean suite. When we checked in they showed us around and took us to our room. They have a car that takes you up the hill as its rather steep walk. We hired a scooter from across the road to get into patong. So easy to get around with a scooter, I would highly recommended this. Only 5 min to get to the centre of patong and nice to be free to get around!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthWest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Do not get the breakfast option package, the buffet was covered in flies everyday and birds would fly in and eat from the pastry baskets, although we paid a premium for this breakfast option we ate outside the hotel for very little.

The room overlooked the pool, nice view , but the room itself was dated and in need of spring cleaning. Dust in areas, stained chair cushions and ants coming out of the tile above the shower faucet.

No in room wifi and no elevators. They offer 1 kg of fruit on the first day only, in our case 1 mango and 1/5 of a small watermelon, we didn't think she would actually give us only a portion of the watermelon and then eat the rest in front of us!

Nice location, but I would stay elsewhere unless they adjust their prices to a 3 star hotel rate.

Management did nothing about buffet concerns, but the rest of the staff were great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

For the price, this is a great hotel in the perfect location. A five minute tuk tuk to the hustle and bustle of all the action (Bangla Road). We traveled to Phuket for our honeymoon and stayed in the romantic suite, which was very spacious and clean. The view was amazing! I will say if you are in search of a modern, new hotel this is not your place, this resort is true Thailand and definitely the place for a thai experience. The resort has three beautiful pools, a gorgeous spa and restaurants on site although very average at best. I recommend going elsewhere to eat your meals. There are 3 fabulous restaurants directly across the street which I highly recommend: Joe's Downstairs, Baan Rim Pa, and Da Maurizio -- all 3 are simply amazing and have wonderful views of the sea. Again, this resort is reasonably priced and in a good location.

Room Tip: Romantic Suite is nice but ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here last November in a Diamond suite. Loads of room with huge, separate bathroom area, all kept spotlessly clean. Breakfast was extensive; there is Japanese food, but there is plenty of cereals, breads, fruit, cold meats, salads etc, etc as well as bacon, eggs (cooked as you want), sausages, tomatoes and even roast potatoes! The staff were attentive and friendly. There are birds around but it's hardly a Hitchcock film!! The shuttle drivers were excellent; we never waited more than two minutes. The reception staff were very professional and friendly; they sorted a problem for us when our Kuoni rep (Kat) was less than helpful and they spoke excellent English. Thai people are not confrontational and I think that a big smile in every situation definitely helps. The hotel is ideally placed, close enough to walk to Bangla Road but not in the centre of things. We would love to return.

Room Tip: The higher up, the higher the price, the better the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

BEAUTIFUL SURROUNDINGS
Great location away from hustle and bustle. Note that the ride to Patong beach should be 200 bhat on a tuk tuk. We never walked, but probably could have.
Really nice welcome at hotel, accomodated our early check in, beautiful lobby , free fast internet, flower garlands, made anniversary cake for us which was a nice touch. 3 lovely swimming pools. Quiet, tranquil surroundings, lovely sounds of nature. Massive rooms, beautiful views.
Beautiful fountains, fruit shop which is quite unique and a nice touch.
Excellent room service, very clean hotel. Good shuttle services.
Only small criticism was the limited English of staff but this seems to be the general situation in phuket compared to somewhere like KL.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Across the road from the beach so was a little disappointed when I arrived. Also seeing the steep roadway to rooms I thought I may have made a mistake booking here. Once we were taken to our room via the 12 seater golf cart , I felt much better. We booked the diamond suite and can highly recommend this type of room. It is spacious and clean and bright & breezy. We had an Ocean view which was nice. Normally we don't spend much time in our room but this was easy to do here, especially with the air conditioning on. Spent most of our pool time in the Ocean View pool area as this was quieter. For families with children the other pool area (Grand Wing Pool, I think) is great complete with water slide and basket ball net, lots to do or nothing if preferred.
People commented in some reviews on having to wait for the shuttle to take them to Lobby or Restaurants, well all I can say is that unless you have a disability or just plain lazy,why not walk! I understand that it is a little steep for some rooms but going to either it is downhill. Heh a little work out is great then you can fit in more food, you now deserve it. Try walking back, great exercise. We never had to use the gym as never used the shuttle. In saying that we always saw the shuttle so they were always around if we needed them.

We hired a scooter just across the road only about $6 per day. Didn't eat in the Restaurants other then breakfasts, which were great. Had room service a few times and that was average. Having the scooter we ventured out for most meals.

Pro's Our room
House maid service
Pine & Chad great helpful staff
Only 3 mins drive from Patong (Approx 12 min walk)
Quiet resort

Con's. Room Service menu
The repetitive music in the Grand Wing Pool Area ( get a new CD)
Most staff don't understand a lot of English, but we are in Thailand I suppose.

Room Tip: Diamond suite with Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa

Address: 284 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#16 Spa Hotel in Patong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#26 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#31 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Cliff Resort & Spa is located on the hillside of North Patong. Only few minutes away from the Patong downtown where you can enjoy night life and shopping. We have a plenty of great choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel grounds, really impressive and well designed pool areas over looking the sparkling blue sea of Andaman. All rooms type are fabulous including our Diamond Villa, all well appointed and furnished in gorgeous typically Modern-Thai furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cliff Hotel Patong
Diamond Cliff Resort And Spa Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Cliff Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.