We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Phil Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Baan Phil Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Phil Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   35/22-23 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 320 Patong B&B and Inns
Islamabad, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The guest house if located in the heart of Patong's hussle and bussle area on the same road as Jungceylon shopping complex. The staff is really helpful and treats every one like a family. Mr Phil has a good sense of humour and is very helpful. I will surely stay here again when I come next time. Thanks to the staff and Mr Phil.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is much quieter. Buy an umbrella.... Short heavy showers sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilBPhuket, Owner at Baan Phil Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Zeeshan19,

Thank you so much for your very nice review and for choosing the Baan Phil for your stay in Patong, especially since you wrote this review while you were still staying at our guesthouse !!! This is actually the 1st time this ever happened to us. After that we had no choice but be very nice with both of you !!! :)

We are very proud and happy you felt treated like family by our staff, as it is one of our main goals, along with customer service. We have of course notified the staff about your very nice comment to show them the way they work is appreciated and this helps them keeping on with the good work.

Once again thank you so much for your nice review and for staying with us. We hope you will come back to Phuket and stay with us again. No need to buy an umbrella next time, because we DO have some for our guests at front desk. Even though they don't always come back .... I speak of the umbrellas, not the guests :)

Best regards to both of you

Philippe and Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

me and my husband travelled for a short trip to phuket and i wasnt quite sure of this place, where we were checking in. However, my husband was pretty sure and had made the bookings after going through every detail about Baan Phil on TA. Have to say, whatever good has been said about the guesthouse is true. Cab was waiting for us as sono as we reached phuekt airport.. Great location..patong beach and all major attractinos are walkable.. beautifully decorated..very very cordial staff and owner Phil is a sweetheart to talk to.. he takes personal interest in everything you do, you plans, advsied us on a lot of things.. Food is big plus here, as we did not have to go out for our meals.. all in all, a very good place to stay in patong.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilBPhuket, Owner at Baan Phil Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Juhi_KS

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review and thank you so much (to your husband :) ) for choosing our guesthouse for your stay in Patong.

We are happy you were not disappointed with your husband's choice and had a great stay with us.

As we are trying hard to make our guests feel at home, we of course take a personnal interest in their daily activities while in Patong, without of course being intrusive. And we also love to share with our guests what is nice to see, visit or go to in our wonderful island. Some guests are staying only 1 or 2 days therefore we feel it's better they don't waste their time going to worthless places.

The staff say thank you for the nice comment you wrote about them. They are always happy when we share with them our guests reviews on Tripadvisor. :)

Once again, thank you so much for your review and for staying with us. Hopefully you will come back to Phuket and we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards

Philippe and Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at this property the first week of January 2012 and the only rooms still available at the time we made reservations online were the Executive rooms on the top floor. This was great because we were shielded from the noise of the bustling town downstairs, but going up five sets of stairs was also a challenge as there was no elevator.

Our room was very spacious. It was one big room with a large bed on one side, and a sink and dining area on the other. There was a small bathroom with a hot shower but no tub. There was also a fridge and TV in the room, but no carpeting. The fridge was convenient for us, except that the electricity in the room only turns on when you insert your room key inside its slot next to the door. This means that anytime you go out, the fridge also turns off, so you can't really leave anything in the fridge that you want to keep cold. There is closet space to hang your clothes, but no shelf space in the room to unpack your clothes that do not need to be hanged.

The staff was outstanding and accommodating in every way. We brought our 1.5 yr-old child with us, along with his stroller. We were able to leave the stroller downstairs in the lobby area, which was convenient for us so we didn't have to carry it up and down the stairs everyday. There are a few steps to get from the street to the dining area, and then again from the dining area to the lobby. These steps are tricky with a stroller, but each time a staff saw us coming or going with the baby in the stroller, would always help us with this. We also requested a baby cot in the room. As requested, it was set up before our arrival. It was a basic play yard, which is what we were expecting, but the staff made it very comfortable with extra sheets and cushions. During our stay they kept asking if this was okay for the baby, which was very nice of them.

The complimentary breakfast is very simple: 2 slices of toasted white bread, a selection of jam for the toast, fresh juice, and choice of coffee or tea. You can pay 50 baht extra and get 2 eggs and 2 slices of bacon. However, if you just request "eggs" you will still get charged 50 baht even if you don't get the bacon, so keep that in mind. There is a deli a few doors down where we purchased smoked salmon, which we ate along with the eggs, bacon, and toast for a scrumptious breakfast!

We primarily picked this place to stay for the location, and for the great reviews on Tripadvisor. It was within a short walking distance to the beach, restaurants, and shopping. You can walk to a lot of places where you can bargain for souvenirs. You can easily walk (about 10 minutes) to Jungceylon mall. It is also a short (1 minute) walk from our favorite Thai massage place: Oriental de Phuket.

Prior to this, we had come to Phuket and stayed on Karon Beach. It was during off-season so we paid the same price for lodging but stayed in a very nice 1-bedroom apartment with an amazing breakfast. However, we paid a lot of money for transportation back and forth to Patong Beach. So this time we decided to stay in Patong Beach. We saved on transportation cost and time, but although this place is great, our lodging on Karon was nicer. You have to decide what is important to you when you decide where to stay in Phuket.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilBPhuket, Owner at Baan Phil Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear livingbygrace,

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review and for staying with us while in Patong.

Yes, as more and more hotels around the world, the electricity turns off when you leave your room. This is both for economical AND ecological reasons. However, the fridge is still working whether the key tag is in its slot or not. After reading your review we went up and check your fridge and found it was working perfectly good.

Thai people really LOVE kids, and our staff are crazy about them. :) And also, your child is a real sweet heart so no wonder everybody took good care of him. But above all, we are trying hard to have a good customer service, so helping you was something normal for everybody and absolutely no hassle.

Thank you for pointing out our rates for eggs and eggs and bacon. We actually hadn't thought about it being weird. And you are right, it's weird. We are now in the process of correcting that. :)

If you come back to Phuket and stay in Karon, we do hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again either at our bar or restaurant. :)

Once again thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review.

Best regards to the 3 of you :)

Philippe, Philippe and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I would highly recommend Baan Phil accommodation for a cheap stay in Patong Beach, Thailand.

Location - not on the beach, about 5 minutes walk though also close to other attractions and if its not close you can always bargain with a tuk tuk driver (10 min drive approx. $4AUD)

Hotel - only a small hotel, with few staff, which you get to know if staying for a few days. They are all very friendly and happy to help. We had a leak in our bathroom, and they were up immediately to fix it. Breakfast is included daily (coffee/tea + juice + toast & jams) for an extra 50 baht ($1.50AUD) you can order bacon & eggs among other selections. Theres no elevator but this did not bother us.

Room - The room was clean, bed was comfy, a/c + hot water worked, quiet at night, can't really ask for much more with the price so cheap.

PHUKET TIP: Do not book day tours before you go OR at the hotel, you can get them far cheaper at the tour booths there which are safe to purchase from (i.e. phi phi island day trip $40AUD approx)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilBPhuket, Owner at Baan Phil Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear srhswincer,

Thank you so much for writing such a very nice review and thank you for staying with us while in Patong.

We are very happy you had a pleasant stay with us and that you liked our staff and guesthouse.

I am happy that you mention the tours to Phi Phi or other destinations. We are in the process of getting our licence to sell those tours ourselves directly via the tour operators. We have been waiting for that license for more than 9 months, and are still expecting it ...... For the moment we are working with travel agents and they make the price. Sometimes we can get very good deals and sometimes not. It all depend on the travel agent good will ..... As soon as we get our licence we will be able to offer much better rates to our guests.

Once again thank you so much for your review and for staying with us. The staff say hello and thank you too.

We hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards

Philippe and Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Traveling with a group of 20 people. Upon arrival, reservations were mixed up, but staff were very helpful and accommodating to ensure we were taken care of. A few other hiccups, but, again, staff was willing to help. Accommodations are basic and clean. Good working Air Con in each room. Breakfast (included) was three pieces of toast, one pad of butter, one pad of jam, one cup of juice, and one coffee or tea. Nothing outstanding, but enough to get by on. Good location to beach and tourist shopping. Upon our departure, a bag was left at the guesthouse. We called from the airport and they put it in a taxi and hurried it on its way. Really went the extra mile for us there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilBPhuket, Owner at Baan Phil Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear BooBooSquash

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a rather positive review and to choose our guesthouse for your group. It was actually the 1st time we were welcoming such a large group as you had booked 50% of our hotel. :)

We are sorry for the confusion upon check in. This happened for 2 different reasons. The first one is that our receptionist working on that morning was 2 months pregnant and had lost her baby on the night prior to your arrival. Therefore I think she was not 100 % operational on that morning. This is not an excuse, this is just an explanation and we hope you will accept our sincerest apologizes for the inconvenient. The 2nd reason comes from the members of your group who had checked in prior to the others. They asked to check in immediately in the rooms which were already made up regardless of their initial choice, double or twin.

I arrived at the hotel at 9:30 am in the middle of the confusion to find a crying receptionist, many luggage everywhere and many people in the bar waiting for their rooms. As a hotel manager I probably should have had to blame the receptionist on duty for the mixed up, but as a human being I chose to send her to hospital and then home for a few days off, and decided to try and sort everything out with the members of your group, especially the last ones to check in and who were rather upset that their choice of room was not respected. Fortunately, as you wrote, everything was eventually sorted out to meet all your group members requirements.

Concerning the forgotten suitcase, we just did our job which is first and foremost customer service and our guests' satisfaction. We are really happy you got it on time as the timing was really against us, and we lost a few precious minutes explaining the taxi driver he was going to the airport with only 1 suitcase and no passengers !!! :) That is why we were kinda relieved when we saw him back, all alone in his car. :)

Once again thank you very much for staying with us, and we hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming all of you once again.

Best regards

Philippe and Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We just returned from a 5 night stay at Baan Phil B & B. From the friendly airport late night drivers to check out I was quite impressed how staff worked like family and their guest are like friends. FYI Puhket airport is located about 30 to 45 min from Phil's. Check in was quick and smooth. Staff hauled our suitcases to the 5th floor and we were greeted by a rooftop veranda ajacent to our room. A small room refridgerator included mini bar and cold drinks plus 2 free bottles of water. The TV w/remote had more English speaking channels than we anticipated and free room Wi-Fi a plus.The room was clean and large with plenty of space to spread out. The bathroom is quite small and tolietry space is limited. The showers were hot, and bathroom very clean. Telephones were out due to storm. The bed comfortable and air condition in tip top shape. Housekeeping met all our requirements. Location is perfect with restaurants, massage salons, mini markets, money exchange services and other bars within steps. You will find a large indoor mall w/in a 10 to 15 minute walk. A simple breakfast begins your day with delicious coffee. We ordered additional breakfast items and paid a nominal charge upon check out. The restaurant food is excellent, fresh fruity natural drinks and a full bar add to their many selections. The restaurant faces an active street and provides great people watching entertainment. Phil booked one of our tours and saved us some money. Baan Phil will save on your travel expenses and you will have extra $$$ for all those tours and sightseeing opportunities. All of the attentive, smiling, caring staff and Phil earned my recommendation to recommend there property and I would stay here again!

Room Tip: The roof top "corner" room on the 5th floor offers a lovely view of Patong and quiet for l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilBPhuket, Owner at Baan Phil Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear rparellatn,

Thank you so much much for writing such a very nice review, and for staying with us with your husband while in Patong. We know it was a special occasion for both of you :)

We really love your review title as we are trying hard to give a "family flair" to the Baan Phil, and we are so happy you both felt as part of the family.

The staff send both of you a big "hello" as they remember you as the "always happy and smiling guests from America".

We do hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming both of you for yet another Honeymoon. :)

Best regards

Philippe and Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed at Baan Phil for 3 nights with my family in Jan 2012. Mr, Phillipe was very friendly and helpful. As we arrived late, He helped us to arrange the airport pick up. The rooms were very clean and very spacious. They provided us 2 bottles of free drinking water every day. All of his staffs can speak good English and they were very helpful. They helped us to carry our luggages to the 3rd floor.
Continental breakfast was included in our room rate, The breakfast was adequate, enough to start your day. You can find a lots of eating places and also shops around there. It only take us about 10 minutes walk to the Patong beach.
Wi-fi was free too. Before we left to the airport, while waiting for the pick up, Phill offered us another bonus,..a free drink at his cafe...
Will stay here again and recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilBPhuket, Owner at Baan Phil Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear Tien_11

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review and above all for staying with us with your very nice family while in Patong.

The staff are very proud of your comments about them, especially the one concerning their English skills. :) They really try their best to have a good communication with our guests, and when English is missing, a smile will always do.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again should you return to Patong.

Thank you once again for staying with us.

Best regards

Philippe and Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baan Phil Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Phil Guesthouse

Address: 35/22-23 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee rd | Patong Beach, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 320 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Phil Guesthouse 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French owned and operated boutique guesthouse located in the heart of Patong, 4 minutes walking distance to the beach. Friendly and efficient Thai staff.Bar restaurant and French creperie. 20 clean rooms with A/C, private bathroom, free wifi,satellite TV, minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Baan Phil Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Phil Guesthouse Hotel Patong
Baan Phil Guesthouse Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Phil Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.