We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of Time & Money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of APK Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added APK Resort & Spa to your Saves list
APK Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 Pang-Muang, Soi Kor Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 285 Hotels in Patong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waste of Time & Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only good thing about this hotel are the maids which keeps the room clean, rest its all a bad bargain. We stayed for 4 days and found it to be a very average hotel, absolutely no value for money. The biggest downsides are
1. Discourteous staff
2. No wifi
3. Too much chlorine in pool

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    71
    61
    38
    52
See reviews for
32
74
28
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival room wasnt ready till 2pm as per the agreement. 3000 thb was asked for pool towels and was refunded upon check out.
great location 5 mins from the shopping mall and bangla street. 10 mins from the beach (depending on how long it takes to cross the road!)
staff speak little English, if you call reception or room service they tend to hang up without saying bye, this seems normal throughout Thailand.
Food is prepared quickly and theyre always willing to help if you want something that's not on the menu.
The pool on the roof tends to be peaceful, the swimming pool is one depth, its just a shame the frosting around the pool isn't cleaned.
The bar that is on the 8th floor isn't always manned which is a shame.
The room I had was not in the main building I believe block 5, room was spacious, cleaned/made up daily and had 2 bottles of water provided everyday. Air con was cool and had a large fridge to store items in. Safety deposit box was free, I also asked for 2 adapters and they were provided.
There was also a pool in this block on the ground floor however I didn't see this in use during my time here.
The only disappointing aspect was that wifi wasn't available around the roof top pool or in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited here on 22nd March 2015. The resort have policy to provide Rooms at 2:00 pm so I had to literaly wait in the lobby for 8 hours there. Rooms are given in another building situated 2 buildings back on the lane not directly connected to the lobby Rooms service very bad. Rooms have very dim yellow lighting family very in adequate for night and reading. Elevators are good and fast. Rooms are very small and suffocated TV doesnot have any indian channels. Not very safe for valuable stuff to leave in the Rooms when you are out. Complimentary Breakfast given at the front restaurant as buffet is really nice but the place is very hot book restaurant is made in an open verandah road side. Plus it have an open kitchen adjacent to it which adds to heat. The smiling pool is situated at roof TOP in the main building which make it difficult to access more over they have a strange policy of closing the pool after 6 pm. Towel are also very scarse and no changing Rooms for ladke near pool. Pool size. Is decent for about 6 people at a time.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We love this Hotel, its very clean and staff a great, nice rooms. its a 3 minute Walk to Jungcylong Shopping Centre, and 5 minute walk to Bangla Rd, nigh markets and food stalls all near by and my favourite place is the WICKED Bar.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We stayed at this hotel from the 9th Feb 2015for 8 days on our arrival we were greeted by two young ladies which very little or no training in customer relations, we handed our paper work over to be told we were room only, not the Bed and Breakfast which we had booked, and it was our paper work that was wrong, not theirs if we have a problem with that contact Air Asia not them.
Our room was somewhat dated and tired looking, we overlooked the street which at times was very noisy, on one night a couple in a room near us was having a terrible argument which last most of the night keeping us awake.
There was a shortage of Tea and Coffee in the room just one of each per person per day was allocated, you are allocated one rather thin bath towel each no hand towels or face cloth,
The roof top pool was a bit of a joke if you did not get up very early and reserve a lounger there was at most 10 you had no chance of getting one.
The only good thing about this place was the maids which did a good job keeping your room clean every day.
We have travelled the world staying at all types and star rated hotel but I have never seen a list of how much it would cost you if you broke any items of furniture (even ones that were not in the room were include) it says a lot for the type of guest they expect, then to top it all when we were checking out I was told no sorry ordered to sit in a corner until they have checked our room for breakages needless to say we just picked our bags up and left I have never been so insulted, the one thing that I can guarantee is would not go back to this hotel and we would not recommend it to any of our friends or fellow travellers .
There are quite a few budget hotels in the area which looked like they would have been a better option.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel
(+) Cheap, near with tourist spot
(-) First time come a lot mosquito in our room, old furniture, the staff didn't clean our room, At night there are people drunk yelling outside our room at night,noisy loud outside at night,don't have wi fi access at room

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The overall first impression of this hotel is the fact that it is very run down and looks dated, the second impression upon entering this hotel reflects the comments of so many other travelers that the reception staff do not have any idea of customer service.Based upon this view we simply used the room only and did not use any of the other meagre facilities and services on offer.
The rooms are dated and poorly fitted out and you will need to provide your own toiletries and tea and coffee as only one sachet of coffee and no tea bags are provided.
The towels are extremely old and threadbare and the one towel per person rule is not very good for a 3 star hotel.

The half hearted attempt to run a seafood barbeque cooked out on the street with a nice blend of car fumes and dirt from the street is not very attractive either..
One of the more amusing aspects of staying at this hotel is the fact that each room has a comprehensive list of how much each item is valued at so any breakages can be replaced by the guest. Given the age of most room items I doubt this is really a serious issue but does underline the total lack of customer service.

I strongly recommend you do not stay here , there are a couple of really nice budget hotels situated close to this dump that do offer better value for money and good customer service.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to APK Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APK Resort & Spa

Address: 198 Pang-Muang, Soi Kor Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APK Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your APK Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apk Resort And Spa
Apk Hotel Patong
APK Resort & Spa Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage APK Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.