We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabai Beach

Sabai Beach
Thaweewong (Patong Beach) road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 396 Restaurants in Patong
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Right on the beach outdoor seating off the main road at North end of beach.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Beach Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a great family run restaurant on the beach. They serve amazing pad thai and the food is really cheap.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“AN OLD FAVOURITE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have loved this place from our first visit many years ago and on our 13th visit to Patong it did not disappoint us.The owner is a gorgeous man who greets us with a warm friendly smile every time we visit. Great food and again never a bad meal. Pinas are a must. Food cheap and the drink bill always out does the food bill. We have eaten many meals here over the years and our favs would have to be the mince meat with basil and chilli meal (sorry really can't think of the name of it) calamari, we have eaten the ribs and not bad at all, fried rice is always tasty and drinks really good. Located right on the beach with a divine view.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Went there at least 5 times in 10 days!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We loved Sabai Beach! It was my first time in Phuket & i went with family that had been there a few times before & in the lead up to our trip they were all saying how this was the first place they wanted to go when we got to Patong. The meal of choice was the chicken cashew nut with chicken rice. It looked and smelled amazing, i didn't order it but i tried some & it was very nice & not too strong.
We had no problem with language barriers or meals getting messed up, but when we got to the restaurant, a few of the workers recognised my family from their previous trips!! So we were lucky there =P
I also loved the restaurant itself.. It was so nice & relaxing to sit down at your table and be on the actual sand of the beach, but still be undercover. They also have tables on tiled floor if you dont wanna have your feet in the sand!

Also.. They had purified ice there to have in your drink which is another i loved! Most places we went to did, but it is always good to double check first, just in case =)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

If you like your seafood served with an ocean breeze and sand between your toes, you'll love Sabai Beach. Really nice place and easygoing, but efficient, staff.

Huge assortment of seafood at reasonable prices, especially from the grilled section of the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Winning combo of excellent venue and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have been coming to Phuket for 10 years and over that time, the Sabai Beach has remained a firm favourite, always drawing us back. We know that restaurants are all about food, but ambience is such a valuable asset for any venue. Sabai Beach provides that in spades..... Thailand is always hot and steamy, but the prevailing wind of Patong Beach always pushes into the open dining area, and sitting watching the sunset over the horizon as you knock back a large beer and choose from a wide array of Thai food is hard to beat. We have eaten here 4 time sober the past 3 weeks and just love it. Sure it's not four hats quality....but what the heck, it's cheap (average 100 baht or $3 US per meal) it's fresh, you can eat five times as much as you would in our home country (Australia) for the same price, and best of all, the sunsets, breeze and beach laid out in front of you I'd complimentary. Go here at least twice, whilst you are contemplating that ritzy night out somewhere else....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabai Beach also viewed

 

Been to Sabai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabai Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.