We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab decor ,food and atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Bar Restaurant

Charlie's Bar Restaurant
5/13-15 Had Patong Road | Aroonsom Square, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Siam Palm, Lounge, Bar, Restaurant)
08 4185 8719
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 421 Restaurants in Patong
Price range: $3 - $28
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Formerly the Siam Palm Bar Restaurant we have changed our name and style of dining to offer a wide range of food for travellers from all over the world. Cheap snacks throughout the day to fine dining in the evening.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fab decor ,food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

for a bit more of an up market feel this is the place . charlie and staff are fantastic hosts .the garlic prawns are to die for and the rack of lamb is out of this world . very diverse menu of western and thai dishes all prepared beautifully by charlies amazing chef.well worth the visit .thanks again charlie luv steve and karen xx perth.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic and excellent garlic prawns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We have just returned from Phuket after a week long stay. Had many delicious meals there especially their garlic prawns. Not to be found anywhere in Phuket. Brings back many fond memories of this dish we had in Australia. Goes especially well with their Spaghetti Aglio Olio. Owner Charlie is really hands on with his food and quality.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The mood was fantastic, the food was great, I dont think you could find a better plae to eat.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very modern friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Siam Palm is a very new modern restaurant of which had only been open 6 weeks when we first dined there. I loved the trendy modern decor with coloured changing lights to set any mood you liked perfect for a romantic night out. The staff and owner Charlie were very friendly and attentive to all our needs. The meals were extremely tasty first class and well presented. The Sizzling Garlic Prawns were delicious, and cooked to perfection Wow!! The BBQ Ribs were nicely cooked and finished with satisfaction by my 12yr old son. Thanks Charlie for such wonderful meals we will see you again. Alisa,Rene,Brendon (Perth)

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice surprise actually with great food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We were looking for somewhere that wasn't like all the other places we had gone to every night & we finally found it.
Great waitresses that actually had the food timed just right instead of it all coming out at once & the barman mixed the girls drinks spot on from what they told us!
Very clean & set out well with great tunes on in the background for atmosphere.
(The lights in the bar are a great idea!!)
All round very good (even the toilets were immaculate).
Great service with that good old Thai smile.
We'll be back for sure, even going to stay along the same street so we can check out their breakfast.
Thanks for a great meal !!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Bar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Bar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.