We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Issara Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Issara Resort to your Saves list
Issara Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34/58 Prachanukroh Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #25 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised . The rooftop pool was lovely and the rooms nice and clean. Not too far from the beach and all the pubs, just a 15-minute walk away. A lot of russians in that neighbourhood tho.. and if you get breakfast, you need to walk to a restaurant next door which can be annoying (especially when it's raining).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issararesort, General Manager at Issara Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest;

Thank you so much for your comments. We will be happy to see you again in our hotel.

We prefer to serve breakfast at Narina Kitchen (next building) which have a very big space and open buffet breakfast from 7 am till 11 am. We provide umbrella for our customers who go to Narina Kitchen in rainy days. After your comments we informed our frontdesk to be more careful with helping our guests in rainy days.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mersyside
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel is a typical large hotel. The room was clean, tidy, spacious and had lots of storage space for clothes/cases. The hotel offers breakfast but this is an extra cost of 200 baht per person, in my opinion not good! The hotel is seconds away from a range of place offering breakfast for 100!.

There is another hotel literally back to back with this hotel, this makes it difficult to Sit the balcony as there windows are directly opposite. The hotel staff are helpful although there is a lack of staff within the hotel. Our room was cleaned everyday. The pool area is located on the roof and is quite nice. The area is clean and has a selection of loungers to sit on. The hotel offers free WiFi around the whole hotel.

Room Tip: Good pool, but VERY shallow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issararesort, Manager at Issara Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest;

First of all, i would like to thank you for your valuable comments. We are so happy to host you in our hotel and we would like to see you again in Phuket.

We have open buffet breakfast with various hot and cold choices everyday, there are no other place around with that type breakfast. We will try our best to improve our service and lower our rates to make our guests happy.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed in issara resort in may for my trip to phuket. It was a new building budget hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful, they gave me city map and explain what to do in the city. You can rent a bike or arrange a taxi for a day trip. There is a night market very close to hotel, it is very colorful. Max 10 min walking to bangla road and patong beach.

Room Tip: If you want quite room, back side must be correct choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issararesort, Guest Relations Manager at Issara Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest;

We are so glad that you had a good stay in our hotel. We would like to see you again at your next visit to Phuket.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in June and it was not a good experience. It was my first time in Thailand and I was alone. I asked the staff one morning where I could go for breakfast as there is no restraunt in the hotel, staff could not speak English so I had to find my own way about. The room was okay and wii if was good but the staff was not helpful and I think for the price you pay you can get a much better service in Phuket. Yes it is cheap but all the hotels in Phuket are. Do not advertise that the staff speak English when 6 who I tried to speak to did not understand.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issararesort, Front Office Manager at Issara Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Customer;

First of all we would like to thank you for your reviews.

We are so sorry that you couldn't find any English speaking reception after so many try. First of all we have only 3 reception staff. All 3 can understand English, they can not speak fluent English, it is very normal because it is not their mother tongue. All island, in taxi, hotels, shopping, restaurants its hard to find perfect English speaking local people. As our hotel group we are trying to improve our service. We have a English teacher who is giving lessons to our crew about basic English, 2 times a week.

For the breakfast, we do not have restaurant at our lobby. Our restaurant Narina Kitchen is only 40 m away from our reception which is under our second building. Its capacity almost 250 pax and we have open buffet from 7 am till 11 am. this restaurant also serving lunch and dinner. All these information exist in the info books which is located every room, in 3 languages, Thai, English, Russian...

We wish you nice days.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Hotel in good spot, friendly staff , not far from beach and has nice food market next to it rooms basic but spacious only thing about here is we have the Aircon on 17 and still sweating it needs serious attention sometimes difficult to sleep

Room Tip: Check AC First when you go in room it can be very uncomfortable if Ac not working properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issararesort, Guest Relations Manager at Issara Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Customer;

Thank you very much for choosing Issara Resort for your stay in Phuket.

After a busy high season, some of our rooms needed maintenance like A/C system. After your comments, we took action immediately and complete all maintenance.

We would like to host you at your next visit to Phuket.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

this hotel made my holiday so comfortable and easy. no need to wait at the check in, check out. like my home. the another good thing was there were many english speaking staff which is so difficult to find in phuket.

Room Tip: front vıew
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issararesort, Guest Relations Manager at Issara Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Customer;

Thanks a lot for choosing Issara Resort. We are so happy to hear that you satisfied your stay and we would like to see you again at your next visit to Phuket.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for three nights whilst staying in Patong. If we are honest the first impressions of the hotel weren't great. I will explain in further detail below.

Firstly the basics - room is a little dated but basic and did the job. There is a TV, A/C, safe and wifi. The pool on the rooftop was very welcome! The location is good, outside of the main hustle, about 10-15 walk to the main strip and the beach. The hotel seemed to be one of the hotels that was part of a Russian package holiday. There was one girl on reception that was helpful but we found in general that the staff weren't particularly friendly.

So bad points:

It started with the hotel pick up from the airport that we arranged on booking. Stated 700THB on agoda but on emailing they said it would be 800THB, which we accepted. On arrival at the airport we went to the pickup area and nobody was there, it was very hot and every taxi driver that saw us would be shouting taxi at us. It was very stressful and after two telephone calls and 25 mins later the taxi finally showed up. When we got to the hotel he said "$100" we said no, he said "yes you pay me 100 US Dollars". When I started to walk to the hotel to get them to talk to him suddenly he only wanted 800THB. We paid and checked in, glad that experience was over. I explained to the lad on reception that for future reference the taxi driver was late and then tried to overcharge us, he said next time only pay 650THB from the airport. We said that we had arranged through the hotel and he said he had never seen the driver before (the driver had a sign with hotel name and my name on it) and we should have paid no more than 700THB, despite us telling him it was them who told us to pay 800THB! My advice is just get a taxi from the airport the prices aren't much different!

We ordered food from the hotel as we got in from our flight in the evening and we were tired. The guy on reception got the order wrong so we ended up eating separately. And despite us asking if we could pay tomorrow (we had only just arrived and only had small amount of THB on us) and them agreeing they then wanted the money then and there so we had to go to a cashpoint!

When we got ready for bed when turning down our sheets there appeared to be old blood stains all over one side of the sheet. So we then had to ask the staff to change them which they didn't seem impressed about, and at no point seemed happy to help :(

I wouldn't put people off staying at this hotel as the room is basic, it has a pool and relatively good location, it's just rough around the edges when it comes to service!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
issararesort, Front Office Manager at Issara Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest;

First of all we would like to thank you for your valuable reviews. All opinions and comments are important for us to improve our service. We will concern your comments and try to be better everyday.
We are really sorry that you had a bad experience with your transfer. I want to explain that, Issara Resort has no vehicle to make transfers. as we mentioned in our respond email to you, we are arranging a taxi transfer for our customers who request a transfer from airport. There are several taxi companies in the city Phuket and according to availability, we are sending them to pick you up at the mentioned time from the airport. Hotel has no income from your transfer, we are just trying to help to our guest. After your comments we will find out the company which took you from airport and we will not work with them anymore.
We hope you will give us another chance at your next visit to Phuket, we promise we will do our best to make your stay comfortable.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Issara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issara Resort

Address: 34/58 Prachanukroh Rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Issara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quite hotel located in the center of Phuket’s entertainment capital, Patong beach.Its location is very convenient with many leisure activities nearly including a major shopping mall, and only 5 minutes walk to the famous Patong beach.We have 60 rooms to choose. Whether it is a single bed room or twin bed room.All rooms are fully equipped with a telephone, television, safty box, hot water, refrigerator, mini-bar and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Issara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issara Hotel Patong
Issara Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Issara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.