We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stalls all the same” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Patong OTOP Shopping Paradise

Patong OTOP Shopping Paradise
Rat U Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 45 Shopping in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 78 Reviews
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Stalls all the same”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Nothing new here from what you can purchase on the street. Don't like the stall owners most are not Thai and are very pushy. The one thing that annoyed me greatly was that they very much like to mock the Aussie accent very badly. That turned me off and I was determined not to buy from them. Went once and did not return. The bars were good out the back though mostly Aussie themed bars but shopping I would give a miss. It gets 3 stars purely for the bars.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    34
    17
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“friendly bars and horrible shopkeepers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I have been coming to patong for over eight years now and have always packed light and purchased the clothes that I needed on holiday at OTOP.
It has gradually got more expensive for the cheaply made clothing and harder to barter the price down.
It also looks like they have the same stock as years gone by.
New designs are rare.
The shopkeeper's have become stubborn and rude ( with some exceptions at the back of OTOP )
The token battering in which they engage in is a waste of time,I spent five minutes bartering with a feisty little Indian girl for a cheaply made singlet and all she would go down was ten baht.
Thanks but no thanks,She kept her singlet and I kept my money.
No Sale,No Profit
I now intend to pack clothes for holidays and purchase nothing at OTOP.
The bars at OTOP are as usual a nice way to get an Ice cold drink (at good prices) with the very friendly Thai girls ,who have not lost any of their charm over the years.
My wife and I always return to these bars year after year as we love the bar girls wonderful smiles.
I will be returning in six months to visit patong again,but will not be clothes shopping at OTOP.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best salt baked cod with cold coconut water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

One of the better fresh food seafood markets I have seen in a while. We had the bbqed salt baked cod with thai mango salad and cold coconut water. All for under thb 500.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie missing Phuket
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bars are better than Bangla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

In the Otop Markets, opposite Hard Rock in Patong there is a myriad of shopping stalls but basically carry all the same stuff. Unfortunately the majority are owned by Indians these days and they are usually very rude and don't wish to haggle too much.

But, if you want to have a quiet drink or a party for that matter I suggest Lekey's Aussie Bar. The staff are friendly and the service is always great. Lekey can arrange a party for a birthday or any occasion you like. She will usually do a Thai BBQ, for free. The bar is a lot better than Bangla, especially if you have kids and a lot cheaper.

Go along... Ring the bell... Shout the bar for 1000bht...and have a fantastic time. We did.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bars great, market not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you really, desperately, must have the rubbish quality tourist oriented fake t shirts and singlets - then buy them here. Not that it is any cheaper, but everything is in the one place. Dont pay more than 150THB for any item of clothing as the next vendor will match the price. All the vendors are surly Burmese or Nepalese who know the next tourist is around the corner, so they dont haggle nicely.

The real reason to come to OTOP is for the myriad Aussie bars up and down the streets. Come and let the girls shop whilst you sink a few beers with your mate. We spent 3-4 nights at 'Fat Mama's' bar playing Jenga and Connect 4 whilst having a few cold ones.

A great experience not to be missed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patong OTOP Shopping Paradise also viewed

 

Been to Patong OTOP Shopping Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong OTOP Shopping Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.