We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it Safe in Patong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   254 Prabaramee Road | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 278 Hotels in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 243 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Is it Safe in Patong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Hi, I plan to be in patong next week. is it safe due to the election?
I have been reading up on smart travel website to avoid the southern areas but just wont to make sure that patong itself is safe. would appreciate anyone's feeback.. Thanks!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupachartS, General Manager at Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear deecassar_80,

Greetings from Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa – Phuket, Thailand.

Thank you for posting an enquiry on Tripadvisor.com regarding the safety to stay in Patong area even in Phuket. Please be advised that the travel warnings for the current situation is only for those who are travelling in certain areas of Bangkok. Phuket destination is more than 800 Km. away from Bangkok (one and a half hour flying time) where the protest is taking place.

In Phuket, we’re enjoying lots of sunshine and peace, nothing of such unsafe nature happening here and so many tourists are having a great time on vacation in Phuket right now.

Please rest assured that travel to Thailand especially Phuket is safe as the protest only takes place in the certain areas in Bangkok which has incurred no harm to tourists.

Warm Regards,

Supachart Samuhatanakul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    95
    36
    13
    12
See reviews for
31
106
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband, I and our two year old daughter recently stayed here and we had the most amazing holiday. The hotel was fantastic and the stuff so friendly. Everyone was so nice and made us so welcome. They all made such a fuss of our little girl and she had a wonderful time. Now back home she is still talking thai. The food was outstanding. Breakfast was amazing with so much to choose from and every meal we had whether it was room service or in the restaurant was fantastic. Presentation was amazing and everything was wonderful. The evening entertainment was fantastic with the two singers Bungie and Roufie, they really made our hoilday and we looked forward to listening to them every night. Our daughter loved them too and enjoyed joining in, which they made her feel so welcome in doing. We miss them so much as we do everyone at sea sun and sand. Thankyou so much for making our holiday so special. We can't wait to return. Many thanks once again from Louisa, John and London Pink.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupachartS, General Manager at Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Loujohnpink,

Warmest Greeting from Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your precious time to post such a valuable review on Trip Advisor.

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Phuket and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay and happy with our service. Your comment on the service provided by our staff is most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa.

Thank you and kind regards,

Supachart Samuhatanakul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We found the staff very obliging and friendly. We had a pool room (any room in D block level 2 has a pool). Breakfast was good, a buffet. The room was great, spacious and well kept. The spa was great value and the staff were very good. A Thai massage was a real Thai massage! Not for the faint hearted!

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupachartS, General Manager at Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Trevorsd,

Warmest greeting from Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Phuket and for taking the time to write your comment on www.TripAdvisor.com

It was very pleased to read that you complement our friendly staff, liked our breakfast and spa service. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa.

Thank you and kind regards,

Supachart Samuhatanakul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Recently spent Christmas and new year here, we got off to a rocky start but the hotel management were very helpful. New year was fantastic the hotel put on a amazing party and the buffet provided was superb. The hotel room was spacious and we had great views.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupachartS, General Manager at Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Gail154,

Warmest greeting from Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa!

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Phuket and for taking the time to write your comment on tripadvisor.com.

We are most concerned with the satisfaction of all of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. Thank you again for your encouraging feedback and compliments of our New Year's Eve gala diiner.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa.

Thank you and kind regards,

Supachart Samuhatanakul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed her for just over 10 days. The hotel is in a great location. Literally a 5 minute walk down to Patong Beach.
When we checked in, we were taken to this little buggy car and were driven up a very steep hill. Then we got into a lift, then walked up a long pathway to another lift and finally we reached our room.

Pool area is nice and relaxing with a sun deck that looks over Patong beach. Staff are all very nice. But there is a language barrier. The girls at the beauty salon are great! I would def advise anyone to get the hot stone massage! You won't regret it!!

Now the food..... What a let down... There is no bacon served at the breakfast buffet. It wasn't what I expected at all. Who has a buffet without bacon?! Quality of food is just shocking. From the bread, to the steaks.
Overall, I am glad I stayed here for the location... Would I book again? Probably not.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupachartS, General Manager at Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Christabel88,

Warm greetings from Sea Sun Sand Resort and Spa – Patong beach, Phuket.

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Phuket and for taking the time to write your comment on www.TripAdvisor.com. We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay and happy with our spa service and friendliness of our staff. Your compliment on the service provided by our staff will be shared with the whole team.

However, we are terribly sorry to learn that you were disappointed with our breakfast. We shall do our best to improve it right away. In regards to the problem of thin walls, the plan for reconstruction them is in place. We are just waiting for less busy months to do them gradually.

It was certainly a pleasure to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you to Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa again soon.

Best regards,

Supachart Samuhatanakul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Recently spent Christmas and New Year over on Thailand and stayed at the Sea Sun Sand Resort and Spa. The hotel is in a really good location, set a minutes walk away from the beach. The room was adequate as there is so much to do around Patong beach you don't need it other than for showering and sleeping. We used the room service facility twice and for the cost you are much better going out. Had an issue on the last night of our stay, we returned from Phi Phi Island to find a letter under the door complaining about noise from our room, which was impossible as we had a overnight stay at Phi Phi. After ringing the reception and trying to resolve the situation after 15 minutes on the phone I was no further forward so gave up on that one. Also on handing the room card back in they asked us to pay the room service bill which had already been paid and two days before. Luckily I had the paper work to say so however it was in my case and I was not very keen on unpacking my case in the reception lobby. After arguing with the hotel staff and manager on how I had paid the bill and being called a liar I had to unpack my case in the lobby. Very unprofessional from a highly rated hotel and and poor communication from its staff.

Room Tip: Its very expensive for the quality and service you receive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupachartS, General Manager at Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear cannon89,

Warm greetings from Sea Sun Sand Resort and Spa – Patong beach, Phuket.

We truly appreciate your kind comments on www.TripAdvisor.com and are terribly sorry to know that you had encountered unpleasant experience during your recent stay with us. On behalf of Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa team, kindly accept my deep apologies for the inconvenience caused by the mistakes of our new staff. We shall emphasize much more in the training of our staff. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to improve our service to ensure we offer a better experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so we can have another chance to serve you better.

Best regards,

Supachart Samuhatanakul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the worst resorts I have ever stayed in. The food is abysmal whether it is the breakfast buffet or room service. I had staff coming into my room when delivering something and asking me for cigarettes which I was disgusted. The walls a paper thin and you can here everything to the point where I had to change rooms and was downgraded. I would never stay here again it ruined what was meant to be a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SupachartS, General Manager at Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Lexie8889,

Greetings from Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa – Patong, Phuket.

We are truly grateful for your feedback posted on TripAdvisor, however, felt terribly disappointed to know that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

At the moment, we are working on various options to improve quality of our food, particularly the breakfast. Hopefully, we would be able to satisfy everyone soon. Asking for cigarettes from guests is definitely not acceptable. We are investigating about this unpleasant case right now, and will take a severe disciplinary action to the staff in question so that none will repeat such behavior in future. I would appreciate it very much if you could give me details of the person and approximate time, whatever you can remember will certainly help, to my direct email address, gm@seasunsandresort.com As for the defected walls in that particular zone, the job to change them is quite a headache. Nonetheless, they are being changed gradually – whenever it is possible to do so. We hope to get rid of the problem soon.

Dear Lexie8889, your candid comments are sincerely appreciated by us all, as we can give our efforts to rectify and improve on those shortcomings pointed out by you. I hope you will help us further via email about the staff in question.

Yours sincerely,

Supachart Samuhatanakul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa

Address: 254 Prabaramee Road | Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#43 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa is ideally located at the most beautiful & renowned Patong beach in Phuket. The Resort offers a relaxing atmosphere enjoying the panoramic scenery of Patong bay with its exquisite 250 deluxe rooms in harmoniously contemporary design with traditional Thai-inspired de´cor featuring four different types of stylish accommodation. Explore and fulfill your comfortable stay with our provided facilities, which include two trendy restaurants, outdoor swimming pools with amazing pool deck, round-shaped Jacuzzi, poolside & Sunset bars , Spa treatments, fitness room, reading corner, game room , shopping arcade and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Sun Sand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.