We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mature hotel with a view in a quiet part of Patong, yet close enough to the nightlife & shops.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Phuket Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Phuket Resort to your Saves list
Novotel Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Mature hotel with a view in a quiet part of Patong, yet close enough to the nightlife & shops.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

'Mature' hotel, well maintained, with a good view of Patong Beach area - nice surrounds & 3 pools available. If you don't like walking too much or climbing stairs to get to a nice buffet breakfast ask for a room on the upper levels (where the views are). The lower level rooms are for the energetic & is a short walk to Patong Beach. Rooms are clean, with nice bed, good tv channels for that rainy day, & 'smallish' but nice bathroom. Tuk-tuks which quote dizzy prices are stationed near the security gate - so your bargaining skills will come in handy! A short trip to the new, modern Jung Ceylon shopping centre should cost no more than THB150. On rainy days be careful if you have a lower level room as the walkways are not completely sheltered, & umbrellas seem to be in short supply at the front desk when you most need it!
Food: Suggest you skip pricey Baan Rim Pa (across the main road) & go 1.5 km north along the coast road to spectacular Pan Yaah restaurant - great food at affordable prices. A THB 200 tuk-tuk ride should take you there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    620
    237
    91
    42
See reviews for
477
706
67
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We have just returned from a great 4 days & 3 nights vacation in Novotel Phuket.

From the time we arrived, we experienced premier, immaculate service that was rendered by a great team of committed staff. Throughout our stay, the Novotel staff went the extra mile to every detail of our comfort. We have enjoyed service beyond our expectation!

No detail was spared related to our room assignment requirements, special food preparation and special requirement on room amenities, etc.

Our room was very beautifully appointed with Thai contemporary decor and top class designer furnishing and embience. It was a haven to come back to relax and for a great night sleep on the superb beddings. The wide sea view balcony was breathtaking, with a bird eye view of the Andaman sea and the beach below the lofty hill Novotel location. The surrounding eden like lush landscaping and garden of the resort make us felt like we were in the midst of Paradise!

The 3 swimming pools surrounded by the resort beautiful mature garden make swimming sheer delight.

The F & B with nightly theme buffet was a great joy for our palatte. We also have the greatest massage done by the most professional therapists at the resort spa

We will most certainly return again and again to Novotel Phuket for our future vacation and even for our business conferences like many times before.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

I'm really surprised to see some bad reviews of this hotel, they are so untrue .. I can argue that it has the best location in Patong, and certainly one of the best in Phuket, beautiful & high sea view, what a sunset and greenery. very nice breakfast buffet (excellent croissant ... more than excellent actually) I spent a lovely honeymoon there .. great value of money & very helpful staff

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed 7 nights - 2 adults 2 kids in one room, a bit of a squash! Rooms were a bit dark with Thai decorations, very small bathroom. Resort was comfortable, in pretty good condition though you can see it's age in certain areas of the buildings. 3 pools were nice, plenty of sun lounges, they have a cocktail of the day for 1/2 price every day- nice by the pool. Main drawback of the hotel is the location. It is to the north of the main part of Patong which I was quite happy about before we arrived. In hindsight we would have preferred to be closer to the main shopping/restaurants. Every night we took a taxi or tuk-tuk(they are expensive for the distance!) There is a shuttle to take you up and down to the main entrance which was great with kids. While I say the location is a downside some would argue the view is amazing and makes it worth it. Breakfast was fine but no variety, 7 days - identical.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

The hotel is located at the northern end of Patong beach up in a hill about 300-400ft above sea level and about a 25min walk to Bangla Rd. You do notice the lower humidity from the elevation compared to the beach which is good.The view is fantastic from reception and the 3 level pool and from an ocean facing room should you be fortunate enough to get one. The hotel is designed to be a self contained village away from the busy rush of Patong which may well suit a family with young kids that are happy to play around the pool or be entertained by the activites provided by the hotel. The driveway up to the hotel is steep and windy and as such the hotel provides a complimentary (+ tip) golf buggy to take guests up and down should you not wish to walk. The prices of things provided in the hotel are quite expensive compared with ground level (in the order of 3-4 times) which might be ok if you have an unlimited supply of funds but not so good for those wanting better value for money. The rooms, cleanliness, and service were all very good, but the isolation of this hotel made getting around quite inconvenient. This hotel would probably not suit the elderly or less mobile individuals or those wanting to have a convenient location close to the action of Patong. I would recommend the hotel to those who are looking for an oasis and not concerned about the inconvenient location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

My family of 4 stayed at the Novotel in interconnecting Sea View Rooms between 30th of June to 8th of July 2009. The staff were very friendly, responsive & always greeted us with a smile. The rooms were clean & tidy & the only problem we had in our rooom was an odour coming through the airconditioning which was attended to promptly.
The facities at the resort were excellent including plentifal buffet breakfast, wonderful 3 tier pool, very relaxing massages & great views of Patong.
Nothing appeared too much trouble to the staff at reception who helped us with tour information & booking our flight seats for our return journey home.
The number of stairs were significant but you soon got use to them & could get a lift from the main gate up to reception area using the complimentary shuttle service. We would definately stay there again when we return to this beutiful island paradise!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

If you ever experienced any other 4 star hotel in Thailand, you will find the Novotel overpriced and the service mediocre compare to other. Thai people are extremely welcoming and warm. Here you will be greeted by a French Man and a Chinese Lady !

The mutli level concept is terrible. Had to go up and down hundred of steps just to get to our room. We checkout 2 days later and move to the Impiana Cabana located directly on the beach...... Now that is Thai at it best !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Resort

Address: Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#16 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Phuket is a 4 star hotel tucked into a small hillside above the pristine waters of Kalim Bay, within easy reach of the exciting nightlife and shopping of nearby Patong. Enjoy a unique holiday at our resort, which features Thai architecture and is surrounded by 8 acres of lush tropical gardens. The hotel boasts a three tiered swimming pool, Thai massage centre and Kids Club, plus two bars and three restaurants for you to enjoy. The perfect destination for that dream tropical getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Hotel Patong
Novotel Hotel Phuket
Novotel Resort Phuket
Novotel Patong
Patong Novotel
Novotel Phuket Resort Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.