We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pools” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Phuket Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Phuket Resort to your Saves list
Novotel Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 278 Hotels in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,583 Reviews
oz
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great pools”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Glad the new manager is fixing the problems esp the buffet breakfast as quality of food terrible , no fresh juice , healthy food choice poor , dirty dishes left around, we witnessed improvements by the end of our stay . Pity customers do not use tongs when touching food ? Why so much gastro ? May should clean hands before entering food area .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    568
    226
    87
    40
See reviews for
435
651
57
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This Novotel is convenient and just far enough away from the main action of Patong to make it a good place for vacationers that wish to enjoy a peaceful evening with an excellent view of the ocean.
The rooms are compact but contain all the necessities required because if you come to Phuket and stay in your room, your next stop should be a "Rubber Room"
The staff right down to the last driver are well versed in English and seem to have fun doing their job even though it entails putting up with some strange tourists at times.

I did find a few things that can be improved and they really are "Little Things". The breakfast buffet is adequate but the service is poor, instead of having a nice fresh cup of coffee when you are seated you have to get it yourself from a row of metal coffee jugs that sit on hot plates and continually heat until you could tar a road with the contents. The staff is not their to cater to you and there was one particular waiter / table clearer that looked seriously like an un made bed. It is one thing to wear a white shirt, but another to tuck it in and look presentable to the guests.

The room was cleaned but it was difficult to see through the balcony doors as they were just too dirty on the outside, mind you the balcony furniture was nothing to write home about either, hard with a cheap little plastic cushion on it.

Outside of the few issues I would rate this hotel at about 3-1/2, but a good place for those that do not require pampering.

Room Tip: If you acquire your room through Agoda, make sure you get the room you paid for! High floors in buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, Room Division Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Rigcat,

Warm greetings from Novotel Phuket Resort in Thailand.
Following your recent stay with us, I would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience.
I have noted your comment regarding the “poor” service experienced during breakfast so as the cleanliness of the sliding door giving access to the balcony in your room and would like to apologize for the inconvenience experienced.
As mentioned, there is always place for improvement and we will definitively learn from your feedback.
Actually, please rest assured appropriate actions have been already taken in order to avoid any further occurrences.
By the way, thank you for the tip regarding the best views as we do have indeed great panorama from our rooms.
Thanks again for your comment and we hope to welcome you back again soon at Novotel Phuket Resort.

Kind regards,

Julien Otzenberger
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vientiane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

i stayed at the Novotel just 3 nights and I had most pleasant experience ever. Very friendly and helpfull staff with good english, rooms are comfortable and view from our window was beautifull .Nice view of beach from hotel

Room Tip: nice clean hotel in the heart of nature very close to patong beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel just 3 nights and I had most pleasant experience ever. Very friendly and helpfull staff with good english, rooms are comfortable and view from our window was beautifull .The most important fact for us was that Novotel is children friendly hotel and we felt safe for our child. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, Room Division Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Olesya,

Thank you for the great feedback following your recent stay with us.
We are actually so proud to know that you had the most pleasant experience ever and this is exactly what we strive to provide at Novotel Phuket Resort.
Please feel free to send me a note by mail whenever you intend to come back so that we can make your stay as memorable and enjoyable than the previous one.

Kind regards,

Julien Otzenberger
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My partner stayed at the Novotel in Oct and was pleased with the resort and it's location. Although the resort is located away from the main shopping areas there are tuk tuks always parked outside the main entrance that will take you anywhere you need to go as well as a shuttle bus that runs trips to Jung Ceylon - a main shopping centre filled with shops that have proper branded goods. The 3 tier pool connected by waterfalls at the resort was an attractive addition and we utilised all 3, having a bar by the lower pool as well as a spa made the hot days more enjoyable also. We were lucky enough to have a meal in the Thai restaurant before it closed for renovations and the food was of a good standard, very enjoyable and full of flavour. The restaurant where we had breakfast was inviting, it was nice to sit outside on the balcony & enjoy the view of the Andaman Sea. Although the food was cooked well and tasted good the variety and selections on offer was a bit ordinary - the restaurant offered special nights of a different culture and we shared in both the Swiss and the Seafood buffets, although the food was nice the Swiss night was just a nice roast dinner and did not offer anything different. The seafood buffet was also slightly disappointing - not a lot of variety on offer unfortunately and what was there seemed to be small servings, one thing missing - for me anyway was oysters, something every seafood buffet should have. Simon- The F&B manager was very welcoming & hospitable, he made a point of talking to everyone which was noticed as a highlight, he had only recently started when we stayed so hopefully he can introduce new flavours and more variety to the menu, overall thought the food was of good quality.
Our room was comfortable, the Thai touches to the room were nice too. I liked the bathrobes so much that I bought ne as a souvenir : ) I would have liked to have had a bath in the room as I love my soaks but other than that it was a good room.The openness of the foyer & main entrance was refreshing & very appealing. All the staff were warm, welcoming & very helpful, the security guard at the main entrance - Manasae was very efficient, professional and welcoming, both my partner & I work in the security industry so we were very impressed with the efficiency of the guards.
Overall our stay was a good first visit to Phuket & we enjoyed our time there, thank you to all staff for making our trip memorable.

Room Tip: The only means to get around the resort is on foot & as some of the rooms are in a building set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Novotel Phuket for our honeymoon. From the moment we checked in with Garlyn at the front desk we were impressed by the happy gentle nature of all of the staff .. Nothing was too much trouble .. we had an ocean view room which had a magnificent view, the bed was a little hard but a call to housekeeping resulted in extra bed toppers and the rest of our stay was fine. Our room was maintained by the ever cheerful and obliging Supit .. she was just delightful.
We ate mostly at the coffee house .. All staff were there were happy, respectful and only too happy to see that we were taken care of. when we didn't have the buffet we were able to order from the menu and all food that we had was well presented and delicious. A very special thanks to Simon, Alex, Maria and Arnold and the guys who organise the shuttle service

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, Room Division Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for letting us knows about your recent experience at Novotel Phuket Resort.
We are more than glad to know you had a good time with us, especially on that special occasion.
I will definitively share your comment not only with Garlyn, Simon, Alex, Maria, Arnold, Supit and the bell team but with all our staff as well. Indeed, i am pretty sure it will serve as an encouragement to all of them in continuously striving to provide outstanding service.
Thanks again for your positive feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

Julien Otzenberger
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Resort

Address: Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#18 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#23 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Phuket is a 4 star hotel tucked into a small hillside above the pristine waters of Kalim Bay, within easy reach of the exciting nightlife and shopping of nearby Patong. Enjoy a unique holiday at our resort, which features Thai architecture and is surrounded by 8 acres of lush tropical gardens. The hotel boasts a three tiered swimming pool, Thai massage centre and Kids Club, plus two bars and three restaurants for you to enjoy. The perfect destination for that dream tropical getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Hotel Patong
Novotel Hotel Phuket
Novotel Resort Phuket
Novotel Patong
Patong Novotel
Novotel Phuket Resort Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.