We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly staff, ideally situated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Blue Ocean Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly staff, ideally situated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The staff at the blue ocean are extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day. Ideally situated - short walk to the beach and about 10 min from the main shops. Will definitely be going back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    166
    54
    15
    21
See reviews for
93
204
29
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

room wise - great. showers somedays heater is shy. pool is great. we had the access to pool room so hohoho.... =D services average. breakfast is good. otherwise we feel safe. just beside is 7-11 so convenient. say 7minutes to bangla road.
its just a DUO GIRLFRENS trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as a family group of 3 couples. Check in was smooth and the reception staff spoke English quite well. Two of our deluxe rooms backed onto a smelly canal with a camp of residents living in tin shantys. The third room, also deluxe, was very dark as the sliding doors looked out onto a wall with a painted mural which allowed very little light in and smelt musty. The pool was quite small for the number of guests accommodated but was still appealing. The breakfast was very good with a lot of variety on offer so I cannot understand the comment about being Thai food only. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant therefore I cannot comment on the food. Our rooms were large and clean and the bathroom was huge. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the beach and the start of the roadside stalls and eating places. A tuk tuk ride to Bangla Road cost 200 baht for the six of us. We were only in Patong for shopping and to see a few attractions including The Fantasea Show (recommended) so we were rarely in the hotel but I would stay here again because it was good value for money with friendly staff in a relatively quite area of Patong.

Room Tip: Room 408 and below are in a corner and have a large wall in front of the balcony. Room 403 had a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

My dad won a poker tournament recently and the prize included 7 nights stay here. Me and my boyfriend had already booked a holiday to Thailand so dad have us the 7 nights free accommodation to use. We were greeted by a lovely lady who was very helpful and spoke great English. She said that they were very busy and the hotel was only 2 years old, our first impressions of the hotel were good.
We were shown to our rooms which were a good size, fairly spacious with a king size bed and nice balcony area too. They were tidy rooms but I wouldn't say clean, the bathrooms were pretty bad with scum around the plug hole and I don't think the drain in the shower had been cleaned since it was built! Altho the rooms were in a lot better condition compared to the public areas, the corridors were covered with mould because the rain would drip from the roofs inside when it would rain. The staircase was also prone to flooding if there was heavy rain. What concerned me the most was that the carpark under the pool would have constant drips coming from the roof line and some of the plaster had pealed off, it didn't look healthy or safe at all. The hotel looked very poorly built and not maintained at all.
The location was ok. It was a close enough walk for us to the beach and main strip, it took about 20 min stroll to get in the main part of town which we didn't mind too much. The bad part about the location was it is right next to a river, other reviews said it smelt and all that which I didn't find, but its definitely not pretty. I would suggest if your staying here ask for a room on the beach side and not river!
The food wasn't great, we love our Thai food but after eating at the restaurant once said we wouldn't go back. We ordered 2 tom yum soups and a pad thai and they managed to get 2 of the 3 wrong.. the staff didnt speak english well at all and wernt helpful in correcting the order. Breakfast was standard, nothing amazing but eatable.
All in all I think that because we got the trip for free we put up with it but if I had have paid I wouldn't be happy. I have been to phuket 6 times now and comparing it to other places I have stayed in, this would be the worst. I believe it's a 2.5 star hotel and would recommend to stay somewhere else unless you don't mind a hotel that isn't amazing. Looking at what they charge per night you can get a lot nicer hotels for the same price and I wouldn't go back again... Even if it was free!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Blue ocean resort is a nice hotel the location is not very far away from Patong. Beach about 10 minutes walking but it is safe at night ,the room is very comfortable , big, modern ,clean ,the bathroom is spacious ,clean
The breakfast is not international only Thai with no varieties at all so we decided that there is no need to wake up every day to join the breakfast ,there is 7 eleven mart next to the hotel so u can anything from there easily
Overall the hotel is ok but next time we can stay at any other hotel on Patong beach with the same price

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I booked this hotel based on other reviewer's opinions. Overall, I was very happy with the hotel. The room was very spacious, clean, and quiet. The bathroom was large as well and the shower was fabulous with the two showerheads. Had breakfast one time in the restaurant. Not impressed. We had wanted to go to the Phi-Phi Islands and when we finally made our decision, the tours we wanted were all booked up. The gentleman working their tour desk called around until he found us something. He went out of his way to help us. The only drawback is the lack of speaking English by front desk staff. But then again, I'm in Thailand and shouldn't expect everyone to speak English. When I went to check out and didn't have both key cards, they wanted to charge me for them. After I protested, they did not. I liked the location as it was not in the heart of the action of Patong Beach, but just a short walk from the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossington, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been to Patong Beach befor and stayed at the Diamond Cliff Resort and (with Absloute) at the Bangla Suite. This hotel is just great for us as a mature couple. Friendly, clean and comfortable. The shower room is large and a delight to use. Our balcony on the 6th floor overlooked the pool and was a pleasure iN the evening looking over the hills and trees.

Room Tip: Lovely coffe and cake just round the corner in the gay friendly Oneseven
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Address: 273 Rat-U-Thit Song Roi Pee Rd., Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Patong
#25 Luxury Hotel in Patong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is located just 200 meters from the beach in Patong; all rooms have multimedia console. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Patong
Blue Ocean Resort Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.