We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for little money !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athome Hotel 2

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Athome Hotel 2 to your Saves list
Athome Hotel 2
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   168/42-43 Nanai Soi 8, Nanai Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 337 Patong B&B and Inns
Famagusta, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for little money !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

my wife and me love to have our holiday in Thailand, and every year or two we are back in Patong. Yes Patong is a busy area but with lots of places and beaches where there are almost no tourists.

We NEVER go for more then 3* because we do not like these posh style people around as since we both are full happines and energy ! :-)

This time we found the AtHome Hotel 2 through the web and thought we give it a try, because the stay per night was less then 16.00 euro including breakfast and it looked friendly to us.
We are always on the run and never spent any extra time accept sleeping, resting and having a shower in a hotel.
We prefer to spent all our money outside having fun and be indepentend :-)

Arrival:
well, we hired a taxi from the Phuket airport to Patong beach to AtHome Hotel 2. At this night it was raining like hell and our taxi driver was somewhat not alone (in his head), he was talking to him self all the time till we start getting worried if this driver was a good choice.
Anyway, we finally make it to Patong in one piece but it seems that nobody knows the hotel even if we are quite familiar with the area and we know the street name it was very hard to find the hotel. After making some rounds (20min) wi found what we are looking for.

The hotel is a part of a huge building opposite (about 100meters) another budget hotel, but this wasnt really a problem after all.
We checked in at the reception (if you can call it a reception) where the staff was acually sleeping until we wake them up... we said woo hoo... this is definitely a small hotel and originaly Thai style staff. (we loved it).
The check in was great and funny, the little tiny Thai reseptionist was taking our laguage upt to the second floor to our room, of course he had some droubles not to collapse since he was a mini version of a thai boy and our laguage was not so light...

Room:
The room are fine and spacious enough with A/C, TV, DVD player, free WIFI, shower and toilet a small balcony and a safe. The first impression of the room was not the best because the windows wasnt really cleaned for a long time but the rest was fine.
We stayed at AtHome Hotel 2 for 23 nights and we were very very happy to stayed there.


Staff:
The staff was very very friendly and always happy 24h, Nana and Noi are 2 specials girls who will assist you with anything they can help you with. You can rent a scooter direct from the hotel from 250 to 450 baht a day (we arranged our scooter already before from a friend we rent a scooter the past years). Also they will get you a Tuk Tuk tgo go around for a good price, or even a Taxi to bring you back to the Airport.

Location:
The AtHome Hotel 2 is locaded at Nanai Road which is off the noise area from Patong, the beach is about 20min by foot but and only 3 min by scooter. Its recomended to hire a scooter if you are ok to drive at the left side and if your nervs are strong enought to deal with the local traffic (the faster the better), if you dont feel confident with driving a
scooter you will need to get a Tuk Tuk every day or walk if you love a walk in 38 degree :-0

Every wednesday and sunday there is a local market just 50 meters form the hotel with the typical stuff the sell every where in Phuket. The only problem for me was this bloody music they always start playing at around 2pm and you can hear in you room till about 11pm... its funny and a pain in your butt at the same time :-) but its ok lol...

In Total:
Great budget hotel with lovely staff in a quiet area close enough to the sea. If you are spoiled with all in or 5* hotel and if yhou want to have a luxury stay in Patong you better dont book this hotel, BUT if you dont want to waste money just to have a perfect room and room service, and IF you prefer to use your money to spoil your self on holiday you MUST book AtHome Hotel 2 because there is nothing better/cheaper for about 16 euro a day to stay !!!

We will be back again and we say HELLO to Nana and Noi and all the other staff from AtHome Hotel 2 !

Lia & Gunti
Cyprus

Room Tip: we just guess that a room at the backside of the hotel could be better when this twice a week market...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beldon, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice rooms, good bed, AC, TV - channels poor reception, but has video player. Tea & Coffee making, in room safe. Water drains slowly in shower in rooms I've tried but OK. 2 free waters per day, soap, shampoo etc supplied. Reception friendly, on my second visit was offered 1 free breakfast & another discounted. Easy walk to Jungceylon Shopping Centre & Bangla Road, Beach 5 mins. 7-11's nearby. Quiet, has lift or stairs, partner friendly.

Room Tip: Roadside rooms have a nicer balcony outlook as other side looks directly into another Hotel about 4m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The location is really good for visiting the shops and restaurants around town. Not to easy to walk to the beach for a swim. If you want to swim try one of the day trips like Phi Phi Island. The staff at the hotel are as good as they come for helping there customers. My friend need to send a fax to Canada and the manager got on his motor bike and went to find a store that could fax over seas. We went out to see The Big Buddha and when we returned to fax was sent. I will go back to this hotel if I come back to Phuket, for the money you can not beat it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Only stayed one night as Phuket was only a stopover visit on our tour of Thailand.
Hotel was very nice and for budget prices was by far one of the best for the price we paid.
Room was large, clean and pretty modern. Wifi was free.
Hotel was in a reasonable location, close enough to everything to be in walking distance to the beach and the town centre.
Breakfast was pretty horrendous, told it started at 8am which we arrived for but the person cooking breakfast didnt turn up until 8.30am (we had a taxi booked for the ferry so this was annoying), then as it turned out it really wasnt worth waiting for.
Minor issue in what was all in all a decent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here over new years which is probably one of the busiest times thus hardest to find accommodation. We picked Athome 2 on a budget. The hotel itself was well maintained and for the most part pretty clean. At over 1000 baht per night it's not the best value but this is Patong we're talking about. It is in a decent location, it's far enough away that it's not too noisy or smelly but the walk isn't too long, around 15-20 minutes to the beach or Bangla road on flat ground.

Generally the staff were nice and helpful with what little we needed. Everything in the room worked. Our only gripe was that when they cleaned the room and changed things each day they did not change the bed linen, not sure if that is too much to expect for the budget but it is one thing we noticed. Our sheets did have some prior markings. We also had breakfast included, not sure if we paid for it or not but it was quite unexciting but that is in line with the standard of food in Patong so no detriment to Athome.

Overall it met all of our basic needs and wasn't dirty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Athome 2 is a great little hotel 5 minutes by motorbike to the beach, Bangla and Jung Ceylon. Athome 2 is in the middle of a huge number of new guesthouses that are going up all over Patong. Prices are very reasonable, furnishings are all very recent, and the staff are very friendly. I prefer to stay here instead of downtown Patong as it's very quiet: no road or bar noise. WIFI is excellent, and the cook will whip up whatever you want to eat when you're hungry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

After backpacking through Thailand and staying in tiny rooms with a bed and toilet/shower rooms, this place has been a welcome surprise. Great value and close to everything. Has a TV, wifi, separate shower and toilet, plus breakfast is included. The service is good and the place is very clean. Would certainly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Athome Hotel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athome Hotel 2

Address: 168/42-43 Nanai Soi 8, Nanai Rd, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athome Hotel 2 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly hotel opening in Patong Beach Nanai Rd., decorated in Thai style. All rooms with balcony, refrigerator, hot/cold water, TV Cable, Bathroom, WiFi free, DVD Player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Athome Hotel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athome Hotel 2 Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athome Hotel 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.