We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaps of fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School

Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School
204/32, Ratuthit Song Roi Pi Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
+66 (0) 76 346 269
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 393 Restaurants in Patong
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Heaps of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I attended Pum's cooking class with not much cooking knowledge. Pum's class was really fun and made thai cooking seem very easy. The food we cooked was awesome and so tasty. We returned for dinner the next night and were once again impressed by how good the food tasted at a great price. Definitely a highlight of my phuket trip!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    140
    31
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Awesome cooking class & food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We LOVED this cooking class. We have done a few cooking classes around Asia and found this was by far the best we have done, plus very fairly priced. The class consisted of a tour of the local food market and then we cooked 3 dishes each - we chose which ones we wanted to cook. It was a small group of 5, so you got a lot of one on one time with the teacher. We were taken through each of the ingredients in full detail.

We purchased a few of Pum's cookbooks, gave some as gifts and kept two for ourselves - we use it as our basis for all our Thai cooking.

A must do when staying in Patong!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Thai cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Did the Thai cooking course at Pum's and it was great. Did the Little shoes course', 3 hours and we ate everything we cooked and it was filling and Fab, would recommend the course and its so cheap 1200BHT about $38.00, cant beat that. The dancing fish with green lipstick was my faourite and I have since cooked it at home and it was a big hit! so easy. I recommend this to everyone.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

For those who want to learn how to cook Thai food....Pum's Restaurant is highly recommended. All ingredients are bought fresh at the market everyday. She has a few courses for you to choose from and this also includes one of her cook books.
This is a definate for the "To Do" list when visiting Patong Beach.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Thai food and really fun cooking class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved eating at Pums, making it there 3 times in one week! Prices are great and food is consistently awesome! We decided to do the 3hr cooking class which was a lot of fun and we all learnt a lot, can't wait to try out our new Thai cooking skills at home! Cook book is excellent too! Highlight was making fresh curry paste and if you're doing the cooking class make the fish cakes they're DELISH. Go here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.