We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining out in Patong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
200 mile rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 391 Restaurants in Patong
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Maryborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Dining out in Patong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

During our week long stay in Patong, we dined out each evening. After 6 evenings, we would rate this the best restaurant so far. Could not fault any aspect. The restaurant has been recently tastefully renovated. Chairs are cane with comfortable cushions. The bar area is excellent with a bar tender to match. This gives the place a great atmosphere. Woven place mats and a vase of petite flowers on each table make great decor. Good selection of mood music add to the dining experience. This restaurant has linen serviettes.
We enjoyed the tradition Thai food but there is a large selection international foods on the menu. Beers are exceptionally cold, much to our liking. Bottled beer was served in coolers.
Prices are fractionally more expensive than other budget restaurants in the vicinity but this restaurant is well worth the extra. Staff were well presented, friendly and efficient.
Don't be offended by the occasional well presented child street vendor wandering through the restaurant. This is the practice for Phuket. Also as always check your bill for the prices set out in the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant for Lunch or Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited Banana leaf several times during our stay this year it has been renovated as when we were in Patong last year we arrived and was disapointed to see it had gone!!
On speaking to the owner she now has 3 businesses attatched, the hair salon and nail beauty day spa next door.
The quality of the food and service is fantastic all the food if freshly made and the happy hour cocktails 100 baht each available 10am-11pm are the best in town and I have tried a few!!
The barman who makes them prides himself on the quality and presentation of the drinks .
Can highly recommend this restaurant and is definately worth a visit. We will be back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go for the cocktails!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited Banana Leaf several times during our recent trip to Patong. The menu is extensive, the food is fresh and delicious, very reasonable prices and friendly helpful staff. The BEST cocktails in Patong...happy "hour" was from 10am to 11pm with cocktails for 99baht. Try the BananaColada :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, Awesome Staff, Great service!! PERFECT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The friendliest and most helpful staff. The seafood was absolute perfection. They cater to every nationality. :) Definately worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.