We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Phuket Resort

Save Saved
You added Novotel Phuket Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 273 hotels in Patong
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Big rooms, we loved local decoration. Excellent breakfast (we loved the strange local fruits). 3 superb swimming pools. Peaceful accommodation and excellent view because it's on a hill (mini bus is offered).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Pelazi,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Being located in a tropical country, we do our best to introduce the local culture and also a number of local tropical food and fruits to our guests to experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Phuket Resort and please do not hesitate to contact the hotel for your future visits.

Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    586
    530
    216
    83
    40
See reviews for
409
598
57
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Fantastic location! Far enough away from the seedy part of Patong Beach. Amazing pool, gorgeous rooms with fantastic view. Accommodation came with complimentary dinner and massage. Massage was disappointing as it was to be for 1 hour and only went for 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view - they are breathtaking. Make sure you get the full one hour on your mass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Lisa G,
Sawatdee Krap and the warmest greetings from the paradise island of Phuket.
Thank you very much for your great comments of our resort. Our location is one of our strongest asset and being away from the hustle and bustle of Patong, but at the same time still close to where all the action is, is one of our best feature.
I have shared your comments with our team and the Massage center and instruct them to be more clear with their services in the future.
You are right, our best rooms are our Sea View rooms as you will get a great view of the Patong Bay during the day and Patong nightlights in the evening. The sunset from the balcony is just stunning.
We look forward to having you back with us soon.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is our second time at this resort and we love it. The rooms are beautiful, the location is great, the staff are just wonderful. Breakfast was good - the pool was brilliant. We love this resort and the staff - we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear travellingwoodburrys,
Thank you very much for your great comments again and also for returning to the Novotel Phuket Resort again. I am delighted to hear that my team had again met your expectations and had again did what they do best, which is taking care of you.
I hope to see you back here for your third time and I hope it would be soon.
Do let me know of your next travel plan.
Looking forward to seeing you again at the Novotel Phuket Resort.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a very good hotel.

Pros: Great location, next to the beach. Friendly staff. Cheap drinks at the hotel bar during happy hour. The hotel owner and his son were very nice to us, and even gave us a 10% discount to encourage us to go on some of the tours.

Cons: There are various day tips that you can do whilst in Phuket. They include: Phi Phi island (lovely beaches & water, but crowded with many boats full of tourists), Fantasia show, and James Bond island. All these day trips are EXPENSIVE. And we booked thru the hotel. But then regretted it instantly, because if you book via the touts/shops on the any street in Phuket, you can get the same trip for 20-40% cheaper. In short, do not book your posh day trip thru the hotel, it is a rip off.

Other cons is that the hotel breakfast is quite boring and small in scope. You get bored of trying the same sausages after a few days. Lastly, they are currently installing elevators, and hopefully it should be finished sometime in 2013. But it was exhausting to have to walk 3-4 flights of stairs all the time.

Lastly, the hotel staff supervisor woman was nasty. We wanted to book an taxi to the airport on our last day. And I rang concierge and asked her to sort it out for me. Instead, they just patched my phone call DIRECT to a local taxi company and expected me to make the booking myself! With the taxi company.

In short. For the kind of money, you pay, this kind of service was not what we liked.

Lastly, Phuket is a nice place. But for the kind of money you spend, I would suggest you seriously consider other places like Cebu in the Phillipines for example. More friendly people, bettery quality beaches, lovely clear water and lots of fish in the water. Yes. If you want a sun & beach holiday, I would recommend you go to Cebu in the Phillipines;

Room Tip: Ask for block 5, near the hotel main entrance, and ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Ian0345,
Warm greetings from the sunny island of Phuket.
Thank you very much for your comments with regards to your stay with us.
I have shared your comments with my team to ensure that should there be anything that they can improve, it will be done and I will personally look into these matters.
The hotel does offer organized tours and sightseeing trips through our tour desk. We provide convenience to our guests, where they do not have to search for these themselves and also we provide safety in the sense that all the services that we offer through our Tour Desk area safe and professionally organized, and most importantly, properly insured. And for such reason, they are sometimes priced slightly higher that than the street-side tour counters.
Again, thank you very much for your comments.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff at the Novotel are really delightful and everyone has a smile for you. However- the hotel is getting pretty old now. It's really clean and sparkling but it is showing it's age.
We knew before going that the hotel is on a steep hill- no secrets there. What you don' t think about it that there isn't just hill up to the hotel- the entire hotel to go anywhere involves steps. We were fine but if you are elderly or have toddlers I think it would become tedious.

We tossed up between Novotel and B Lay Tong, and after doing a walk through of B lay i wished we had stayed there because it was new and had a lovely pool and it was on flat ground! This end of Patong beach is really good though- the beach is nicer and it is so much queiter. It is very crowded at the southern end.

Something we loved about the Novotel was the sea breezes you get due to being up high and the sunsets were magnificent. Breakfast was not as good as the Novotel bangkok which is a lot cheaper as a hotel. It was also a bit disorganised with collection of dirty plates and cutlery. This isn't the fault of the staff who were extremely obliging when asked- rather who trained them in my opinion. If you stay here I wouldn't be looking at spending any more than $150 a night or you might be disappointed. Comparing to Novotel BKK at less than half what we paid here which has great rooms, pool and new bathrooms i think they need to take a look at a refurb soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear intrepidaussie_8,
Warm greetings from the Novotel Phuket Resort.
Thank you very much for your kinds words and comments and the team and I greatly appreciate it.
I am glad that you had pointed out all the points where we can improve and I have shared this with my team and ensured that the people concerned have taken the steps to get them rectified. The team leaders have increased the amount of training that is being done to new team members and I can assure that it has improved since.
The location of the resort is just strategic that in addition to the great view that you get here, you will also get a nice breeze flowing into every corner of the resort as you mentioned.
Again, thank you very much for you feedback and I hope that the next time that you are back in Phuket, it will be with us again.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Novotel Phuket up the hill was a brilliant place to stay, friendly staff and the best views!! Didn't want to leave. Close to everything. The breakfast was amazing, catered for everyone. The pools were awesome and a great place to relax with privacy.

Room Tip: Sea view room... Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Der rTrudy P,
Warmest greetings from the paradise island of Phuket.
Thank you very much for your kind words. My team and I truly appreciate your positive feedback. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Phuket Resort soon.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Resort

Address: Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#20 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#23 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Phuket is a 4 star hotel tucked into a small hillside above the pristine waters of Kalim Bay, within easy reach of the exciting nightlife and shopping of nearby Patong. Enjoy a unique holiday at our resort, which features Thai architecture and is surrounded by 8 acres of lush tropical gardens. The hotel boasts a three tiered swimming pool, Thai massage centre and Kids Club, plus two bars and three restaurants for you to enjoy. The perfect destination for that dream tropical getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Novotel Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Hotel Patong
Novotel Hotel Phuket
Novotel Resort Phuket
Novotel Patong
Patong Novotel
Novotel Phuket Resort Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.