We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far less than four stars!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Phuket Resort

Save Saved
You added Novotel Phuket Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 261 hotels in Patong
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Far less than four stars!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We brought our eight night accomodation for this hotel from Deals.com, an Australian marketing company that promotes holiday stays amongst other things! We stayed here on 29th September and only for one night. The room was dark, dank smelling and noisy aircon and a water leak from bathroom wall into main room. The bed was like sleeping on a kitchen table top and the only solution we were offered was a couple of extra doonas placed on top of the mattress. Like the other reviews, we were not advised of the renovations or closure of main pool and also experienced very poor management and were only dealt with by new trainees. We checked out after only one night, hence our honeymoon began with disappointment.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from the Novotel Phuket Resort.
Thank you very much for your comments with regards to your stay with us.
We have aknowledged your feedback and I would like to sincerely extend my apologies for the inconvenient experience you had during that stay.
Please be ensured we have taken your comment very seriously and that we will address every single issue raised with attention.
Once again, thank you for sharing your concerns with us and hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back in order to show you we have made some improvments.

Thank you for your understanding and best regards,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    580
    518
    208
    82
    40
See reviews for
397
590
56
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

It's a wrong time to visit Phuket.everyday heavy rain, plus the local food and water are so not clean. No matter where you go for food, just get sick right after. We 4 people for 2 days no food no any activities due to the gastroenteritis with fever! More than one family we met here had this illness. Finally one day made decision to go phiphi island with speedboat, then the heavy rain and strong wave made me regret this whole trip! Wasting money and time. The novotel itself is fine. Staff are friendly. Rooms are clean.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Novotel Resort for your recent stay in Phuket. and letting us know afterwards about your experience.
For your information, you came into Phuket during the monsoon season which explain the heavy rain.
Therefore, we rather suggest you to come from November to April in which period you will experience sunny and bright weather.
Having say that, we woudl like to thank you for your positive feedback with regards to your stay at Novotel and we definitively hope to see you again some days.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

A nice place with friendly staff.
Renovations underway in September which was a bit of a disappointment, it would have been nice to be told when we booked. The main pool was out of bounds, and there was lots of jack hammering. They were lacquering the timber in the bar in the foyer, the smell was overpowering.
The buffet was a bit dodgy, hot food was served cold, and cold food was served warm (not kept in refrigeration).

If it wasn't for the renovations & the dodgy buffet it would have been a great place!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

At first i want to report 80%from the reviews above mine.
The hotel was clean and the service was quite good ,about the sea food bufee,i could say that it was terible but clean and healthy and will not cause illness.
The room was comfortable&big.
About the hotel location,it was not so good because of the mountain but there was a transportation device and it was always available ,take care that i'd my children with me and it was fun for us and the advantage about the location was that the view from up there was v.good and you could rent motorcycle for transportation and keep it in the hotel parking.
NOT BAD,NOT EXCELLANT,,,be fare!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Both of us spent 2 days confined to our room being violently ill after the seafood buffet! We reported it the morning after the buffet but no follow up as to our well-being! Reported it again when we started to recover as we wanted to prevent others from becoming sick but no real concern. Hotel is also under renovations & one pool is closed. Otherwise it's probably an ok place to stay if you like walking up hills.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. it’s a decent place with very helpful staff. They have tennis court, which we used and enjoyed. It has free shuttles to jungceylon mall, which is very helpful. Rooms are clean and decent, sea view rooms are better. However, vintage park is little better than this in terms of room and location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

First of all. This hotel is one of the best hotels in Patong. I have stayed here 3 times. The staff goes out of there way to make sure that everyone is happy and the guest get looked after. If you are looking for a great holiday this is the best hotel for sure.Working in a hotel myself I know that you can not make everyone happy. But some of the things that is on tripadvisor is just not so. Hotels has to get renovated so get with it. I have never ha any problems with the shuttle bus. And also never have been sick from any of there food. So come on please gest real. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Resort

Address: Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#18 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#27 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Phuket is a 4 star hotel tucked into a small hillside above the pristine waters of Kalim Bay, within easy reach of the exciting nightlife and shopping of nearby Patong. Enjoy a unique holiday at our resort, which features Thai architecture and is surrounded by 8 acres of lush tropical gardens. The hotel boasts a three tiered swimming pool, Thai massage centre and Kids Club, plus two bars and three restaurants for you to enjoy. The perfect destination for that dream tropical getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Novotel Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Hotel Patong
Novotel Hotel Phuket
Novotel Resort Phuket
Novotel Patong
Patong Novotel
Novotel Phuket Resort Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.