We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis in the craziness they call Patong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Phuket Vintage Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Phuket Vintage Park to your Saves list
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Rat U Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 40%
Ranked #17 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“an oasis in the craziness they call Patong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have to admit, i don't like Patong nor do i normally stay in big resorts. However i was suckered in by the promises of awesome swimming pool (which i am a sucker for) and i'm so glad we stayed! We stayed for 7 nights over the silly xmas season and had a fantastic time. I still don't really like Patong but i do love the Novotel Vintage and would not hesitate to recommend both families and couples. It is a modern, well managed resort conveniently located in the northern end of Patong and was truly a sanctuary from the streets.

Upon arrival, despite not being Accor club members, we were whisked away to a their private check in area, given a list of benefits and shown to our deluxe king room. Nice !
Conveniently located on the ground floor next to the pool, we found our room to be large, modern and comfortable with some traditional thai touches. Normally i go stir crazy staying in the same hotel room for 7 nights but i was very comfortable here.

The room comes with all the mod-cons (flat screen tv, air con, free wifi, drinking water), plus lots of english tv channel options and a little patio leading out to the pool. Our bathroom was also modern and large, furnished with the basic toiletries.
The bed was big and fairly soft, unlike the typical hard beds often found across asia and europe. Sleep quality was very good. Only real issue with the rooms was the bathroom drainage was smelling funky on our last day.

The resort itself has some good facilities - small gym, fitness classes, kids classes/room, restaurant, but it's the pool that takes the gold. It's so big (and fun!) that even in peak season it hardly seems busy making it really nice to just relax at when you are tired of the beach. Happy hour at the swim up bar is a nice touch too.

Novotel Vintage Park is located on the central-northern end of Patong, one block back from the beach. It's about 10min stroll to Bangla rd and Jungceylon (shopping centre/cinema), and about 5mins to the beach. Distance wise not far at all but there's lot of traffic (both cars and people) so walking does take a bit longer. I think Novotel end of the Patong is much nicer than the southern end, although this end is still really busy the southern end just looks ridiculous. Around the resort there's plenty of restaurants and bars. There's trinket/souvenir stalls closer to the shopping centre.

Taxi fare from airport is 800baht per car (take 45-60mins depending on traffic), however going back they'll try to charge 1000baht. Haggle ! The chartered fare is max 800baht, you can pay less but shouldn't pay more. Taxi from patong to Kata/Kata noi is 500baht, and 400baht to Surin beach. Phuket was much larger than i expected so it does take a while to get around, and cabs are expensive. Having a car/scooter would provide a lot more freedom but driving looked hard!

Overall we had an fabulous time!

Room Tip: join Advantage Plus/Le Club before booking to receive some nice benefits pool access rooms looked l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Piggy99,

Allow me to compliment you on the quality of the writing of your review. The style is very lively and fun to read and if we may I would like to post it on our Facebook Page. Hope you do not mind.

Thank you so much for this rave review. It will definitely help other potential customer to make up their mind to stay with us

Our Swimming Pool, with its 2,000 sqm, does indeed “takes the Gold” and is absolutely a favorite with all our Guests.

I am happy that you enjoyed our Le Club Lounge and its benefits and your recommendation to join Advantage Plus/Le Club before booking to receive the wide array of privileges and personalized services

I hope you will visit us again soon and do not hesitate to let us know

For the best price guaranteed, do check our rates on accorhotels.com or novotel.com/8099

With the kindest regards
herve.dupat@accor.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    330
    106
    35
    32
See reviews for
343
316
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is in a great location!!! The rooms are spacious, the staff nice, and the pool is AWESOME!!! We had a minor problem in the room, the AC was super loud even when it was off, we got back to the hotel past midnight and notice the loud AC, called the front desk and within minutes they came to fix the noise and we were able to have a good nights sleep! The food was a little pricey and we book a room without a breakfast, but there were soooo many options for breakfast within a block of the hotel that we didnt mind it at all! Tons of restaurants across the street, fantastic massage place also. We felt really safe in the resort and although the hotel is located right on Rat u Thit, it was sooo quiet i didnt even feel like we were in Patong in the middle of all the action. The only reason i gave 4 stars is because the hotel will not get you a taxi/car service meaning you have to go on the street and try to haggle prices, i also understand that it might be an issue of safety, because of the tuk tuk/taxi "mafia" in Phuket but i think that getting a car service or a taxi at a reasonable price for its guests wouldnt hurt instead of guests having to walk on the street and try to negotiate.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Eli,

Thanks for your kind review and the time to post it. We really appreciate when our Guests take from their own free time to express their satisfaction to the social Media. By the way, I am noticing that you leave in Korea and it would help us a great deal if you could also post on the Korean websites / Blog.

I am very happy to read your satisfaction with our location, room, staff and Swimming Pool.
Concerning Phuket taxis services, you are 100% right, however, the local authorities are looking seriously into this annoying problems and steps have been made in the right direction to have a more transparent, fair system. It will take more time, but it looks like they are tackling the problem properly

Hope you will visit us again soon

For the best price guaranteed, do check our rates on accorhotels.com or novotel.com/8099
With the kindest regards

herve.dupat@accor.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a large, modern hotel in Patong Beach. The rooms are standard and clean. The staff is polite and pleasant. The pool is large, shallow and clean. The beach is about 3 blocks away where you can rent chairs and get cheap meals and drinks. Patong Beach is a bit seedy and very party-oriented but safe and “PG rated” during the day.

Overall the hotel provided what it promised but some things were a bit disorganized. For example the small gym was supposed to open at 7 am but I had to ask the restaurant staff to open it up when I arrived. When I finally got into the gym at 7:15 am, it was hot and took an additional 15 minutes to cool down to a reasonable temperature. Another example was the kids’ pizza making activity that was randomly cancelled after my daughter had checked in.

Tips:
1. Join the Accor club before you come. It is free to join and you do get a few perks such as a free drink, snacks, and free WiFi.
2. Be careful crossing the street. Traffic is insane and there are NO crosswalks within walking distance. The hotel staff will NOT help you cross the street.
3. Everything is much cheaper just a few steps outside the hotel. There is cheap food, laundry, massage, and shops just a few steps away.
4. Bring your own lotion and conditioner. Drinking water, shampoo and soap are provided.
5. Avoid the Gala Dinner! The Christmas dinner was very expensive (about $50 US dollars each for kids) and this did not include drinks – not even water! The food was good and varied but very bland. The plan was very disorganized. We were told the dinner started at 6:30 pm when we bought the tickets; the sign read 7 pm; and the invitation 8 pm. They walked us back and forth across the hotel bridges several times and the security staff could not communicate the plan to us. There was a band that we could not hear or see since we were seated outside. Santa came by briefly and gave the kids small, nice gifts. Overall we felt cheated.
6. Book well in advance if you plan to travel to Phuket over the Christmas / New Years holidays. Rooms book up 4-6 months in advance.

Room Tip: Building 5 was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Faye,

Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies if we did not entirely fulfilled your expectations and your points to improve our services are well noted.

The Christmas Gala Dinner included a sumptuous Buffet selection with imported French Oyster Fine-de-Claire, Duck Liver, imported cold cuts and Cheeses, Seafood BBQ, Turkey, Australian ribeye, An array of many international main courses specialties, a sumptuous assortment of Dessert Buffet: Christmas Chocolate Log, Panacotta, Strawberry Fraisier, Fountain of Fruits… to name a few. Plus, Live Entertainment with a Duo and Magic Show, plus a nice ambiance, that many dinners complimented us for. Happy that your children saw Santa Claus and got his gift. We will certainly ask him to spend a bit more time next year… but he is so busy that day...:-)

Your tip to join Accor Club will be quite handy for our new Guests and we appreciate you enjoyed its benefits and privileges

Hope you will visit us again soon.

For the best price guaranteed, do check our rates on accorhotels.com or novotel.com/8099

With the kindest regards
herve.dupat@accor.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Novotel Vintage Park Hotel.
The staff were very friendly and gave great service. Lovely people.
The pool was fantastic. We had a "Deluxe" pool room.
The buildings were in good condition. It would have helped if there were more photos of the room on the website to assist when booking.
The activities through the gym were mostly free. I used the introduction to Muay Thai. The instructor was very respectful and gave us a great workout.
Being an Advantage Plus member had some great benefits like the special room and discounted meals. The hotel meals were great, especially the buffet breakfast.
The location was excellent, near shops and night-life. The beach was reasonably close too.
I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.
Oh yes, expect to pay 800-1000 THB for a car/taxi to or from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Yogi,

We really appreciate your compliments and thank you very much for having shared your experience.

Our entire staff member will feel happy and proud to know they have succeeded in making your stay enjoyable and memorable

I will definitely take a closer look to add more shots into our photo library on the websites
Glad you enjoyed our Le Club Lounge and used your Advantage Plus card privileges at our restaurant and bar

Please do visit us again and do not hesitate to let us know of your return

Wishing you a Happy New Year 2014

With the kindest regards
herve.duprat@accor.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night which we had an enjoyable stay

Pros:
- Good and quiet location near Patong beach (15min) and Jungceylon mall is 25-30 min walking distance
- Room is clean and large with comfortable beds
- Shower was strong
- Free and strong wifi
- Kid’s club was great
- Pool was large and beautiful
- Check-in and out was smooth and fast

Cons:
- The biggest problem is the mosquitoes, we killed over 30+ in our room

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear SmarTtravellerHK,

We are happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for your comment
The positive points listed in your review are pleasing to read as they cover many aspect of our property and Services.

With the dry season coming back, we really need to bring more attention to Pest control and we have doubled our monthly treatments to twice a month now. We will assess the situation again and see if more is needed. Very sorry for the inconvenience caused.

We hope to see you again in the future and do not hesitate to check our rates on our accorhotels.com or novotel.com/8099 websites for the best price guarantee and by doing so, you will automatically be entitled to privileged Le Club Lounge in our property.

Wishing you a wonderful New Year 2014

With the kindest regards
herve.duprat@accor.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I reserved for king sized bed but would be given queen sized bed. After I complained, the duty manager gave us twin bed. I think it is not a good image for Novotel big name. And the check in process to complicated, handled by inexperienced trainee.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPVP, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Leyanto,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the wrong bed configuration and the complicated check-in procedure. I have reviewed your comments with our Front Office Manager and we will certainly provide more training to improve this area

Thank you for letting us know and I am happy that this unfortunate incident did not completely spoiled the rest of your stay and thank you so much for your fairness in rating our property

I hope you will visit us again and do not hesitate to contact me directly so I will make sure we welcome you in a more efficient manner

Wishing a fabulous Festive Season

With the kindest regards
herve.duprat@accor.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Phuket Vintage Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Vintage Park

Address: 89 Rat U Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Patong
#9 Family Hotel in Patong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#20 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Vintage Park 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of Patong Seaside, Novotel Phuket Vintage Park is a 4.5 stars resort featuring contemporary mixed South East Asia architecture and modern equipment. The hotel is a few steps away from shopping centers and Patong lively nightlife. The Novotel Phuket Vintage Park offers a wealth of varied activities to ensure that everyone gets the most from the site. From water-based activities in the 2,000 sqm swimming pool to aerobic classes, that cooking class to batik painting, you are free to do as you please and make of you day what you will. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Vintage Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Phuket Vintage Park Patong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Phuket Vintage Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.