We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't the best - stay clear” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ocean Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Ocean Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blue Ocean Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   78/2 Muen Nguen Road | Tri Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 356 Patong B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Wasn't the best - stay clear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Awful place to stay, staff were not very helpful. Lots of sassy ness coming from reception, instead of greeting me with a lovely sawadeeka she continued to look down at me and gave me attitude on top of that snatched my towel as I was returning them. She was too busy on YouTube instead of helping guest. The only good reason for staying here is great views if you book the presidential Suite with great ocean views and gold barbells. The lovely gentleman who made my omelette was a morning delight - very friendly. Stay away other than that.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    6
    8
    9
See reviews for
2
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thalang, Phuket, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

It is impossible to find a hotel in Patong that has its private beach like the blue ocean beach resort.
The staff was really nice and our rooms were really clean!
Patong beach is one of the busiest beaches in Phuket but this hotel is the only one that can offer a private beach which is something impossible to get in the island and surely gives a huge value to this incredible hotel and its unique location. There is also a pool right on the beach with a cool bar serving cocktails. The sun sets right in front of the private beach and can turn your holiday into a dream. I will definitely go back and will recommend this hotel to many friends! Really worth it!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Way out of patong despite their website. Can not get a taxi after 5 out there so was standard one night. Breakfast is a long hike down stairs then back up when you finish. Beach very average lots of rocks. I would not stay there again. As always the staff are friendly. Can not get room service after 8. We arrived in at 9 pm and had to go hungry for the night. AUSSIES CHOOSE ANOTHER

Room Tip: No good rooms here. Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOresort, Manager at Blue Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Blue Ocean Beach Resort, Tritrang group, we apologize for any of the inconveniences caused during your stay and would like to thank you for your comments.

We are currently trying very hard to improve our standards, and comments such as yours do help us get a better perspective.

There are sometimes misunderstandings between the blue ocean properties, but we do hope our guests reads its clearly about which property they have booked at.

This property is more for the people who want a little bit of a hideaway, but also not too far from the hassle. We also know many Aussies that loved staying here due to its peacefulness and the stunning views it has.

Again, very sorry for the inconveniences.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbird, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just spent nine nights at Blue Ocean and we enjoyed ourselves. There are definitely pros and cons of the resort but overall was nice.

Cons- the hotel is run down a fair bit, cracks in foundations, some of the staff aren't overly helpful, there are a lot of stairs across the resort which become tedious especially to and from breakfast, the bathrooms need a good scrub and the restaurant shuts at 6 every night.

Pros- the rooms are spacious with AMAZING views, the air conditioners are fantastic, the housekeepers, breakfast staff and engineers are overly helpful (you should defiantly have one of Arms the bartenders cocktails, they are amazing), the resort is very quiet and doesn't smell at all like Patong, the beach is beautiful and is definitely swimmable at high tide and the pool is great to swim in.

If you are after something away from the hustle and bustle of Patong, this is the place. Just be mindful that it is not a five star resort.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel is only for those who wants a hideaway, away from all the hecticness, far enough from all the hassle, but just near enough to go to the city center of Patong.

The view is fascinating, breathtaking! Very clean rooms, friendly staff and great atmosphere.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place is Great! If you want the hustle & bustle of Patong, then stay in Patong! Stop Whingeing! If you want peace & Quiet & a bit of seclusion to be with your partner? this is the perfect place. The rooms are huge with drop dead views. You couldn't ask for better. The pool is clean & great to laze around because the place isn't overcrowded, perfect! The private beach at high tide is good to swim out & snorkel on the reef. If you don't want to eat here, then just a ten minute walk along the beach to the Windsurf Restaurant is a treat in itself. The staff were super friendly & helpful. Overall, loved it! I didn't want to go home. Will be coming back.

Room Tip: Try and get upgraded to a junior sweet. The rooms are massive with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This place is so run down. Everything we tried to use didn't work incl internet, television reception, lift, safe. The food for breakfast and room service was disgusting and not eatable. The staff were like something out of fawlty towers. They did not care about the quests at all. They are all too busy playing n the internet. One female staff member at the front desk did not make any bookings we asked for and said she was too busy. There were hardly any other guests so I was not sure what she was doing. The only good staff were the cleaners. They were very friendly and very good. We were stuck there for 2 weeks. Some of the drivers on the shuttle were just rude and bad tempered. We would not recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Ocean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Beach Resort

Address: 78/2 Muen Nguen Road | Tri Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 356 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Ocean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Beach Resort, located in a quiet area on the Tri Trang Beach, is just about 5 minutes’ drive from the Patong Beach. Offering its very own private beach, with white sand and crystal clear water, is very suitable for families and friends who look for the qualities of a serene and relaxing environment whilst, on a holiday. The Resort offers a fantastic choice of two different room categories, the deluxe room, and the Junior Suite. All rooms at the Blue Ocean Beach Resort are very spacious (38 – 43 sqm) and offer sea views. Imagine staying in a room with a balcony that opens up to the vast, calm ocean with the wonderful breezes hitting you softly and frequently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Ocean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ocean Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.