We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo in Sorrento

Marco Polo in Sorrento
104/4-6 Soi Post Office, Taweewong Road | 104/4-6 Soi Post Office, Taweewong Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 76 340 324
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 421 Restaurants in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My friend and I decided to have dinner, and mainly cause the owner is a piece of work getting new customers from the street. It reminded me of a good guido's restaurant from New York.

We would have rated the place excellent if it weren't for the pasta that was a little bit too much al dente and not sautéed long enough with the seafood and fresh tomatoes.

The mixed fried seafood was tasty, but a the batter was a bit salty a nice marinara sauce would have made justice.

The house wine was not impressive.

Still, we looked at the food served around and it looked and smelled good, especially the pizza.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    102
    20
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best fresh cheesey pizza in a long time....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Walk for a long time around the beach road trying to find the best possible food to try . So we ended up here . The looks of the restaurent is quite warm .. they offer free wifi to guests .. and host a good variety of foreign liquor . We ordered a few pizza's , which turned out to be the most DELICIOUS , SOFT , CHEESY pizza every eaten . I have tried the Chicago Pizza , and the New York Pizza but this one is simply the best ever .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Save yourself time and money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We went for dinner there and the quality of the meals was really disappointing. Pasta was cold and under cooked, the steak didnt look like one and the gnocci weren't worth it at all. The service is just as bad. The employee tasted the undercooked pasta in our plate and told us that according to him it was decent, who does that? Anyways, there are so many other options on the samw street, avoid Marco Polo!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have eaten here at least twice on each visit to Phuket. Fresh Italian food. You will never eat take away pizza again! Casual and clean. Good value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best Italian outside Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The food is bellisima and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. A great place for something a little different!! It can be a little difficult to find because it's down a side street but it really is worth the little extra effort. It really is the best Italian I've eaten outside Italy. They have really yummy wood fired pizza! And great pasta. The owner speaks Italian and is incredibly friendly and all the staff are happy to have a chat with you while they work. A must visit in patong!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo in Sorrento also viewed

 

Been to Marco Polo in Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo in Sorrento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.