We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do the food better!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spoon Cafe

Spoon Cafe
Jungceylon Mall, G Floor, No. 3111 | Patong Beach Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
66 (0) 7660 0111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #276 of 421 Restaurants in Patong
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Kamala, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do the food better!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Bruchettas here is a joke! On the toast there is about 20% of the tomatoes on top. Usualky you get tomatoe over the edge of the toast. Worst ever. Ordered spicy spahetti ki mao, got NO spicy at all. Nothing, no taste.
The beef with oystersause was pork with oustersauce, 100%. Check for your self.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    26
    19
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service is ok, Food is so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had lunch at Spoon Cafe during our last day in Patong. The place looks nice and the staff were prompt and courteous but their foods are probably a work in progress. Luckily we didn't order much - just green curry chicken and stir fried meat with basil. I'd say you can have far better meal for half the price at the local food stalls outside the mall. The presentation of the food was nice but there should be more than what meets the eye. The green curry didn't even taste like authentic Thai cooking. The stir fried dish was disappointing because there were more onion and chili strips than meat itself and it did taste blah.

By the way, if you're gonna order water make sure to specifically tell the staff that you want plain bottled drinking water and not the bubbly kind. I wish I knew this beforehand instead of trying to gulp down the latter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A small Fast Cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a small fast food style, clean cafe/restaurant. The service is quick, the food is ok. We have picked this cafe to taste Thai food, prepared in international manner, and we have reached our goal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid! stay away from this restaurant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Oh how I wish I had read the reviews before going into this restaurant. my whole family were sick for 5 days after a dinner at Spoon cafe, My older son and my husband both ordered the Beef, one with mesh, one with chips. my younger son ordered Spaghetti Bolognese, and my was Spaghetti with green curry. My children both felt really sick half of an hour after dinner, started vomitting right after we got back to our resort. they vomitted throughout the night, my husband and I felt sick too, not as bad as the children. Our holiday was very much spoilt all thanks to Spoon Cafe!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“So-so.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were in the mall and didn't want McD's or any other sort of fast food. Figured Thai would be best since we were in Thailand.

Ordered some Thai dishes (they have pasta, pizzas, skewers - a wide range really). Food was so-so and portions tiny. The best part of the meal was the air-conditioning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Spoon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spoon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.