We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Although nice but not so good staff so 3 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2 Soi Prabaramee 7, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Malibu Island Club Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 356 Patong B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Although nice but not so good staff so 3 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Location - 10 minutes walk from Kalim beach not Aao Nang but one can walk to Aao Nang on sea facing road .... Rooms - Clean with good facilities, hotel staff will try push in corner room on booking.com booking but protest and get it changed ... ,
Staff - pathetic, can barely speak English, absolutely non friendly... Pool : good, deep and nice facilities.... Wifi - terrible ... Bathroom : clean....

Must Do near hotel : try street food on Kalim beach corner (Roasted Cat fish and Chocolate Banana wrap), go to beach at late night sit on rocks and admire waves.

DO NOT : book any service from hotel like Cabaret show etc. Walk up to some road side service provider (just beside Family Mart sits a wonderful lady. She will give you best deal)

Room Tip: Pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Manager at Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Greeting from Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa

Thank you for your commend in TripAdvisor we are sorry to hearing you not satisfied during stay with us we will more training staff to improve
we are welcome back to service you next time

Best regards
Bamboo Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    48
    33
    24
    44
See reviews for
27
63
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We are two Canadian girls traveling Thailand, I thought we'd been through it all and seen it all up until this. We booked with booking.com, when we arrived reception tried to tell us they didn't receive the booking and to pay up front. We showed the confirmation number and email and they okayed us and showed us to a room covered in mold and with the shower leaking everywhere, we kindly said we will not sleep in a room like this. We were then shown to a much better room (at first glimpse).. We put our bags down and started to take a better look.. The bathroom was HORRIBLE, it stunk up the whole room with the sewer water, not to mention the 50-60 insects covering the bathroom walls, and the toilet water leaking all over the floor.. The beds were like spring boards, and there was not a single English Channel on the t.v. The WIFI was absolutely horrible and would not connect anywhere, not even on the patio..about 40 minutes into our horrible experience we decided to get our luggage and go to a different hotel and just lose the money we had already spent on the hotel. We went to check out and the reception then refused to let us leave and told us we need to pay once again.. We have already shown proof of purchase so we proceed to get in a tuk tuk to town, the receptionist then told our tuk tuk driver he could not leave because we needed to pay.. After about 3 hours of battle with the receptionist and manager we finally were let free. We ended up paying for two rooms that night and let's just say it was one of the worst experiences of my four years of traveling.. I would reccomend for everyone to stay away from this hotel as it is a scam and absolutely horrible!! We met with a few other guest within the three hour battle with management and they were also looking for elsewhere to stay due to horrible rooms and service. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Manager at Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear sir/Madam

Greeting from Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa

Thank you for you times write hotel review and spend time with hotel

First we do apologize for you happened our staff a little bit confused about the booking we will train

them will not happen next customer

Best regards
Bamboo Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

-10 minute walk to the beach complete lie!!
-awful service , barely spoke English . Worst in my whole trip to thailand
-tried to charge us twice for the room ( even though we didn't even end up staying , we booked another room at a different hotel because it was so bad )
-complete scam artists
-wifi was terrible , wouldn't connect in the rooms at all
-no English channels on the tv
-everything smelled like sewer
- at least 60 bugs in our bathroom

I recommend everyone staying clear.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Manager at Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Greeting from Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa

Thank you very much for you commend all the commends from you will bring to improved for our hotel

Best regards

Bamboo Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirupur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

the location is good. good value for the money, amazing pool. we had booked for double room with a pool view and they put us in a corner room with no view and tried telling us that we were upgraded to a three bedroom suite. which looked like a dump with no windows and no view at all. we had to change our rooms three times cause the second room they put us in didn't have locks for the windows. But our third room was great and the hotels location is good as well as quiet. The walk from Patong center to the hotel is amazing along the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Manager at Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Greeting from Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa

Thank you very much for your times hotel commend and spend holiday with us

The commends from you more important for us will bring to improve hotel service

Best regards
Bamboo Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights over thai new year. We got the room on a half price offer which was perfect and reasonable, would have been a bit expensive for what you get if paying full price.
You can hire bikes here for an ok price but we had to go through a couple of bikes to find one that worked. The wifi was good. The free shuttle into town was handy. Good location only short walk to patong centre along beach front. Food and drinks prices were a bit high and western food wasn't great but ok. Pool was clean. Rooms were clean with free water, safe, tv and aircon. Bathroom smelled a bit. Room had good size balcony. Tea and coffee facilities. Room could do with a good paint.
Staff all friendly, but we ordered a taxi for the morning we left and when we came down to leave they said that we hadn't ordered one which meant that we had to wait for another which nearly made us miss our bus.
Overall good place to stay, I would stay again if got a deal and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Manager at Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Greeting from Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa

Thank you very much for you spend a nice hotel with our hotel and commend how you satisfied
All the commend from you more important for our hotel will bring to improve

We are pleasure welcome back stay with us

Best regards
Bamboo Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velika Gorica, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Instead of four I spent three nights at Bamboo Beach. Of course in Patong, there are more better places than this but the experience of walking along the beach to the city (approx. 20 min.) in fact makes the difference between the lodgings and resorts. What makes this accommodation attractive is certainly pool. We wanted quiet accommodation but also close to the city. But it happened that in Bamboo Beach at night can hear the scream of the local ladies of the night disgruntled behavior of their customers, but all in all it is value for money. Just something additional do not pay them the whole amount in advance because I have not been refunded a one night less.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Manager at Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Greeting from Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa

Thank you for you spend holiday our hotel
Hotel location far a way from Patong busy we provided free shuttle bus to Patong beach in case as you mention at night time noisy from Thai woman if we know we can let them any commend from you made our hotel will improved

Best regards
Bamboo Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed in the Bamboo beach hotel in April 2014. The rooms were clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable. The front desk was very helpful. The Room cost me $23Aus a night 700b I think but i had seen it for as little as $17Aus. The hotel is a short 10min walk to Patong beach, or a 200b tuk tuk ride, but it is a little quieter than some of the hotels in Patong. The pool area is superb. The bathrooms need some work. i struggled to get any kind of hot water for a shower and the bathrooms were dilapidated. If you can get this Hotel from Agoda or other sites ( i used hotelscombined.com to get all the booking sites per night cost) then this is still good Value. I didnt add breakfast to my room, but as I was out early one morning i had a boat excursion to Phi Phi. The breakfast was terrible, frankfurters, ham, noodles and garlic bread??????

Room Tip: Dont have the breakfast! See if you can get this for $17 a night, then it is decent value. pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, Manager at Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Sir

Greeting from Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa

Thank you for you stayed with out hotel and you commend The commend from you about the toilet in our plan to do it
Hope we can service you next time

Best regards

Bamboo Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: 2 Soi Prabaramee 7, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Malibu Island Club Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 356 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bamboo Beach Hotel and Spa is a 3 star hotel in Patong which offers excellent value for money. Bamboo Beach Hotel Patong has opened its doors to travelers and tourists on the 15th of October 2010.The 38 newly decorated and renovated contemporary Thai style rooms provide all the modern comforts which you may need to have a pleasant and comfortable stay at the Bamboo Beach Hotel in Patong. The tropical garden of Bamboo Beach offers a stunning view of the Patong hills and guests can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool as well as the sun loungers.The Bamboo Beach Hotel is superbly located only a few footsteps away from Kalim Beach and only five minutes drive from the white sandy beach of Patong and its famous night life. This modern hotel is the ideal hotel in Patong, Phuket for sun seekers and beach lovers. Our multilingual staff (Thai, English, Russian) is always ready to help! A wide range of services and facilities are on offer for our guests at the Bamboo Beach Hotel and guests of all ages will have an unforgettable time here in Bamboo Beach Hotel and Spa, Patong! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Beach Hotel And Spa
Bamboo Beach Hotel Patong
Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.