We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amari Phuket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amari Phuket to your Saves list
Amari Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
1,000 Baht Dining Credit
Ranked #2 of 278 Hotels in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,863 Reviews
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved This Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in February and loved it. The hotel is beautiful and set in massive grounds, all the staff could not have been more helpful - all very friendly and helpful!! We ate in the Thai restaurant and the Italian aswell as enjoying the BBQ on the jetty one night and all were excellent and delicious. The rooms are of an adequate size with beautiful views.

All in all would definatly return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,220
    484
    104
    39
    16
See reviews for
281
1,042
59
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

We have just spent 6 wonderful nights at the Coral Beach between stays in Singapore & Bangkok. Our room,(4209) was ok, much has been written about the toilet/bathroom layout. I am 5'10'' - 17st but I was able to sit and do the crossword in the Bangkok Post in relative comfort, not too much info I hope !!!!! The small bathroom can be forgiven in exchange for the fantastic view. As for the hotel generally we absolutely loved it, so relaxed easy going and with a sense of space due to the extended layout. We had no trouble getting a bed at either pool, but we also sat on the beach. We enjoyed the food immensely especially at the Italian restaurant and the superb breakfast choice. We found the staff in general to be charming.

We flooded the room at one point when the shower blocked, but all was mopped up with minimum fuss and we later received a fruit stall as an apology !!!!!!! My wife spent a day at the Sivara Spa in the hotel grounds and hasn't stopped talking about it since, not cheap but she says worth every Baht.

Take advantage of the free bus to Kata beach which is lovely, leaves at 10.00 and returns at 15.30. If you want to stay longer a tuk tuk ride back will cost you c.300-400B. We settled our food/drink bill by cash so got 20% discount which covers the +10+7% on all bills.

As for Patong itself it's not us but it is an experience and we gave it a go on a couple of occasions. It makes the Amari Coral Beach even more of a wonderful oasis.

  • Liked — The wonderful relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

We stayed for a week at the Amari and loved it. We had a top floor deluxe room and it had the best sea view of any hotel that we have stayed in, discounting the Maldives.
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and when we arrived in our room we had a beautiful chocolate cake decorated with 'Happy Wedding', as well as fruit delivered.
The staff there were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was in an open air dining room overlooking the bay, and the choice of food was extensive and of high quality.
The location is spot on, with just enough distance away from the madness that is Patong town. We walked into the town every night, and it took us about 15 minutes to get to the centre. However, there were good restaurants closer to the hotel which we generally ended up at after having a drink in the town.
The hotel does have a lot of steps, but these were not a problem to us. The pool areas were well maintained and both pools were a good size for swimming. Other sunbeds were dotted around the grounds with plenty of umbreallas for shade if required.
We had a great stay, and were really sorry to leave. We would definately stay there again

  • Liked — The view from our room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

Our party of four travellers including my exceptionally well travelled wife and parents stayed for ten fabulous nights at the Amari.
Location being the hotels trump card,other aspcts do not fail,Food,service,cleanliness,all facilities in all are top notch.
We would not hesitate to book the Amari again and would strongly recommend it to anyone thinking of a stay in rumbuntious Patong which is an experience on its own!!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — air con
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

Just returned after 5 Nights at the Amari Coral, one of the best resort Hotels we have stayed in .
We booked a Deluxe room with sea view , the room was spacious spotless with excellent views, however the bathroom was a bit small but spotless.
The staff were extremely friendly , the facilities ie the pool , bars restaurants and the food were First Class without being pretentious or stuffy.
I would recommend this Hotel for a relaxing Holiday with the choice to go into town (3mins on a tuk tuk ) for a fab choice of restaurants.

Steve & Jan [--] ( Crawley West Sussex)

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

Stayed here for 2 weeks in Nov 07.
We were upgraded to a exec room with a balcony facing the sea.
It was pure bliss. The staff were freindly and professional.
The food was very good and our bedroom was lovely.
The only downside is that it doesn't have a shuttle bus service into Phuket plus it is a very spread out, long hotel.
So at the end of the night after a few Singa's be prepared for the trek back to your room.
The hotel has a lovely out door spa and we would recommmend the Italian restaurant, book early and request a table over looking the sea, it is beautiful.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — air conditioning
  • Disliked — walk to reception and into Phuket
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

The ideal location and surrounding beauty around the Amari cannot be disputed, however, as many previous reviewers have commented, the accommodation does indeed leave a lot to be desired. Some postings have described the hotel as 'luxury', however, my stay just before Christmas did not give the impression of a luxurious establishment. Initially, we were given a "superior" room which was quite shabby in respect of furnishings and floor surfaces. As a previous reviewer commented, to use the toilet required the flexibility of a contortionist, and that is no exaggeration. Those rooms are just too small. Fortunately, we were moved to a "Deluxe" room, and despite the floor space and bathroom being slightly larger, it was still a little disappointing. A fair description would be of an American motel room with a view. The hideous air conditioning units located outside the rooms compounded this opinion. We tried the Thai Buffet which to be honest was quite reasonable although not very authentic and the breakfast did cater for Western and Asian palates, but with little choice in either compared to other hotels we had stayed at on our trip. I believe if this standard of accommodation was located anywhere else in Patong, it would struggle to attract guests. The reality is that you are paying for location - not quality accommodation, and I believe the high season charges represented poor value in comparison to other establishments in the surrounding areas. I would probably stay at the Amari again, however, the price would have to be realistic in proportion to the standard of accommodation.

  • Liked — Undoubtedly the views
  • Disliked — The accommodation!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amari Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Phuket

Address: Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Amari Coral Beach Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#1 Spa Hotel in Patong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#2 Family Hotel in Patong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Patong
#3 Business Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away on a secluded beach near Patong, Amari Phuket (formerly known as Amari Coral Beach Phuket) is the ideal Phuket vacation spot no matter what you are seeking. With first-class restaurants, affordable luxury accommodation and a quiet private beach, this island resort hotel offers a holiday experience unlike any other. You can indulge in some well-deserved relaxation at the renowned Breeze Spa, offering a whole range of spa treatments and massages.Reward yourself, and come celebrate the magic of Phuket with Amari Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Amari Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Coral Beach Phuket Hotel Patong
Amari Coral Beach Hotel
Amari Coral Beach Patong
Amari Coral Beach Resort
Amari Phuket Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amari Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.