We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but very misleading.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ocean Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Ocean Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blue Ocean Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   78/2 Muen Nguen Road | Tri Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 338 Patong B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice but very misleading.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

When we first got here we noticed that the resort is a far way from the advertising photos. We could tell that by the Coconut Palm being double the size.

The service there is good. The people at reception are lovely. The old security man is very nice and always smiling.

We were taken to our room, when we walked in it does look like the photos. But the bathroom was extremely dirty with the bath tub being covered in soap scum. The aircon was very noisy in the room but we had to leave it on 24/7 to dry out the room as it was so damp.

We were booked in for a 7-night stay but only stayed two nights.

The restaurant closes at 6pm so you have to walk 10mins down the road to the other resort and go to their restaurant whic is open until 11pm.

The private beach you couldn't swim in as its covered in rocks. The resort overall is a bit run down. It has an amazing view and I would definitely recommend this resort for those who are looking for a secluded place away from everything, this is the place to go.

The breakfast starts at 6:30am... we went down at 7am and it was cold as they didnt light the burners to keep it warm.

After our first night we went into Patong and asked to transfer out as its a bit to seclude for our liking. Also the shuttle bus starts at 10am and only runs until 6pm then you have to catch a tuk-tuk for around 200baht.

It's a comfortable resort for maybe a couple looking to be secluded. But for those who want to be able to explore Patong, I recommend staying in Patong Beach area.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here I recommend paying the lil extra for the Grand rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    4
    8
    7
See reviews for
2
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

On arriving the welcome wasn't the best we were taken to our room, the bathroom was big but not very clean the toilet flooded & we could not flush it without the floor been covered in the contents of the loo.
We were eventually moved to another room 2 days later, the wifi was not working for most of our stay, 2
Days later the air conditioning broke and it took a day to fix that, just very disorganised & slow to react to any problems..
I rang for room service on day at 5.30pm to be told the chef had gone so no food, there was no where else to get food around the hotel as it is quite isolated..
Breakfast was very basic & what food was there was cold...
The best feature is the view from the rooms...
Wouldn't go back I think it would be better described as a back packers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Blue Ocean Beach Resort is a nice hotel. At the reception, the staff is always smiling and wishing to help out the best they could. Since the hotel is located a little far from the city center, the hotel also arranges a shuttle bus to reach the city center. The rooms are really spacious and comfortable. The beds are clean and big. The overall atmosphere in the room is excellent, great sea view, and refreshing smell. Blue Ocean Beach Resort has its own private beach, good for swimming and relaxing. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the prices were reasonable. Great variety and good service. The breakfast restaurant is located right above the beach with a great sea view. An excellent place to have breakfast and just relax with a breathtaking view of the Patong bay. In general, as a 4 star hotel in Tri Trang Beach, I think this will be the best choice you can make!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I wasn’t quite sure when I booked this hotel for 3 nights but the moment I entered our room, I could just say “wow”. The view from the window was breathtaking. Our deluxe room was huge, clean, with a big bathroom, and separate shower area (would have appreciated it more if the separation between room and bathroom was not transparent). The room had a balcony too. The pool and private beach was lovely. The breakfast was tasty, had a lot of variety and was served with a cute smile by Tani Pon (Hope I got the name right :) ). The location is very quiet and serene. However, the hotel is not in Patong, its on Tri Trang beach, 10-15 mins away from Patong, up the hill. Hotel provides free shuttle service, last one from Patong being at 6:30PM. One more thing to be noticed is that they do not provide dinner. So, you will have to arrange it from outside. We were not informed about this during check in and hence faced some problem on our first day of stay. If you miss the shuttle a tuk-tuk or taxi would cost you 300 THB from Patong (Jungceylon) area to hotel. Also, keep a universal adapter handy. We would definitely go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

At first I wasn't sure if I would like this hotel? But I came to appreciate the huge room, the sea view and the sense that I was the only guest in the place. The only criticisms are the glass separating the bathroom with bedroom, you can see clearly somebody sitting on the toilet, so be aware of this if you are sharing and value your privacy. Also shuttle service is not frequent enough, if you miss it you have to wait 2 hours for the next one. Also restaurant space looks run down and in need of repair, but only had breakfast there a couple of times. Highlights were the double bed very comfortable and the tropical ambience - lots of sounds day and night. Overall a great deal considering hotels in patong this close to the beach would cost alot more!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The moment we arrived, the staff has welcomed us extremely well. We arrived at 9am and they allowed us to check in. All our request are entertained very well and the staff are very friendly. We enjoyed our stay truly because of the service quality delivered by all the staff in the hotel. Thumbs up.

There are two Blue Ocean, where we stayed was at Tri Trang and we found that the location of the hotel is very far. A tuk-tuk one way would cost us Thb400 without negotiating or arguing. Thank God that the hotel provided shuttle services however its limited up to 1830hours. We were disappointed especially after partying till the wee hours, worried on our transport back. Its located behind the hill tops in which if you look via a map it shows its nearby however to enter the hotel you surely need a tuk-tuk or shuttle

Overall its a beautiful quiet deserted hotel, in summary. People are friendly, hotel is very quiet, no wifi, lack of full amenities hotel standard-however what we loved the most was the level of service given by the hotel team. Kudos to them!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I feel really bad about this hotel, I believe that it could have been a lot more amazing had the staff and management had cared more about its patrons. The view is spectacular and having a private beach was a definite plus, but that was just about the only thing worth going for.

And then it all started, the bathtub had dead moths in it and when we tried taking the extra pillow from the cupboards it was very dirty.

Secondly, we tried ordering room service at 6pm but were informed the room service was closed. We had to go to the restaurant in the hotel nearby that was charging 650 baht for a buffet and a show and everything else was really expensive. It would have been worth it if we were starving, but we weren't too hungry. When we refused the buffet we were carted off to a corner and pretty much almost ignored. On another note, the next day I ordered a beef burger which came an hour later. It was cold, the bun was on very old bread and the beef didn't taste safe. We only finished the fries.

Thirdly, we were severely bitten by bed bugs. We tried sorting this out with the hotel but there was only one girl at reception who only wanted to spray our rooms. And then she said that the hotel was full and we could not get our rooms changed. After calling Agoda, we were informed that we could have gotten a room change to the bigger hotel next door but when I showed the email to the receptionist she kept saying check out, check out so we decided to check out instead. We then had to pay for hotel transfer as well, they refused to call a metered cab for us too. This whole affair took 3 hours of trying to organise and negotiate with Agoda and hotel management and quite obviously being cursed at in another language.

It has quite severely impacted our holiday as we spent the rest of our holiday itching and feeling extremely sorry for ourselves. We were only refunded one nights stay, with no apology or reparation. We have tried sorting this out but both Agoda and the hotel have ignored us. By the way, the pictures were taken in the hotel lobby during that 3 hour debacle while we were getting cursed at.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Ocean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Beach Resort

Address: 78/2 Muen Nguen Road | Tri Trang Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Ocean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Beach Resort, located in a quiet area on the Tri Trang Beach, is just about 5 minutes’ drive from the Patong Beach. Offering its very own private beach, with white sand and crystal clear water, is very suitable for families and friends who look for the qualities of a serene and relaxing environment whilst, on a holiday. The Resort offers a fantastic choice of two different room categories, the deluxe room, and the Junior Suite. All rooms at the Blue Ocean Beach Resort are very spacious (38 – 43 sqm) and offer sea views. Imagine staying in a room with a balcony that opens up to the vast, calm ocean with the wonderful breezes hitting you softly and frequently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Ocean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Beach Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ocean Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.