We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and wonderful hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Save Saved
You added Blue Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Ocean Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 273 hotels in Patong
Mooloolaba, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money and wonderful hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed at Blue Ocean for 3 nights after seeing good reviews for this mid priced hotel and were not disappointed. Our one and only hiccup to an otherwise great stay was that on arrival at 10.30pm after a long day travelling, the male receptionist asked us, after we had handed him our paperwork for our Wotif booking, whether we would like to pay now or when we depart. Maybe this person was new but we would have thought he would have known that Wotif takes payment when you book.
That aside everything else was great. The room was large and clean, the bed comfortable, the pool lovely and a huge selection for breakfast. What really makes this place shine however is the staff ,from the wonderful greetings and attention at breakfast, the friendly smiles of the housekeeping staff and the friendly and efficient checkout from Eva. Thank you Blue Ocean we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can recommend you to others thinking of staying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    138
    40
    12
    14
See reviews for
79
163
25
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have stayed here 4 times now and each time seems to get better everything is very clean staff extremely helpful we have bought deals fo 3 of them and the other just booked swim up room.Our last stay 20th Sept to 28th Sept we had our youngest grand daughter with us and the staff could not have done more for her she loved them Breakfast is excellent and other meals are also high standard.We would recommend this resort to anyone who is going to Phuket and we are returning again in March next year

Room Tip: 6th Floor room 619 very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We bought a 7 night bed and breakfast LivingSocial voucher for Blue Ocean Resort and what a find! From arrival to departure, JJ and his staff were the most client focused team we have met. Santosh at the front desk organised our activities perfectly, Chef Mama provided the most wonderful treats from the kitchen and the room staff kept our accommodation looking pristine 24/7. The location is an easy walk to the beach, markets and night life. If you are looking for a superb Thai experience, look no further!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open onto the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Ocean Resort and Spa for 8 nights. This resort was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The resort is about a 15 minute walk to the main beach where all the action is.

My mother and father pre booked a Pool Access room on the 2nd floor and my sister and I booked a Grand Deluxe room which we were given on the 4th floor. When we arrived we wanted to be closer to our parents and without fuss and no extra charge, they gave my sister and I an upgrade to a twin Pool Access room. These rooms are large in size, have comfy beds that are a bit smaller than a double bed, rain showers and you literally step out into the crystal blue pool.

The food at this resort is amazing and there is a generous variety of choices each morning. Mama who runs the kitchen is such a caring and beautiful soul, she will look after you as well as her fantastic team. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. They even made a cake for my mother for her 50th birthday and sang to her in front of everyone at breakfast time. It was such a good surprise. They also made me a special soup when I was sick to help me get better. I recommend the cooking class with Mama too which is a lot of fun and you get to eat the food at the end.

We booked everything through the hotel and they gave some great suggestions and excellent discounts. A special mention to Nina and Cherry who were always there to help us! We truly cannot thank you enough. If you go on the James Bond tour, make sure you book the speed boat - we learnt the hard way!

Overall, this Resort is a home away from home. I highly recommend this place and hope you find the same experience that my family and I did. If we return to Phuket in the future, we will definitely book the Blue Ocean Resort and Spa again!

Room Tip: Book the pool access rooms, they are so worth the small amount of extra money and you don't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

From the time we arrived until the time we left all the staff at this resort made us feel at home!!, we stayed 7 nights ( sept 25th until oct 2nd) and should have stayed longer, the facilitys were excellent and all staff helpful and friendly.rooms were spacious and clean,buffet breakfeast to die for, what a selection,we had a ball with the bar staff at happy hour. Ort,Mot and Baber all making us feel welcome ( got to try the "Love Love" cocktail) we will be back and reccomend this resort to everyone , thanks for making this a memorable stay and not to mention JJ (manager) who was always welcoming and friendly
Thanks again see you soon,
Norm and Mary

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in February 2013.

From the very beginning we had problems. Prior to arriving in Thailand we had booked a stay at Blue Ocean in a room with two beds. Upon arrival we were greeted with a nice, cold drink. We were then informed we had to pay more than initially quoted for our stay because it was high season. We were irritated by this, because we felt like we were being scammed, but we decided not to make a fuss. We then checked in and were led by a very friendly porter to our room. We were the only ones staying on our floor. As we exited the lift we were shocked to see that the floor we were staying on was in the middle of renovations - we had not been informed about this (see attached pictures). To make matters worse our room had one bed for us to share. Not only that, the complimentary slippers were filthy and the shower was filthy. We alerted reception, and after initially pretending they could not understand us, ended up admitting there was not a room with two beds until the following day. Although we were disappointed we decided we wouldn't make a fuss. Unfortunately our night in that room was terrible. This hotel is based right next to some sort of open sewage river. The smell of fecal matter pumped through the air con into our room. Also, breakfast on the deck is unpleasant because when there is a breeze the restaurant also smells horribly. The restaurant staff were also quite abrupt (unlike many of the Thai people we encountered). The food also catered heavily to the Chinese and Indian customers. I didn't mind this as I love trying different cuisine, but it is difficult eating curry at 6am before a long bus trip!

The following day we ended up in a room with two beds (in the modern renovated area). Unfortunately we still had problems. Somehow, whenever our neighbours rang their door bell it would ring in our room. A real pain when it is ringing at 5am! We also tried to alert reception about this and gave up because they did not understand. I have travelled all over the world, and I understand that there are always language barriers to over come. And I have absolutely no problem with this fact, normally I embrace it! However, it is so frustrating when you pay for a hotel only to be completely disappointed with the service, safety and cleanliness and no one seems to want to listen. This hotel is a health hazard with exposed wires everywhere. I can only hope they have lifted their game. Regardless, please keep in mind the terrible stench that cannot be avoided!

On the upside, the porters were very lovely. Please tip them if you decide to stay here. They work so hard.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the renovated area at the very least! As as far from the stream as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOresort, Manager at Blue Ocean Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just to inform you that since you are one of the customers that have booked through either scoopon, ourdeal or groupon Australia, and since you came in February, there is a high season surcharge. Please check your booking details again. We do not cheat our guests.

In regards to the rennovations, which also WERE happening in February, mainly for the opening of our fitness center and the small other things, we would like you to please understand that we, as a hotel, need to do such renovations at times to keep ourselves up to standards for our customers. We do however apologize for any inconveniences caused and hope that you give us another chance to provide you with the products and services you deserve.

It is our managers' and staffs' best interests at hearts to keep our customers happy. We understand that we cannot make everyone happy, but we do try our best. Again, please accept our apology.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Excelent service , good food , good drinks , very clean , can easily travel to the main street of patong , must stay in pool acess rooms its awesome...
And must try the Massage spa they have..
You won't regret staying in Blue ocean..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Address: 273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Patong
#9 Family Hotel in Patong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is located just 200 meters from the beach in Patong; all rooms have multimedia console. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Patong
Blue Ocean Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.