We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday at Novotel Phuket resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Phuket Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Phuket Resort to your Saves list
Novotel Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    619
    236
    91
    41
See reviews for
476
703
66
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff at the Novotel are really delightful and everyone has a smile for you. However- the hotel is getting pretty old now. It's really clean and sparkling but it is showing it's age.
We knew before going that the hotel is on a steep hill- no secrets there. What you don' t think about it that there isn't just hill up to the hotel- the entire hotel to go anywhere involves steps. We were fine but if you are elderly or have toddlers I think it would become tedious.

We tossed up between Novotel and B Lay Tong, and after doing a walk through of B lay i wished we had stayed there because it was new and had a lovely pool and it was on flat ground! This end of Patong beach is really good though- the beach is nicer and it is so much queiter. It is very crowded at the southern end.

Something we loved about the Novotel was the sea breezes you get due to being up high and the sunsets were magnificent. Breakfast was not as good as the Novotel bangkok which is a lot cheaper as a hotel. It was also a bit disorganised with collection of dirty plates and cutlery. This isn't the fault of the staff who were extremely obliging when asked- rather who trained them in my opinion. If you stay here I wouldn't be looking at spending any more than $150 a night or you might be disappointed. Comparing to Novotel BKK at less than half what we paid here which has great rooms, pool and new bathrooms i think they need to take a look at a refurb soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear intrepidaussie_8,
Warm greetings from the Novotel Phuket Resort.
Thank you very much for your kinds words and comments and the team and I greatly appreciate it.
I am glad that you had pointed out all the points where we can improve and I have shared this with my team and ensured that the people concerned have taken the steps to get them rectified. The team leaders have increased the amount of training that is being done to new team members and I can assure that it has improved since.
The location of the resort is just strategic that in addition to the great view that you get here, you will also get a nice breeze flowing into every corner of the resort as you mentioned.
Again, thank you very much for you feedback and I hope that the next time that you are back in Phuket, it will be with us again.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Novotel Phuket up the hill was a brilliant place to stay, friendly staff and the best views!! Didn't want to leave. Close to everything. The breakfast was amazing, catered for everyone. The pools were awesome and a great place to relax with privacy.

Room Tip: Sea view room... Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Der rTrudy P,
Warmest greetings from the paradise island of Phuket.
Thank you very much for your kind words. My team and I truly appreciate your positive feedback. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Phuket Resort soon.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for couple of days.Hotel is set back off road up a very steep hill-you have been warned!!!
Rooms set in small blocks but very quiet with stunning views.Lots of dark wood which I found bit depressing but rooms are clean and cool.
Pools set over 3 levels so space for everyone with sunbeds and towels all available.
Pool bar perfect location for watching sunset with cold drink in hand!
Breakfast plentiful,tasty and lots of choice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear letsgomurphy,
Greetings from Phuket.
Thank you very much for your kind words. My team and I greatly appreciate your feedback.
We hope to see you back with us soon so that we can show you our newly refurbished room or our deluxe room (a higher category) where it has a different set up and color scheme.
I look forward to seeing you back here soon.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

After many years of reading TA, this is my first review. After staying at The Novotel Resort from 10th Jan to 20th Jan 2013, I really felt obliged to put some effort in from my side.

Location, layout, style, pools, facilities were simply excellent. this location is close to the bussle of Patong (15 minute walk) but far enough away to not hear or see. Quite peaceful. the hotel bus will take you into the town if you wish and pick you up too (up to 16.15). Once in Patong, there are 100s of restaurants. there are also excellent restaurants on the road just outside the hotel.
The hill is steep, but did not cause us a concern. It may be tough for young families. I suggest they try to book rooms on the pool levels.
The pools were on 3 levels so the guests were split across them.
The gym had everything we needed from treadmill to weights. Good sauna and shower.
And free internet access across the hotel.

The rooms were clean and well decorated. We had 3 adults in a beach view (delux) at the top of the hill. Room cleaning was beyond our expectation. For example, I became ill after eating in Patong one evening. The cleaner found me laying in bed the next day. She cleaned up quickly and left me alone. About 3 hours later, I received a call from receptation asking if there is anything I need for my recovery? Do I need a doctor? Thats great hotel staff teamwork.


Breakfast was fantastic and we looked forward to it daily. The offering was huge and the quality high. All nationalities were catered for. Huge choice. The restaurant staff were great too - they are so friendly. You need to be careful and clear with language as there are many nationalities, but they do their best by offering excellent service in a very friendly way.

We ate snacks and dinner in the hotel too, but usually we went to Patong for dinner, which is so cheap with great offerings.

the service and staff across the hotel is just 100%. Restaurant, room cleaning, reception, tours, spa were so friendly with no pressure.

Other comments. a) the beds are hard. It did not bother us. b) designated smoking areas would be good

All in all a great holiday. Well done Novotel Resort

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPhuket, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear philip h,
Warm greetings from the Novotel Phuket Resort.
Thank you very much for your kinds words. My team and I truly appreciate your honest opinion of the resort.
I am sure that this review would also benefit our future guests as its very detailed and informative.
Do let us know should you plan to come back to the resort in the future. We are all looking forward to having you back with us.
Thank you.

Shafar Jamaludin | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Novotel Phuket Resort for our honeymoon in july. The hotel has a perfect location: you are just in the centre of Patong but away from its crowd at the same time. It takes 15 minutes to walk to the very centre or you may take tuktuk which is quite cheap and would take you there within some minutes. The hotel itself is very lovely, clean, the food is good and the staff is really friendly. It should be 5 stars hotel indeed. We have perfect memories about the hotel, the view, the pool.. Everything is just so good in Novotel Phuket Resort. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Breakfast was good although tea and coffee service not very attentive. I had to get my own.

The room is average but the bathroom is the worst. Plumbing is really bad. Whole bathroom was flooded when I shower. Water wasn't going down fast enough and the shower floor was same level as the floor, causing a flood in the whole bathroom. Shower also had this weird seat thingy that was mouldy and I can't quite figure out the function.

The only good thing is the location. Would not return here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Resort

Address: Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#18 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Phuket is a 4 star hotel tucked into a small hillside above the pristine waters of Kalim Bay, within easy reach of the exciting nightlife and shopping of nearby Patong. Enjoy a unique holiday at our resort, which features Thai architecture and is surrounded by 8 acres of lush tropical gardens. The hotel boasts a three tiered swimming pool, Thai massage centre and Kids Club, plus two bars and three restaurants for you to enjoy. The perfect destination for that dream tropical getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Hotel Patong
Novotel Hotel Phuket
Novotel Resort Phuket
Novotel Patong
Patong Novotel
Novotel Phuket Resort Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.