We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, cleanliness and staff not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Patong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Patong Hotel to your Saves list
Forest Patong Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   46/27-29 soi klongbangwat, Pisitkorranee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83151, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location, cleanliness and staff not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel reminded a lot of a hostel but without the social atmosphere. It's a solid 30 minute walk to the beach/main strip in Patong and it's not an easy or pleasant walk. There are almost no restaurants around the hotel. The room was small with no window. It smelled damp and this attracted a number overnight bug visitors and mosquitoes. The sheets were rough, the bed was tough and the shower design is less than idea. The staff are not particularly helpful; I was surprised to see they had a serious lack of local knowledge. The place is cheap and it is at least quiet and away from the craziness of Bangla road.

Room Tip: Try to at least get a room with a window if you must stay here. If not definitely book a hotel close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
14
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Changchun, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Let me start by saying that I was a little skeptical of this hotel before arriving due to its lack of reviews on Hostelworld. We quickly discovered that we had nothing to worry about. My wife and I had an amazing stay at the Forest Patong Hotel! The rooms were very spacious and clean. They refilled our shampoo, conditioner, and soap containers each day, which was a big deal for people like us who had been living out of a backpack for the past 2 weeks. The rooms were cleaned very thoroughly each day, and we were given new towels each day both in our rooms and for the beach. In my opinion, renting scooters was essential for getting around Phuket, and the Forest Patong supplied us with scooters each day for a good price. The only negative thing I would say about this hotel is the fact that it's located quite a ways from the beach. But, if you have a scooter, you can very easily go to the Patong Beach or any other beach in Phuket. The Patong beach was not our favorite, so it was nice to get the scooter each day so that we could go to other beaches - I recommend Kata or Kata Noi Beach. You could either rent the scooters for a full 24 hours or for a half day - 250 THB or 150 THB respectively. We found that it was worth it to just get it for half a day. We would wake up and get our scooter around 11:00 AM and keep it till 11:00 PM. 150 THB is only like 5 dollars, so it was totally worth it. We probably would have spent more on taxis to go to all the beaches that we went to on the scooter. Just remember that you have to pay for gas, but you can go most of the day on one tank, so you still get your money's worth. Last of all, I would like to mention the service at the Forest Patong Hotel. It was excellent! Everyone there helped us out so much from telling us some of the places they like to visit in Phuket to making sure we got our scooters and towels each day before heading out to the beaches. I would like to especially thank Nick for helping us with all our needs each day. For the amount of care you receive, Forest Patong is an incredibly reasonable priced hotel, and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor, and we slept great. However, our friends stayed on the second floor, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel with a reasonable price but with awesome quality of service, Forest Patong would definitely fit in. The hotel was clean. The rooms were cleaned daily. Towels were also changed daily. Wifi was available. You can have a relaxing sleep after a very tiring adventures you had since the hotel was located away from the nightlife; around 20mins walk to the beach and the busy streets of Bangla road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Forest Patong Hotel

Location
The biggest downfall of this hotel was its location. It was a long walk to the beach, shopping district, and restaurants on road ways that are NOT pedestrian friendly. No sidewalks, and renting a scooter was a death wish I was not interested in experiencing. Taxi or Tuk Tuk at night, and by day if your careful you can walk.

Amenities
This hotel was not fancy at all, if your looking for a clean crash pad than its fine. We couldn't stand the bathroom as there was no shower curtain and so every time we showered the floor flooded and the toilet was showered too. For hours you'd have to wear flip flops when using the bathroom while waiting for the water to drain. We had just stayed in a swanky hotel in Bangkok so this was comparable to a University dorm. Our room had a balcony and looked out towards the busy street below and the mountains, while it was no ocean view it was better than our back ally, no sun view at the Adaman Phuket Hotel. Free Wifi came in handy and the room was equipped with a computer, Internet, flat screen and a DVD player. We liked having the DVD payer, we could test out some of our bootlegged movies to make sure they worked. The breakfast was simple but good and fresh. Made to order, eggs your way etc. We didn't have any breakfast meat (which was included) and nothing was substituted, no extra toast or fruit which was odd, but when we asked for a second cup of coffee we had to pay. I felt like saying, but I saved you bacon!!!!

Service
The staff here were incredibly friendly and helpful. They directed us well and gave us walking maps. When we arrived and anytime we returned we were greeted. At check in we were shown to our room and instructed on how to use the computer etc. in the room, not necessary but was a nice effort and thorough welcome.
Over all this hotel is for a budget traveler who is looking for a clean spot, good breakfast, and doesn't mind being off the beaten path.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Been here twice in just 1 month. Went home a few days, then I decided to go back to Thailand. And This hotel has everything I need. What everyone should need. Great wifi, great staff. No party idiots around. You have to take a taxi to the beach, but 50-60 bath for a motorbike taxi is something every western can afford. Love Forest Patong and will come back again in mach for sure. All the staff members are very good english speakers, which makes things alot more easy.

Greetings from Norway! Hello Brownie, Nick and Jenny :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is a very long way from the beach 20 to 25 minutes walk and 15 to 20 minutes brisk walk to the main nightlife area
Unless you hire a motorbike this place is too far away to be staying it takes 10 minutes to beach by motorbike
The taxi driver will take 300 baht to take you back to the hotel It can mount to a lot of money if paying 4 or 6 times a day
Better to stay nearer the beach and night life and pay a little more for a hotel
The hotel is just a budget hotel
The shower was good even though i had to kneel in the bath to get under it. It's mounted far too low on the wall but had lots of hot water
air conditioning was good
Check what room your booking. If no balcony it's dark and dingy no natural daylight like the one they TRIED to put us in I would say the beds were very firm verging on hard and was glad we were not there for 2 weeks
Some of the staff were very helpful some not so
Jenny is really good and a great Assett to the hotel. Thanks again Jenny
The rooms had fresh bedding every day but lacked in a good dusting and cleaning
Twice we had some issues trying to have toilet tissue supplied. We ended up just buying our own from the shop next door
Unless you want to eat in a mainly Thai family area there are no places to eat or drink near the hotel for tourists
I personally would never stay here again but if you want to be really far from the beach and night life then it will be ok for you
We ate here once and the food was ok
Internet was very good but so annoying having to re log in password after every time the Internet was idle for over 5 minutes
No safety box in the room
No sign of any shuttle bus from hotel
Booked hotel car to collect us at airport but was just normal taxi

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Forest Patong Hotel is located 3/4 minutes from Bangla Road. Hotel is awesome, clean, quiet, comfortable,safe, modern, free wifi computer in your room, scooter rentals and great food. Front desk and managers are great, and they speak English which is very helpful. Tours, attractions and transportation.Great value for money. Stayed for 5 days will be back. Thanks again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Patong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Patong Hotel

Address: 46/27-29 soi klongbangwat, Pisitkorranee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83151, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Patong Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Forest Patong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Patong Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Patong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.