We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - want to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Phuket Resort

Save Saved
You added Novotel Phuket Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 273 hotels in Patong
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great place to stay - want to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This resort was truly beautiful. The rooms were a bit old but hey - they were clean and fine! We don't travel to spend the time in the rooms, rather to explore the country. As it so happens the rooms were perfectly fine even if we did decide to stay in! And non-smoking rooms meant non-smoking! you couldn't smell smoke like you can in other hotels so called "non-smoking" rooms. We had 2 interconnecting rooms and it worked well!

The location was fine - sure it was quite a hike away from the main shops and night markets etc, but it was a lovely 15 minute walk although most nights we walked there but caught the disco tuk tuk back to the hotel. We really enjoyed the disco tuk tuk's they were a whole heap of fun! Yes the resort is ontop of a steep hill but there is a shuttle that takes you to and from the bottom whenever you are ready - very handy!

The pool was wonderful - nice and clean with basketball, volleyball options in one area, a spa in another, baby pool as well. Very well maintained!

The buffet breakfast was nice, clean, fresh, enough to choose from.The staff made sure everything was kept clean, one of the chefs was constantly walking around checking up on the buffet - it was nice to see!

The staff - wow! What a wonderful bunch of people. They were so polite and extremely helpful. It didn't matter where you were or what you needed they were fantastic. They truly are a credit to the Novotel Chain - Thank you guys - thank you so much!!!

The only downside of this place is the fact that there are no lifts. This wouldn't have been an issue for us if our daughter didn't fall and hurt her foot 2 days before we left home and had to be on crutches the entire time. She had to use the crutches up and down 60 steps a couple of times a day. Unfortunately due to the rain she slipped and fell over twice on the slippery staircase. They need a mat there to prevent falls as it was very slippery even without crutches and just putting up a 'slippery when wet sign' isn't enough. So watch the timber stairs in the rain.

I strongly recommend this resort to anyone and we will be back - without the crutches!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    586
    530
    216
    83
    40
See reviews for
409
598
57
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

a wonderful choice just away from the hustle and bustle but near enough to walk is up on a hillside but catered for and lifts are being put in if needed great staff and clean resort will stay again pools are lovely and happy hour is great carts will take you down to entrance and always plenty of tuk tuks waiting to take you any where if you dont want to walk also great seafood restaurant across the road if you dont want to eat in one of the resorts restaurants

Room Tip: recomend building 5 with a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Large hotel up on the hill - relaxing location but means a bit of a hike if you want to get into town for lunch or dinner each day. Probably a 25 min walk to the town centre. Rooms are comfortable but in desperate need of a reservation - probably things looked the same 15 years ago (aside from the nice tv). Tiled floors proved very noisy - could hear people moving furniture around upstairs all evening. Very nice pool area.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Novotel at Patong provided spectacular views and excellent service. The architecture of the main bar and restaurants was outstanding. And the gardens well maintained. The hotel provided a welcome oasis from the busy pace of Phuket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely views at the Novotel. Staff very attentive and welcoming. Stayed in adjoining seaview rooms for a family of 4. Rooms tidy and have bar fridge.kids loved the pool area but the kids club is only suitable for 6 and under. We had the breakfast both days of our stay before we headed off to our next destination and it was quite good. Vegetarian options were available and as my husband was vegan the chief came and spoke to us personally on how the food was prepared and cooked, he was very friendly and after speaking with him we decided to eat there. We enjoyed it and the variety was good.The only downside was the extra charge for earl gray tea but kids ate free so would stay at Novotel and do the breakfast again. We liked the fact the hotel is located mountain side as this adds to the views not only looking over the sea but city and mountain views also. Beds are firm and the room does have a safe. Another delight for the children was that we could watch the Patong fireworks from our room each night.

Room Tip: Don't leave food out in rooms as ants will appear and devour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived late at night tired from the trip and eager for a rest, the staff couldn't have been more accomodating, we paid for a high room overlooking the ocean and the scenery was breathtaking. to be truthful we found the staff as a whole to be very friendly and helpfull and being a rease myself we had a lot of laughs together. well worth the stay and the opportubity to spend some quality time with these people. Highly suggest you learn a few simple phrases of greeting and thank you, the people respond as we would at home, with a smile. the rersort was relaxing and quiet but within easy reach of the many markets and beachfront, the resort runs mini buses every hour to the main part of town and you can use them to return, a very reliable free service.

Room Tip: higher floors are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathankot, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very impressive hotel. Best for families. My 5year old son enjoyed very much. The pools are great. Hotel provides free shuttel to jungceylon that is very helpful. beautiful views from all over the resort. Staff was at their best. Rooms are very well kept.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Resort

Address: Patong Beach Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Patong
#20 Romantic Hotel in Patong
#23 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Phuket is a 4 star hotel tucked into a small hillside above the pristine waters of Kalim Bay, within easy reach of the exciting nightlife and shopping of nearby Patong. Enjoy a unique holiday at our resort, which features Thai architecture and is surrounded by 8 acres of lush tropical gardens. The hotel boasts a three tiered swimming pool, Thai massage centre and Kids Club, plus two bars and three restaurants for you to enjoy. The perfect destination for that dream tropical getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Novotel Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Hotel Patong
Novotel Hotel Phuket
Novotel Resort Phuket
Novotel Patong
Patong Novotel
Novotel Phuket Resort Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.