We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stock Standard Beach Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Phuket Vintage Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Phuket Vintage Park to your Saves list
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Rat U Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 40%
Ranked #17 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stock Standard Beach Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the Novotel for 7 nights in total and generally enjoyed our experience. The location of the hotel is great, it's on the main road running through Patong and only about a 10 minute walk to Patong beach and other attractions such as Bangala road. Despite not being on the beach, its enormous pool makes up for this! The rooms are nice enough and have large beds, may television channels, room service (which we didn't try), a big shower and small balcony overlooking the pool area. However the rooms are clearly cheaply done, but as many have said before, you get what you pay for. The main issue with the room was the noise, obvious the rooms haven't been sound proofed properly so you can hear your neighbors voices and televisions - not a major issue, but slightly annoying. As we were 'Le Club' members we had free internet in our room, which was very good. The breakfast buffet was insanely big and very impressive, in general the food was always good, however it can be like a zoo with many guests taking piles of food for themselves. Other than breakfast, we didn't eat at the hotel as it isn't cheap and the street food around the Patong area is delicious. The pool area is nice, however if you are looking to relax in a peaceful location this is not the place for you, there are a lot of kids jumping about and shouting, but what do you expect, this is a family resort. The main issue with the pool area is that it's very hard to secure a day bed, as many rude guests take them by putting towels on them, even when they're not using them. Customer service at the hotel is definitely its forte, as we were 'Le Club' members we had a private check-in, free massages, a free drink, snackbar, free internet and were even invited to a cocktail party. I would highly recommend joining the accor club if you are planning on staying at this hotel, as the benefits were great.

All in all we had a great time at the novotel, the worst part about our experience were the other guests who seemed quite rude and not friendly at all - but this is in no way the hotel's fault. I would definitely visit this Novotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    330
    106
    35
    32
See reviews for
343
316
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MELBOURNE
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Staying here for 7 nights - we were impressed with this hotel - There are 2 novotels in Patong - this on e is the newer one in Vintage Park. Plenty of restaurants and shopping adjacent to the hotel - bars, trips ,taxis and restaurants - Far enough away from Bangla Road but close enough for a tuk tuk ride - 200 baht. The breakfast caters for everyone - curries to cornflakes - bacon and eggs to croissants. If you cant find something you like you are a fussy eater. The humongous pool is excellent- a kiddies area and a swim up bar with 2 for 1 Happy Hour drinks between 4 and 6 pm. After eating on the streets for a few days we ate at the hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the competitive prices as their are no hidden taxes - unlike on the street.
The rooms are comfortable enough - the staff are accommodating -.My only complaint - the pillows are a bit hard and there is no choice unlike other hotels we have stayed at where there is a selection . The surprise of the stay - a window wall in the bedroom to see your partner shower shave and ....... But at least there was a blind to pull down to block the view.!

Room Tip: stay on the 6 th floor rooms 4000 to 5000 for the best view or get a Jacuzzi room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear NATSYS,

Many thanks for your "great" review on Tripadvisor. It is a great achievement to receive such positive comment from a frequent traveler as you.

Indeed, there are 2 Novotels in Patong. We are located in Patong itself and Novotel Resort is located on the north end hill side. This is a very important tip for all travelers. Ensure to give the right name to your driver.

So sorry if you found our pillow to hard. Actually, our rooms are set with 2 pairs of 1 soft and 1 hard pillow. Nevertheless, I will ask our Executive Housekeeper to ensure that all rooms are correctly set. Sorry for the inconvenience and do not hesitate to contact our reception team if you have any inquiries, they will be glad to assist you.

Once more, you have enhanced our location, our swimming pool, our breakfast and service. Glad you enjoyed it so much. Our prices are definitely competitive compare to outside but I would say not only the price, but the quality as well.

NATSYS, we looking forward to welcome you back in your preferred resort and do not hesitate to contact me directly at h8099-rd@accor.com for any further inquiries.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Girard
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Having previously stayed in several other 4 star hotels in Patong I was disappointed with the Novotel Vintage Park. The overall impression is that the hotel exists to process the largest possible number of guests in the space available at the lowest cost.

We stayed shortly after Chinese New Year, when at least 75% of the guests were Chinese.

First impressions were good – the hotel’s reception area was impressive. Check-in took quite a long time, 15 to 20 minutes, even though there was no queue. Because we were loyalty club members we were transferred from the reception area to the bar area to complete the check-in process – I think this was meant to a benefit – but it just meant check-in took longer than it should.

The hotel is large by Patong standards, with hundreds of identical rooms in tall, six storey blocks crowded around three sides of the pool. It creates quite a claustrophobic atmosphere.

The rooms were functional. The bathroom was relatively large with separate bath and shower, but both were very poorly fitted with large gaps between the shower panels and around the bath. Rooms had a tiny balcony with room for only one chair, so there was no possibility of enjoying it with your partner. We suffered a lot from noise from adjoining rooms, presumably because of the cheap, modular construction techniques used and a lack of sound insulation.

Room amenities were basic, just soap and shampoo in the bathroom; tea and coffee were provided but only enough for 1 cup each for 2 persons.

Breakfast was a nightmare experience, resembling feeding time at the zoo. The dining room is large, it was very busy, the guests seemed determined to pile everything from the buffet – hot & cold, sweet and savoury, Asian and Western - on their plates at the same time. Buffet items were stripped almost as soon as they were replenished. The adults were as badly behaved as the children. Although the selection of dishes was ok, the quality of the food was not great. The juice was cheap, the cereals cheap, the cakes and pastries mass produced and poor quality, no fruit had been troubled in the making of any of the jams. Hot tea was served by a waiter from a large jug of hot water in which a couple of tea bags dangled, and consequently was grey and barely drinkable. This is a particular bug bear of mine - I expect a choice of tea bags and either hot water jugs or tea pots to be available at the table so I can make tea the way I like it. But that would cost a few Baht more per guest so it will never happen at this hotel. I couldn’t get out of the restaurant fast enough every morning.

This hotel expects its guests to steal anything that isn’t screwed down, so many items in the room came with a price tag attached. Pool towels had to be signed for in blood, with a 600 Baht charge threatened if a towel wasn’t returned. I don’t doubt that if you misplaced a towel the charge would appear on your bill.

The pool was large, but let down by the most uncomfortable sun loungers I have ever experienced. The base of the lounger was convex, in defiance of the shape of the human body, and consequently it felt as though you were constantly sliding down to the bottom.

The pool bar restaurant would have been ideal for lunch except that there was no Thai food on the menu at all. I found that quite incredible. Surely they should have a local flavour to the menu. I don’t go to Thailand to eat burgers.

Service was hit and miss. Staff were pleasant and friendly enough, but on some nights we got a turn down service and other nights we didn’t. On one occasion the room was only half cleaned; the bed had been made but the bathroom not cleaned. We had to call housekeeping to get it finished.

The hotel was relatively inexpensive for a four star hotel in Patong in high season. If you’re looking for a functional hotel with few frills, and don’t mind the mass tourism experience, then I suppose it will do. Personally I prefer a hotel that makes more of an effort to provide an individual experience.

Room Tip: Apart from a couple of suites, they're all the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Hi happy travellers, just returned from my 6th stay at this hotel since it opened a few years ago. It was good then but thanks to Herve, Nicolas Rose and their dedicated staff, it just keeps on getting better. Thank you for your warm hospitalty.
This Hotel has it all...great location..only a 10 minute stroll to Jungceylon shopping mall and for those into nightlife, Bangla Road.The beach is only a 5 minute walk...but with the largest pool in Patong, filled with prestine clear water and a swim up bar...why would you bother with the sand and hawkers??
I choose a pool access room but each room category is beautifull appointed with comfy beds and crisp linen. Housekeeping is superb and serviced with a smile.The breakfast has something for everyone, serving up international and western dishes. A la Carte dinners or themed bufett's....I recommend you try the Thai buffet... fresh, delicious and authentic. For those who want to chill in their rooms , do try the Club Sandwich...they are superb.
The hotel also has a fitness centre and beauty / massage palour for those fine indulgences :-)
The hotel is large enough to accoodate all ...families , singles and couples...
I have stayed at other quality Patong establishments but realise this is the place to stay for a memorable time in Patong.
So yeah, I think my review pretty well sums it up.... I give it a 5/5...if you do not enjoy your time here...you are difficult to please. Enjoy and Happy Holidays.......

Joe G , Australia

Room Tip: I choose pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Joe G,

We have to be honest with you, we were all looking forward to see your review on Tripadvisor and glad to see that we received the maximum score for your recent stay with us.

As a guest of Novotel Phuket Vintage Park Resort since the very beginning, it is so gratifying to see that you have been able to observe all the positive changes made since your first visit.

I hope that you will stay for the entire period of your vacation in Phuket with us next time. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at h8099-rd@accor.com as soon as you have your date confirmed for another fantastic stay in your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Girard
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a perfect stay at Novotel Vintage Park! Could not fault them in the 4 days we stayed in January 2014. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, they were always availble and happy to assist. The staff and the hotel were at the level of a 5 star property and went above and beyond for us. The rooms were spacious and had all the required amenities, the hotel facilities were great.The hotel is in a perfect location, within a easy walk to the beach, shops and bars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Nicola P,

A big thank you for your "Perfect Review" about your stay 2 month ago within our resort.

Our employees are always ready and happy to assist with any of your inquiries in the pure Thai Traditional of hospitality. We were also very impressed that you compare our service and facilities to a 5 stars property. A great reward for our hard work.

Our Deluxe rooms are 38sqm combining a modern and Thai style with in each room a unique painting inspired from ancient Thai history. Located just 10 minutes walk from Jungceylong Shopping mall and 5 minutes from the beach, we are indeed in the perfect place to stay.

I will definitely add your review on our "wall of fame" so that all our employees can read it.

Nicola P, we looking forward to welcome you back in your preferred resort and do not hesitate to contact me directly at h8099-rd@accor.com for any further inquiries.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Girard
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

An absolutely fabulous two weeks stay at Novotel Vintage Park. Great central location with everything in walking distance. Tasty food in hotel & surrounding eateries. Friendly& helpful staff. We were invited to the cocktail party which was a lovely bonus. Made good use of the Happy Hour cocktails at the pool bar. Cannot wait to return to this awesome hotel. Keep up the good work Novotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Sunshinebabes40,

Thank you deeply for this "Fantastic" Review about your recent stay with us. Glad to hear that you cannot wait to return back with us.

I just show your feedback with my team and you should have seen their reaction. They had a big smile on their faces and all congratulate each others. What a great way to have them work even more harder.

Sunshinebabes40, we looking forward to welcome you back in your preferred resort and do not hesitate to contact me directly at h8099-rd@accor.com for any further inquiries.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Girard
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

we went to 5 hotels in Thailand and that was the worst and not worthy of money ....not clean, the rooms are not wide, bad customer service, the worst breakfast with so so few choices, for example they only add one type of cheese, the food tastes so bad,,,we got sick from there food,,what type of hotel is that?
the reception team are not speaking a good english.....we complained because of our room it was so so bad....they said they are going to change it and nothing happened so when we complained again they changed the room and it was our last day....
btw some rooms doesn't even have bath tub
the only good thing is the pool and it has a good service there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Phuket Vintage Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Vintage Park

Address: 89 Rat U Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#9 Family Hotel in Patong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Vintage Park 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of Patong Seaside, Novotel Phuket Vintage Park is a 4.5 stars resort featuring contemporary mixed South East Asia architecture and modern equipment. The hotel is a few steps away from shopping centers and Patong lively nightlife. The Novotel Phuket Vintage Park offers a wealth of varied activities to ensure that everyone gets the most from the site. From water-based activities in the 2,000 sqm swimming pool to aerobic classes, that cooking class to batik painting, you are free to do as you please and make of you day what you will. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Vintage Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.