We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amari Phuket

Save Saved
You added Amari Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Amari Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off in July
Ranked #6 of 262 hotels in Patong
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had not been told on booking this resort 8 months ago through a travel agent that half of the resort would be closed for renovations while we were there so that was an unpleasant surprise.
Despite that, the resort had everything we wanted, from a comfortable clean and attractive deluxe room, to a beautiful view across the private beach. Friendly staff, a fabulous pool and bar and the most varied breakfast we've ever come across. It's a short attractive walk to a jetty which has a welcoming bar that also sells food, and has loungers. At the end of the jetty are steps to get into the water for snorkeling etc.

The rest of the resort opened 2 days before we had to leave, and the 2nd pool,lounges and restaurant make it a very luxurious and well equipt resort.
It was an easy downhill walk to the main town which is quite a culture shock after the peace and tranquility of the Amari !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    940
    439
    95
    37
    14
See reviews for
219
855
47
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at Amari Coral beach Resort, Patong... We were 2 adults & a kid of 8 yrs old... The resort is far away from the hustle n bustles... Far from the madding crowd... Very quiet & secluded... We stayed 3 nights over there... My daughter loved it the most & so did we... Huge property... Great pools (2 pools actually)... Private beach... Staffs were very cordial... On the first few hours we were alloted a room that was smelling awful... We were shifted to another room on the first floor within some minutes... View was mindblowing from both the rooms... Its like royal treatment... Breakfast was great but dinner buffet at the breakfast area was not so good... Some water logging problem was there in the bathroom but its OK... Who's gonna sleep in the bathroom anyway! Sipping wine sitting in the balcony was just out of the world experience... Amari coral to the town centre is 200 baht each way... Walking between the room & the reception/entrance was tiring for me as I hate so much walking... If that Tuktuk pinch & walking can be ignored -- its one of the best properties I have stayed... My daughter wants to go & stay in the same hotel for 100 times... All the best :)

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had stayed at the resort during our honeymoon last year and the place was magical to say the least.... Right from the location to the rooms, food, service everything was perfect...Would recommend the Italian restaurant for its excellent food and location for a quiet dinner. A stroll on a lazy evening to the pier is a bonus.... A quiet place from the hustle and bustle of Patong...Would definitely come back to relive some nice memories.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuticorin, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I went there with my wife, as part of our honeymoon trip. We were given a deluxe room with a balcony view of the sea. The rooms were amazing & the mattresses were absolutely wow! The pool is conveniently located. Food had Thai taste & it was little difficult to suit our Indian taste buds. Room service was great. We recommend this to every traveller to Phuket. Most importantly, this hotel is higly priced, but definitely is worth all the money you spend. One of the best hotel in Patong Beach area of Phuket. PS - Breakfast buffet is the best I have ever had in my life! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Myself and 3 friends have just returned from a fantastic ten day stay at the Amari Coral Beach in Phuket and we were all very impressed with this property.

Yes, as many have mentioned, there are renovations taking place at this time. These renovations are almost entirely complete as the entire resort opened up (including the superior rooms, lobby, second pool, lobby bar and Italian restaurant) about halfway through our stay. We had been contacted by the hotel a few weeks prior to arrival and informed that due to the renovations the two superior rooms we had booked were being upgraded to deluxe rooms, which was great.

Even with the renovations going on while we were there, I have nothing bad to say, there was little to no impact on guests. The deluxe guest rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the sea views from the room and balcony are breathtaking. We very much enjoyed the attention to detail that was taken by the hotel and the way the staff would arrange our things so nicely when tidying our rooms everyday. Just small things like making sure our things were orderly and well laid out.

The Rim Talay restaurant has a beautiful setting next to the pool and overlooking the sea, it is an absolute delight dining there. The food was nothing short of delicious at all times and the service impeccable. All of the staff at the Amari are extremely hospitable. One day we walked out to the end of the jetty and noticed a number of fish swimming around in the water. As we took the steps down to the water to watch the fish, out of nowhere came an Amari staff member with a loaf of bread for us to feed them. We were so impressed that this member of the staff thought to do this for us. It was great!

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the pool is so inviting. Just the right temperature and a pleasure to swim in. We never bothered spending anytime on the beach at Patong amongst the crowds of tourists when the pool area at our hotel was so comfortable and appealing. There is a pool bar and the staff are regularly checking to see if you need anything (without being intrusive) and even coming around with cool face cloths every so often. They felt so good on your face when lounging in the heat.

If you ask me, the location of this property could not be better. If there is anything I realized during my visit it is that I would definitely not want any part of staying right in Patong. The Amari is just tucked away enough for you to feel as though you are at a secluded resort yet no more than a 10 minute walk into town....20 or so to the bustling Bangla Rd bar scene. After touring much of the island I can honestly say I did not see anywhere else that I would rather be staying.

I would highly recommend anyone traveling to Phuket to stay at the Amari Coral Beach and I know with 100% certainty that if I return to Phuket, this is exactly where I am staying. I would like to visit Koh Samui on my next trip to Thailand and I will definitely give the Amari property on that island a try as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great resort and location, The accommodation was clean and comfortable with a private balcony and the sea view from the Deluxe Room was fantastic. It was a delight to go to breakfast, each morning as the selection was amazing. Each evening there was a different theme for dinner, and the meals were to a very high standard. All the staff were friendly and attentive nothing was a problem. There was a lot of building work going on but it did not impact on our holiday, and we can't wait to go back and see the whole resort once the renovations are completed. The pool area was well laid out with plenty of sun lounges. Although the hotel is a little way from Patong you can take the free hotel shuttle to the top of Patong, but it's more fun to get a Tuk Tuk for 200 baht one way. We would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The private balconys on the Deluxe rooms have fantastic sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here from 15 - 25 October 2013 in room 7320 unfortunately the hotel was going through a major refurbishment so 80% of the hotel was closed down to the public.

I emailed the hotel when i picked up the tickets and informed there was MINOR renovations going on and was emailed back by the Front of House Manager telling me it was just the walkways left to complete and as a gesture of goodwill they would upgrade me to a deluxe room and give us both a 1hr massage. In principle this sounded a suitable compromise. However when we arrived at the hotel it was not just the walkways it included all standard hotel rooms thus being why we got the upgrade as they had no standard rooms. We only had use of 1 restaurant and bar so felt a little 'robbed' by Amari for lying to us.

I am sure this is a lovely hotel when fully operational however I wish hotel management could have been honest from the outset.

Shaun

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Address: Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#3 Spa Hotel in Patong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#4 Business Hotel in Patong
#4 Family Hotel in Patong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Phuket 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages.Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Amari Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amari Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.